We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class with 5 stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangarry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First class with 5 stars”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The most welcoming Josephine and her husband fully deserve all of the praise from the reviews on Trip-advisor. We were greeted with her delicious banana loaf and tea so we knew we were going to have a fabulous stay and from our arrival to departure we were made to feel as if we were part of her family and not just guests. Great food, nothing too much bother, beautiful home with hosts who made you feel that they liked having you with them. Delicious breakfasts set you up for the day and as previous reviewers have said all served on beautiful china and crystal. Can't recommend it highly enough and if you are lucky enough to go to Calgary you should try to stay here. It is only a 5 min walk to a large mall with great shopping and another 10 mins takes you to a quick C Line train into the centre of Calgary, much cheaper than parking in the City

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryo297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
48
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
marsfield, wi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Josephine Sital, owner and hostess of Shangarry B&B, is the special ingredient here. From the welcoming evening beer to the last evening port with mixed nuts and chocolates, she makes your visit special. Additionally her breakfasts are incredible and she is knowledgeable about everything in the area.
The accommodations are comfortable, but not sound proof. We met several interesting guests (part of the fun of a B&B) which was also artfully facilitated by Jo. We shared emails and hopefully will be able to visit each other again!
Dr. Sital's gardens are beautiful. The art on the walls is diverse and reminiscent of an art gallery.
It is no wonder there are many return guests.

Room Tip: We traveled with 4 people and shared a bathroom with 2 bedrooms in a secluded area. There are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillpickle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

W stayed at Shangarry from 8/22-8/24 and in that short time became friends with the amazing Josephine! Her home is beautiful and she opens up her home and heart to all that stay with her. She simply cannot do enough to make you feel comfortable! She serves breakfast on the most beautiful China and the food and ambiance is wonderful. We stayed at several B&B's as we travelled the Canadian Rockies (all top rated by Trip Advisor), but none could compare to the experience we had at Shangarry. Lanie C.

Room Tip: The downstairs ensuite room is best if you can negotiate the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Quite simply, this is the nicest B&B that I've ever stayed at. Guests are treated to gourmet breakfasts that would put a five star hotel to shame, served on Belleek china, under the light of a Waterford glass chandelier. Little touches like whipping the juice before serving it in a Waterford goblet, high quality linens, and heirloom furniture make one feel quite special. There is onsite parking in this treelined residential area, which us in close proximity to good shopping and restaurants. The patio, with its lovely garden overlooking a golf course, is a delight. Your host, Josephine, loves to socialize, but not in an intrusive way. She and her husband Raghu are very welcoming. Clearly, this is a lifestyle enterprise for Josephine. For $95 per night, this was an amazing bargain. I highly recommend Shangarry and will certainly return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stay there for a night in September 2012. The experience was great and I think we owe them a review.

We arrived late evening. Although Josephine and her husband were supposed to attend their grand daughter's birthday party ( I think it was their granddaughter), they settled us down and spent some time to chat with us. Afterwards, they just took off with us alone in their house. Since the house was so nice, we spent the evening there and just chilled out.

The hosts are lovely couple and the house was beautiful and very luxurious with big living room and dining room.

The breakfast Josephine made was excellent. Since my wife did not like cheese, Josephine made two different sets of breakfast and made sure we left with a full stomach.

I suggest if you visit Calgary, Shangarry B&B is an excellent choice if you want a nice place and good breakfast. Although the location is a bit far from downtown( if you need to travel to downtown).

We love to chat with the couple, they have good story to tell.

Room Tip: Pick the big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here during the Stampede. Fantastic B&B experience. Conveniently located close to food and the train. Josephine's cooking was fabulous. She spares nothing when it comes to gourmet food and luxurious furnishings and accommodations. So friendly and gracious. Josephine goes out of her way to make your stay memorable, comfortable, and worth while.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My son and I visited Calgary for the Stampede and preferred the idea of an out of town centre B&B to a downtown hotel. We could see that Shangarry was well rated but little did we know that we would be staying in the most beautiful home run by the most gracious hosts accompanied by Josephine's delicious cooking and 5 star ideas on how a comfortable night's sleep is provided - beautiful bedroom in every respect. Regrettably we only stayed 3 nights but it was more like staying with friends in their gorgeous home than staying in a bed and breakfast. Thank you Josephine and Raghu for this most delightful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
941 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#43 of 109 in Calgary
540 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Grey Eagle Resort
#14 of 109 in Calgary
831 reviews
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangarry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangarry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Shangarry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 432 Wilderness Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 1Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangarry is a luxurious bed & breakfast set in Calgary's leafy Willow Park neighbourhood, Shangarry is your home away from home. Shangarry is close to Spruce Meadows and many of Calgary's attractions and just a quick walk to Southcentre mall, many restaurants and the Trico Centre for Family Wellness. The pleasant landscaped gardens of this B&B feature an outdoor patio and overlook a private golf course. Your Irish hostess Josephine takes pride in making Shangarry Bed & Breakfast your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Calgary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing