We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best - still”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The best - still”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

After staying with the boys on and off for 30 years I can say there is no better hotel stay than the Post - in Alberta or BC. The Chateau may have the grandeur but the post has the personality and food experience other hotels can only envy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobFarr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    97
    41
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is classy. The atmosphere is homey. The welcoming and cheerful staff greet you when you come into the hotel and into the restaurant. We have eaten there for lunch and supper and both meals were delicious. The service is the best I have ever had. It is one of the most expensive restaurants we eat at but it's worth every penny. The only thing I didn't like was when they asked us if we would like tap water or sparkling water. I had tap but my husband decided to have the sparkling water. This showed up on our bill, $7. We weren't told we would be charged extra for it. But other than that, it's the perfect restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Post serves up a good meal again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is the first time I have taken my kids to the Post and I think the 3rd time I have been there. They have amazing service which begins when you walk in the door and ends when you leave. We ordered the Chateaubriand and Tenderloin. The meal was fantastic as was the service. There was nothing left on anyone's plate. We skipped the starters and desert as my kids had some homework to attend to and I was trying to economize. Of course the Post is not a place to economize however I did by just ordering the main meal. The Post is likely one of the better restaurants we have been to and has not disappointed me yet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Experience in Banff Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was fine dining in a beautiful restaurant with exceptionally good service and a skillful and imaginative kitchen. The waiters were professional in that clever way that is both formal and light-hearted at the same time. We had duck spring rolls to start with, then halibut and black cod, exquisitely prepared, and a dessert with an ice-wine to accompany it. The wine list was first class. We enjoyed the whole experience thoroughly. It's expensive but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Dined at the Post Hotel dining room during a recent trip to Banff/Lake Louise. We were celebrating a special occasion. This is our third time to eat to at the Post Hotel over the last 15 years and it is so refreshing that, in a world of slipping standards and excuses, some things stand the test of time and remain truly great. The Chateaubriand was incredible and the desserts were interesting and delicious as always. But what really sets the Post Hotel apart is the amazing service. As an aside, this restaurant is not really geared to children; however, they were very welcoming to our children who were traveling with us on this trip. The kids really enjoyed the experience and the food.

Can't wait for our next trip to this area to experience the Post again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelMXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Post Hotel & Spa also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing