We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy”
Review of The Unicorn

The Unicorn
Ranked #806 of 3,573 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: US$20 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Extremely noisy”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Loud music makes people yell at each other then yell louder to be heard over their neighbors.

Not a traditional pub more of a "place" to gather

Food ok for a pub, service erratic, depends where you sit or if your waitress likes girls???

Helpful?
Thank Nakodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    31
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Went out with a girlfriend for dinner on a Friday, after a bottle of wine we wanted to go somewhere fun.
We tried a couple pubs on Steven ave, The Unicorn was by far the best.
Basement pub, great crowd, not too busy, amazing bar staff & dart boards!
I don't play dart, regardless it is a great pub.
Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Juliana k J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a great place. I have gone here multiple times and have never been disappointed. Nice atmosphere. If you want a quieter spot they try to accommodate you. Servers are also great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lunch "rush"”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I came here for a business lunch that somehow managed to stretch out to 1.5 hours. Our server got our drink orders pretty quickly and those came fast. Our food order, however, took more than 30 minutes to hit our tables. The food itself was your usual pub grub and was fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuyFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Friday night out”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Not too rowdy but not my usually scene still. Freaking hilarious server, she kept us laughing and comfortable all night. Excellent drinks I had a vanilla (white) Russian and fool was tasty for sure. My gluten free friend found a very tasty salad at a good price too! Will be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Unicorn also viewed

 

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing