We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 58 Calgary B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 December 2012

An unusual B&B wth an unusual host - and that is meant as a compliment. Hughes House is comfortable, charming and spotless. Kelly is an interesting host, not to mention a musician and raconteur. We stayed there in Nov. of 2012 and plan to return when next in Calgary. And, as others have noted, the fruit salad is first class. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this is the kind we like - friendly and with character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Don't overlook this B&B, the owner cares about your experience and responds with zeel to life itself. The house is comfortable and welcoming, the local restaurants are amazing and within walking distance to the place. Try Indian food on 16th ave, middle eastern around the corner and the best fish restaurant in calgary just the other side of the road. Kelly the owner of Hugh's house is always happy to crack open a bottle of wine and his guests can be found chatting around the table.
Our room was more than comfortable, and our bathroom was amazing after a long day in the city, we had the room with the claw foot tub and it was spotlessly clean, unlike hotels with jetted tubs. The kitchen off the main area was great with washer and dryer which we ended up using.
All the other guests had stayed here numerous times and we now no why.

Stephanie C

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I stayed here in September 2012 in the small but well furnished front room, with its own bath and a little balcony. It was perfect for me. The bedding and bathroom were spotless. The neighborhood is close to downtown yet quiet and residential, with several good cafes nearby. It's great value too.

Room Tip: Ask for the front balcony room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Well, as usual I was not disappointed with my stay at Kelly's B&B. I believe this was my 7th stay at Hughes House...one being for about a month...the others were for 2-4 days each. My husband has now been there 3 times and would never stay anywhere else, unless Kelly was completely booked up. His house is a place where we feel so totally at home. This past visit, was actually our honeymoon visit! Thank you Kelly...xxx Your gift was amazing!
The food is great! The company is awesome! The rooms are so beautiful and so clean and fresh! Kelly is an amazing piano player and I just love waking up to the tune..."Morning Has Broken".
There's always lots of good wine to share with lots of wonderful friends and visitors at Hughes House. Make sure you book your home away from home for your visit to Calgary real soon...he fills up fast especially with the holidays approaching!
Love you Kelly and Blanco (his Westie dog!) See you again in the New Year!!!! Gail and Dave

Room Tip: I love the room with the little balcony out the front!...great for your summer visit where you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparky-Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We absolutely loved the place and the host! Kelly has a lovely, clean and convenient home in a perfect neighbourhood; we could walk to downtown Calgary! The place is very clean, has spacious rooms with good beds and your own bathroom. We travelled already for a few weeks and we were surprised about the great value for money.

I would definitely recommend Hughes' House B&B to anyone! You’ll feel extremely welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I have been meaning to do a review on Hughes House since my stay last year so better late than never I say! While relocating in Calgary I had occasion to stay at Hughes House for 2 lengthy periods of time and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay each time. Hughes House has a lot to offer, close proximity to downtown, Wi-Fi, cable TV and thermostat control in every room, access to kitchen and laundry on 2nd floor, and all for reasonable rates. While some rooms were a bit short on closet space (I think this is being remedied though) each room offered beauty and comfort in an elegant Victorian Style. Then there was our host, Kelly Smith, he went out of his way to make his guests feel welcomed, relaxed and he was full of suggestions on things to do. I enjoyed House Concerts, BBQ’s and Kelly was always up for a chat and a glass of vino. Without hesitation I strongly recommend Hughes House to any traveller coming to Calgary, you'll be happy you did!

Room Tip: Queen rooms at the front of the house are a little quieter but noise is not really an issue with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A while ago I moved to Calgary and because I didn't have an apartment at that time I decided to book at the Hughes House for the first little while. What I expected was to get a place to stay but what I received was much more. Kelly went out of his way to help me with whatever he could to get me started in Calgary. He gave me tips for finding jobs and apartments to check, every now and then he drove me to a job interview and he introduced me to all of his friends, many of whom are friends of mine now. I truly could not have had a better start in Calgary.
I thought it was very special what he did for me, but after being around the Hughes House for a little while I found out that it wasn't... Kelly goes out of his way for every guest that he has to make sure that their stay is as good as can be.
Now, after having found my own place, I still come to the Hughes House frequently. To see Kelly, enjoy some of the parties that he has or to meet the nice new guests that are staying at the B&B.
Having worked in hospitality for many years myself (and still do), I can definitely say; this is Calgary's hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Kelly's rooms are in the same character as the 100 year old house. The Victorian style is incorp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,442 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 315 11 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 0Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing