We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea at its best”
Review of Fairview

Fairview
Reserve with OpenTable
Fairview is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Savour the very best in contemporary Canadian cuisine at Fairview, where our talented culinary team’s deft touch allows the food to shine. Stylish decor, spectacular views and attentive service create the perfect ambiance for a memorable dining experience at Fairview. Wine Spectator has awarded our master wine list with their “Award of Excellence”! Featuring an extensive collection of Canadian wines, our sommelier team is on hand to assist you in finding your new favourite wine.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at its best”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had booked afternoon tea some 6 months previously from the UK in order to celebrate our son's 18th birthday. We were about half way around our tour of the Rockies, so it seemed ideal to stop at this famous hotel and sample the delights of 'high' tea. We were not disappointed with the quality or the service. The choice of tea was exceptional (albeit coffee can be taken as an alternative) and we also had a choice of prosecco or champagne as a extra - if you have any doubts, indulge as we did! The sandwiches arrived first, and as our daughter has a peanut allergy she had nut free options - all very twee but yummy. Then the scones and cakes were served -the scones were as light as a feather and the cakes a work of art (again separate cakes for our daughter. We have been to the Dorchester (in London) for afternoon tea on a number of occasions and that is 3 star Michelin behind the scenes. The Fairmont/ Fairview was of a comparable standard, albeit without unlimited sandwiches! It is relatively expensive, but worth the money - so treat yourself!!! The only disappointing aspect was that there was no recognition of our son' s birthday other than it being noted on the booking and the waitress saying happy birthday. Given how special the tea is, it would have been nice to have the restaurant go the extra mile and take a leaf out of the Dorchester book. The latter bring a plate inscribed with the event in chocolate e.g "happy birthday" etc, and a small cake with (lit) candle is on the plate - how special is that by way of finishing off a celebration?!! Given the pastry chef is obviously top quality at the Fairview, perhaps they could consider the aforesaid comments - then the restaurant (with a view to die for) could become super special for afternoon tea!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familytravel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    136
    53
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were staying nearby on our honeymoon and wanted to treat ourselves to a nice dinner. Choosing the Fairview restaurant at the Chateau Lake Louise was the worst mistake ever. Things went wrong from start to finish. We booked a table for 8:30pm but when we arrived at this time we were told there would be about a half hour wait and asked if we would like to have a drink in the bar. So we did and a half hour wait turned into a 45 minute wait. When the table was ready we were asked to settle the drinks bill right away and when we asked if we could just pay later together with the food they said we couldn't as the bar was separate from the restaurant. We were half expecting a complimentary drink for the wait, never mind been told to pay right away! When we went through to the restaurant we saw that an elderly couple that had arrived about the same time as us but hadn't book at table had been seated before us in a lovely window seat and we were taken to a table further back which was really more a table for 6 that they had set up for 2. Why prioritise couples who haven't booked? Next the waiter took our order but kept second guessing what we would want to eat instead of just asking us and waiting for our order. It was rude and unprofessional. He also wanted to know what we would like to order for dessert and when we asked if we could decide after the main course he said we couldn't. I've never come across this in a restaurant before! Probably the pastry chef wanted to go home. Next he brought raw tuna appetisers from a cupboard on which a computer screen was placed in the restaurant. We pushed them aside. A lady who seemed to be the restaurant manager walked passed and mocked our big table for 2 at which point we made it clear that we weren't at all amused by her joke about the big table, nor the lack of lake view or the tuna out of the cupboard. To make up for it she brought another complementary "appetiser" from the kitchen - a rack of lamb which could've been a main course. So by the time we'd eaten this we were already half full before our starter had even arrived. Having known this we might not have ordered a dessert. She also brought a young sommelier over to help us choose a complimentary bottle of wine, but she might as well not have brought him as he knew very little about the wines and kept losing his words every time he tried to describe one. The food was nothing special and the desserts looked like canteen desserst that had been kept in a fridge all day. So then we were wondering why the rush to order desserts if they're pre-prepared anyway? All in all bad food, terrible service and we can safely say the worst (and possibly the most expensive) meal we have ever had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
164 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tastes as good as it looks!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a table by the window to celebrate my husbands birthday. We took advantage of the three course meal package and were delighted by all three courses. Starters of scallops and tuna were divine; entrees beef perfectly cooked and duck that was moist and succulent. Top this off with delicious desserts. Service was excellent and pleasant (special mention to Luis for making us feel welcome). Timing good without being rushed. Well done!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msgoldenhaIr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Drove up for the day from Calgary and had a lovely lunch. Sat outside with the stunning view and smell of conifer.
Menu had excellent options. Service was good. At least I was happy, and all requests granted promptly and correctly.
Food was good. My palate isn't particular, but food hit the spot for what I was desiring.
Value acceptable for location. Restrooms clean.
Will return again- and hopefully stay longer for a nice long hike after my food.

Helpful?
Thank LaLa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food,great service.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A fabulous place to dine. The meals were outstanding and high class.I would definitely recommend a meal here

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairview also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing