We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown(Calgary)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotel Elan
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
65
10
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
10
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshughes houseb blovely homeclaw foot tubguest kitchenvancouver islandkellyguestsmicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

An unusual B&B wth an unusual host - and that is meant as a compliment. Hughes House is comfortable, charming and spotless. Kelly is an interesting host, not to mention a musician and raconteur. We stayed there in Nov. of 2012 and plan to return when next in Calgary. And, as others have noted, the fruit salad is first class. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this is the kind we like - friendly and with character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Don't overlook this B&B, the owner cares about your experience and responds with zeel to life itself. The house is comfortable and welcoming, the local restaurants are amazing and within walking distance to the place. Try Indian food on 16th ave, middle eastern around the corner and the best fish restaurant in calgary just the other side of the road. Kelly the owner of Hugh's house is always happy to crack open a bottle of wine and his guests can be found chatting around the table.
Our room was more than comfortable, and our bathroom was amazing after a long day in the city, we had the room with the claw foot tub and it was spotlessly clean, unlike hotels with jetted tubs. The kitchen off the main area was great with washer and dryer which we ended up using.
All the other guests had stayed here numerous times and we now no why.

Stephanie C

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I stayed here in September 2012 in the small but well furnished front room, with its own bath and a little balcony. It was perfect for me. The bedding and bathroom were spotless. The neighborhood is close to downtown yet quiet and residential, with several good cafes nearby. It's great value too.

Room Tip: Ask for the front balcony room if it's available.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Well, as usual I was not disappointed with my stay at Kelly's B&B. I believe this was my 7th stay at Hughes House...one being for about a month...the others were for 2-4 days each. My husband has now been there 3 times and would never stay anywhere else, unless Kelly was completely booked up. His house is a place where we feel so totally at home. This past visit, was actually our honeymoon visit! Thank you Kelly...xxx Your gift was amazing!
The food is great! The company is awesome! The rooms are so beautiful and so clean and fresh! Kelly is an amazing piano player and I just love waking up to the tune..."Morning Has Broken".
There's always lots of good wine to share with lots of wonderful friends and visitors at Hughes House. Make sure you book your home away from home for your visit to Calgary real soon...he fills up fast especially with the holidays approaching!
Love you Kelly and Blanco (his Westie dog!) See you again in the New Year!!!! Gail and Dave

Room Tip: I love the room with the little balcony out the front!...great for your summer visit where you can have your coffee outside!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparky-Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We absolutely loved the place and the host! Kelly has a lovely, clean and convenient home in a perfect neighbourhood; we could walk to downtown Calgary! The place is very clean, has spacious rooms with good beds and your own bathroom. We travelled already for a few weeks and we were surprised about the great value for money.

I would definitely recommend Hughes' House B&B to anyone! You’ll feel extremely welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews