We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of the West...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangarry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of the West...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Shangarry is a true gem. The home's cathedral ceilings with view of the golf course make it
so peaceful. The luxurious atmosphere is relaxing and the owners offer true hospitality. The breakfasts are delicious and the owners make you feel right at home. It's a wonderful experience.

Katia Papasoff
Photographer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
47
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Josephine and Raghu's hospitality is beyond 5 star. Their home is beautiful overlooking the golf course on a quiet street yet still within walking distance to a large shopping centre and train station.
I stayed for 10 nights in the Ha'Penny room with ensuite. Very clean,comfortable,and private with a guest lounge down the hall."Home away from Home"
Josephines breakfasts ....So Good.
When you book to stay at The Shangarry Bed and Breakfast I guarantee you will love it as I did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed at Shangarry twice now and both visits have been superb. Josephine and Raghu have made us feel very welcome and the greeting we get after our international flight is always wonderful. Most recently we were lucky enough to have stayed when Santa was staying! Breakfast has always been a delight and very filling too, exactly what we require to start a long day exploring. They are perfectly located in a quiet area, but the large Southcentre Mall and Anderson LRT station, giving quick access to downtown, are a short walk away. Our helpful and knowledgable hosts were always quick to suggest lovely places to visit and provide the best way to get there. We cannot recommend Josephine, Raghu and the Shangarry Bed and Breakfast highly enough. When in Calgary we will always book our stay here.
Thankyou for your kind hospitality, Alex and Peter Large

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpe125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We are a company that has a business doing Santa photos in shopping centres for 6 weeks each Christmas. This year, our Santa came down from Edmonton and we needed a place for him to stay close to Southcentre Mall. I found Shangarry on the internet and booked Santa in for a 39 night stay. I could not believe what a wonderful welcome Josephine and her husband gave him and how they looked after him for his stay. His hours were long in the chair and he so appreciated being able to walk back to the Shangarry and relax before doing it all again the next day. Josephine made sure he had a great, healthy breakfast so that he would be ready to visit with hundreds of children that day. This was a rare find and when I arrived today to drop off the cheque, I was treated to a lovely cup of tea, almond cake and a visit with Josephine and her grandchildren.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeamerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 2 nights recently at Shangarry and found it perfect. Both Josephine and her husband were most welcoming and helpful from our delicious greeting to last goodbye. Breakfast was a gourmet delight with a most beautiful different setting each day. Not one comfort or convenience was overlooked and Josephine is a great travel adviser for the area. We also enjoyed getting aquainted with the other guest and sharing a glass of wine with them to celebrate their arrival from England. Another plus was it location close to the Calgary light rail train which meant no searching for parking downtown.Our next trip to Calgary we will be returning to Shangarry B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Having stayed in many Bed and Breakfast establishments over the years, I can say with confidence that The Shangarry is absolutely the best. The secret to its success is Josephine's charm and total commitment to making her guests comfortable and happy. Not only did she provide spectacular breakfasts in a beautiful setting, but also responded to my every need, even including driving me to various appointments. I could hardly believe it. Her husband went to the trouble of carefully wrapping a gift I would otherwise have had difficulty packing safely. Their many efforts were completely natural, as though we had been friends for years. It was a unique and unforgettable experience for me. I look forward to my next stay there!

Nelita True

Room Tip: I didn't see them all, but I'm sure that I would be happy with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Brilliant. Welcomed with tea/coffee and home made cake. Lovely home - exactly as described in the website. Tastefully decorated and clean & tidy throughout. We were made to feel like friends rather than paying guests. Well cooked, filling breakfasts were a treat to look forward to.
Good location: Walking distance to local shopping. Views over golf course from the living room.
Josephine and Ragu had first class, helpful knowledge of places to visit in the area.
Anyone thinking of setting up a B&B should stay at Shangarry first. They would then understand how to do it properly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#40 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangarry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangarry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Shangarry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 432 Wilderness Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 1Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangarry is a luxurious bed & breakfast set in Calgary's leafy Willow Park neighbourhood, Shangarry is your home away from home. Shangarry is close to Spruce Meadows and many of Calgary's attractions and just a quick walk to Southcentre mall, many restaurants and the Trico Centre for Family Wellness. The pleasant landscaped gardens of this B&B feature an outdoor patio and overlook a private golf course. Your Irish hostess Josephine takes pride in making Shangarry Bed & Breakfast your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Calgary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing