We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, expensive food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Moraine Lake Lodge
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, expensive food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We ate lunch at the outdoor cafe. Lots of calzones, sandwiches, chips, that kind of thing. Then you take it outside and sit in an incredibly beautiful setting to eat your lunch. They also had an indoor dining area, but we didn't eat there so can't vouch for that. The food is expensive, but when you consider the location and the view, it all makes sense.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cafe service very disappointing - bring a picnic instead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived at the café at 1pm for lunch. I checked that burgers were available before ordering other hot food. However in the couple of minutes it took to heat up my quiche and pies the burgers and sausages had sold out. So, we had 3 meals on the tray and no option for the other 2. We complained to both the ladies working and neither of them were particularly bothered. What annoyed me was I took my complaint to the manager - an English gentleman - and his attitude was basically tough! Now I realise food runs out but by 1.20pm on a lunchtime! Plus, I made suggestions like why not put a note on the front till saying nearly run out or only 10 burgers left and he wasn't interested. Things go wrong in business all the time, but it is how you deal with the customer that counts. The manager clearly bought his English customer service with him as we have never come across anything like this in Canada before. This is certainly going into my tripadvisor trip report. Over priced, don't care attitude, for such a beautiful setting how terribly disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wringworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
263 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food with an extraordinary view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate here twice. My wife says it has the best bread pudding in the world. The food was well above average and the service ws outstanding. I would go back again and again and again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank robbythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal in Lake Louise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a fantastic dinner at the Moraine Lake Lodge. We were not staying at the lodge and made reservations about a week in advance, but it was not that crowded and likely could have walked in and gotten a table. The food was superb and the service was top notch. It is a bit pricey, but well worth it in my opinion. Ask for a table near the windows if you can.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skates26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"Go away"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Eagerly anticipating celebrating two special birthdays on a trip to Canada we pre-booked inFebruary, dinner here on a recommendation. Moraine Lake was said to be spectacular so we arrived a little early to drink in both the scenery and, we hoped, a cocktail, We were greeted by a waiter who treated us most abruptly. There were many empty tables but were told none were available. We asked to have a drink first as we knew hotel guests were priority. The bar was unmanned and anyway there was nowhere to sit. The waiter abjectly dismissed us actually using the words "Go away and come back later" We could have stood outside in the rain I guess but we took the cue and cancelled our table....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moraine Lake Lodge also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing