We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot but not in a Good Way”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot but not in a Good Way”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had our "splurge" vacation dinner at the Post Hotel based on the recommendation of friends. It fell short of our expectations. The food was of excellent quality, but there were some execution problems (salty demi glaze and dry rabbit breast) coupled with extremely high prices and somewhat indifferent service. The dessert crepe trio was delicious but the crepes were the size of my little finger. The most irksome problem was the temperature in the dining room. There seemed to be no air conditioning (despite the 80+ degrees outside) and the bright bulbs in the lamp shades over the table just added to the uncomfortable atmosphere. It definitely impacted our enjoyment of our meal and kept us from finishing our heavy entrees or lingering at the table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PippasMom641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    99
    41
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You won't go wrong.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While on a tour of the Canadian Rockies, our bus driver recommended the restaurant at the Post Hotel. We arrived early, without reservations, and were seated promptly. The restaurant is well decorated and our waiter provided quick and friendly service. My husband and I both ordered the salmon and we were most grateful that we did. It literally melted in our mouths. I have to say, it was the best salmon we've ever had. Our server stated that no more than 24 hours passes between the fish being caught and being served. We will definitely return if we find ourselves in the beautiful Lake Louise area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobnkathye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Great Food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

While on a recent trip with friends, we stayed at the Post and ate quite a few meals in the restaurant. Breakfast menu has great variety to choose from, and we were never disappointed with any of our choices. I had the omelettes on two different mornings....beautifully prepared and a great way to start a day of exploring the area. We dined there two different evenings. I would describe the dinner menu as upscale in its selections....always fantastic in taste! The servers go above and beyond to meet your needs, anticipating them before you even recognize that you need them. Pricey, yes, but worth every dime! Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is very, very expensive. It's also the best restaurant I've ever been to. 29,000 bottle wine cellar and during our stay we tried almost everything on the menu. Every single thing was amazing. I eat at lots of amazing restaurants but this may be my single best ever.

Helpful?
Thank Revsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm, genuine service!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent smoked salmon Benedict and cold bar for breakfast.
Pancakes not what son is used to so skip those if you have kids.

Rooms nice, but bathroom and washroom were way too small and we are average size people.

Dinner was EXCELLENT! Our table of 7 adults had many different appetizers and entrees and they were all excellent. Sadly, the Creme brûlée was not the best.

Great wine selection with some nice values and wonderful splurges.



Helpful?
1 Thank george9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Post Hotel & Spa also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing