We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Log cabin decor with nice menu, great service.”
Review of Baker Creek Bistro

Baker Creek Bistro
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: International, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Baker Creek Bistro is a quaint log cabin turned restaurant nestled amongst the pine trees on the outskirts of beautiful Lake Louise. With two fire places, separate bar lounge area, perfect for fine dining or intimate getaway to casual, there is something for everyone, family friendly. The rustic menu items house made originals, locally sourced and seasonal.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Log cabin decor with nice menu, great service.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked a reservation for a Saturday night in June. As it was 8 pm it was getting cool outside, but they do have a nice little patio as well that looked welcoming.
Log cabin décor, good service and good menu.
We enjoyed the chicken mole (a bit spicy curried rice on the side - not a real mole flavour but tasty and chicken moist), steak ordered rare (anticipated to arrive medium rare as it did), and the bison ribs. All meals were adequately portioned and price was as expected. This is more of an adult menu than an inexpensive place to take the kids for dinner.
The Bistro communication is excellent as I had asked for a menu to be emailed to me before hand to look for our sometimes difficult dietary choices. Ample Wine selection...a nice place for breakfast, lunch or dinner when you are in the Lake Louise /Parkway area. Thank you - we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCanadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    85
    39
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
658 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a surprise! Nothing near it on the Bow River Pkwy. We doubled back to eat lunch here because we were shocked by all the prices in Lake Louise. We ended up spending the night in their lodge and eating three meals here.
Slightly upscale but it a very nice relaxed quiet way - prices were still decent. Great menu for food lovers, unusual game, unusual preparations, very good flavor and light. Great choice for vegetarians as well. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Romantic atmophere and a great dinner menu”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our dinner at the Bistro was fantastic and service professional (thank you Sydney and to the new girl – sorry never got her name). The dinner portions were surprisingly big with many Gluten Free and Vegan options. The only criticisms are related to the breakfasts (we opted for the Bed and Breakfast special which was good value as you get to choose from about 95% of the items on the menu with only a slight up charge for the items that are not included with the B & B special), the portions were NOT as generous as the dinner portions (could have included some toast with some of the menu items, i.e., Temple Mtn Hash and hash browns with the Huevos Rancheros – both were still very good by the way), and the food wasn’t as warm as it could have been – but not enough to give a bad review…

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem in the mountains”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This place was a little tricky to find as we were staying on Lake Louise but once we got there everything was very good. The food (we were mostly vegetarian and they catered to us admirably) was delicious and unique, the service was spot on and our server Sydney was very helpful, especially because we were in a group of 12. Overall a great place to get dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge, even better food”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Honestly, I really couldn't have been more impressed with Baker Creek Bistro. The menu was simple but had appealing vegetarian options (even if only a few) and the food was absolutely incredible tasting and well-portioned.

I also can't say enough for the staff, our server whom was professional, patient, courteous and helpful, and the chief whom made an innovative adaption to his menu for our gluten-intolerant friend.

The lodge is beautifully decorated and I would recommend Baker Creek Bistor to anybody and everybody.

Be aware that the salads and pastas are moderately priced, however, the steak, ribs etc. seemed quite pricey. Also note that there are gluten-free options for pasta.

Again, had a great meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B3NJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baker Creek Bistro also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Baker Creek Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing