We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love Kelly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We love Kelly!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Kelly is, by far, one of the best reasons to visit this B&B. He's really an amazing host. Once of the best B&B hosts we have ever had. His hospitality was amazing. We loved Blanco, the dog, too. We are pet people, but guests with pet allergies should be aware that there is a dog in the house and consider accordingly.

Breakfast was large each morning. While I am not a huge oatmeal fan, his was pretty good. The waffles on day two were awesome!

The guest deck is a beautiful space. Kelly offered us a glass of wine with some nibbles of cheese under the stars. There is an umbrella he can extend with café lights underneath. It's a very special addition.

It's great to have access to a guest kitchen. There is a full sized fridge for guests to store drinks or to go boxes.

As another reviewer mentioned, this is an older home. Kelly has taken great care to upgrade and renovate, but it's a historical home with a historical feel. The rooms are on the small side and closet space is minimal or non-existent in some rooms. If you have large luggage, you might be in trouble.

We stayed in the Queen Ensuite 1 at a rate of $95 CAD. It had a private deck, but to get to it you used a door through the bathroom, which was a little strange. Heated marble floors were fantastic. As with most B&Bs, bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Kelly does provide liquid body wash and hand soap.

There were two small downfalls in our room. The first is the a/c unit in the window. Cold air (or warm air in the summer) comes in around it so maintaining a comfortable room temperature is tough. The other concern was the bathroom door. It's a beautiful stained glass door, but the glass is clear. We are not that couple that pee in front of each other. Bathroom time is a private affair in our house. Both the room we stayed in and the Queen Ensuite 2 would be poor choices for people with a shy bladder. Queen Ensuite 2 has no bathroom door, just an open doorway as shown on the website. Probably not a big deal for other guests, but we like bathroom privacy.

Overall, the location and price are great. Kelly is an awesome host. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittaniMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
36
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We truly enjoyed our time spent at Hughes House this summer. Kelly is a congenial, kind and knowledgeable host. Becasue of Kelly's bed and breakfast we were able to have a wonderful family reunion for 4 nights. Kelly's place is nicely set up for a small or large group and having a deck for socailizing was even better! Kelly let us do laundry and made us feel right at home. Hughes House is an easy walk to downtown so that we could take advantage of Calgary's scenery. We couldn't have been more fortunate. Thank you Kelly!
Pat and Dan

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
362 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for the stampede, The B and B is about 25 min walk from downtown set in a quite pleasant neighbourhood with on street and off street parking (drive). there are a few places to get food near by a pub and a liqueur store within 5 -10 min walk (go out the house turn right, walk to the main road).

the communal kitchen has every thing you could wish for in a b and b, there is also an outside barby area.

The rooms are ok, and I'm sure Hugh would not be offended when I say they are not the Hilton.
the decor is a little old fashioned but it suits the house and its vibe.

Staying at Hugh’s is like staying with your Canadian uncle. You are made to feel at home. Our friends came over when we were out, they asked hugh if it was ok to park up their car. Hugh obliged AND offered to drive them down town, they took up the offer!

The fist night we were here he was having a barby and invited us to join him and the other guests, unfortunately we had reservations in town :(

All in all we had a wonderful time there, If ever I come back to Calgary I'll be staying at Uncle Hugh's.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_Toulose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have frequented the B & B over the last year and found that this is one of the best in Calgary. Kelly makes sure that your visit to his home is enjoyable and meets your standards. He goes the extra mile as I found out one day when I had a flat tire and Kelly came downtown to help me change the tire. He lives his life around the B & B and so has that extra care extended that shows he wants to make sure that your stay is the best it can be… I recommend his B & B to all…

Room Tip: All the rooms are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyfromCalgary, Owner at Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank-you Shelley for your great review.It means a lot to me knowing that you've stayed at several other places and chose my old house as your preferred place in Calgary.See you next time.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overjoyed is the only way I can express my experience with Kelly and Blondo in his lovely B & B. Above and beyond the gorgeous decorations, the homey atmosphere, the made-to-order breakfast (with locally-sourced food), and the fact that he let me hang out in the living room area after check-out for hours while waiting for my friends, Kelly made the super-awesome extra effort of picking me up at the airport when my flight got me in at 11:30pm!! Everything else was gravy! If you're looking for a stuffy, museum-like, impersonal, cold, institutional place, then A: you're a moron, and B: this ain't for you! But if you want a well-appointed, comfortable, genuine, honest, personable, clean, close-to-downtown ($7 cab ride) stay, do yourself a favor and call Kelly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highcostaliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Kelly and his four legged friend Blanco give you a warm and friendly welcome to their carefully and lovingly restored 1914 house. Very clean and tidy with interesting furniture/pictures and musical instruments. Lovely en-suite rooms with lashings of hot water and underfloor heating. Good healthy breakfasts around a large dining table and a chance to meet fellow guests. If you are really good you will find yourself invited to a BBQ with fellow guests and friends drinking fine wine and getting an opportunity to sample even more of Kelly's culinary skills. Ideally located for downtown Calgary with all the activities on offer. The zoo is well worth checking out. If you are looking to stay in Calgary then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Hughes House is beyond anything I expected! The home itself is clean, bright and comfortable. The welcome is genuine and comes enthusiastically from your hosts, Kelly and Blanco. Don't be surprised if you are invited for dinner, find yourself meeting the neighbours and other guests, sharing a glass of wine, and sitting on the front porch. Kelly serves up a hearty breakfast; the fruit is fresh and sweet. The rooms are relaxing, my bed was just right, the heated marble floors are a treat, the windows open so you can wake to bird song and fresh air. There are many interesting historic items to catch your attention around the house. I really enjoyed Kelly's music, either from his vast music collection, or his own playing on the stunning antique piano. The location was great-nice walks around the neighbourhood, easy for an out-of-towner to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyfromCalgary, Owner at Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review! It was a great visit for us too.Also thanks again for helping the fellow traveler who forgot his luggage that you drove out for him.
Cheers!,Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#4 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hughes' House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 315 11 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 0Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing