We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Fergus & Bix

Fergus & Bix
Ranked #540 of 3,580 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a our favorite local hang out. The food is excellent - they have fantastic chicken wings and if you like Chinese dumplings, this is your spot. They also make a great mixed green salad - and who raves about a salad? The decor is great and we love that they have a nice mix of great wines and great beers (whereas a lot of pubs don't do wine very well). The half price wine night is pretty fabulous as they have a great list. The have a small patio as well. The staff are all super friendly, fast and very attentive. Highly recommend to check this place out - the Marda Loop location is also very good and more centrally located.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnydreamscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    33
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is nice for quick drink or meal. They allow families up to 3PM which is nice. The food is pretty good and service is great! Nice pub with better than average food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlhoooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome menu”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had a great dinner there last night. An awesome menu which includes gluten free options: a pleasant surprise! Our 3 meals were outstanding: steak salad with blue cheese, fish and chips (I wanted to drink the tartar sauce!) and the Bang Kok Noodle Bowl was very flavorful. We were quite hungry and the huge portions of these appetizers were large enough to be our meals. We saw many platters of "full meals" which looked lovely, but would have been way too much food for us. I would definitely go back to try something else from the menu. The service was a bit slow, but the food was served hot and the meal was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karonasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good neighbourhood pub”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Food is definitely better than most pubs out there, atmosphere is fun and laid back, and service is generally good. Prices are also reasonable for what you get. My only complaint, which does stop us from visiting sometimes (we live in the neighbourhood), is that the portions are huge! This is good for sharing or taking home if you're in the mood, but sometimes we'd just like the option to order less food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank relax7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Always surprises...”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We go to F&B about once every couple months. Every time we do go, I end up looking through the menu and think to myself each time, it isn't a very big menu. Yet, everytime I do go, the meal is amazing. Lately, I am addicted to their veggie burger. It is THE BEST veggie burger I've ever had. Other notable meals: my fav caesar salad in the city, the fish and chips are so tastey, and the flatbreads are delicious. Oh, and GREAT potstickers to start!

So - don't be fooled by its smallish menu. It seriously always lives up to each meal you may order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esg772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fergus & Bix also viewed

 

Been to Fergus & Bix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing