We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Comfortable, clean, very good value for the money spent. Very conveniently located to downtown Calgary and to many attractions. Would definitely stay there again.

One thing though - keep the window closed and the AC on - the hotel is by the train tracks!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of our Hotel. We are glad your stay was enjoyable and the services acceptable, we look very much to your return visit and thank you for your business, Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

This location appears to have been recently renovated. It was very clean, check in/check out was easy and it was a $14 cab ride downtown. I had a nice room with King bed and everything worked great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of our Hotel. We are glad your stay was enjoyable and the services acceptable, we look very much to your return visit and thank you for your business,

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel met my expectations. When traveling with family, regardless of whether it involves kids, or teens, there are certain things we all need!

Location: The location was prime. There was a 7-11 and McDonalds near by, which again is great for families as these were withen walking distances. Across the street were car rental shops, again great. Downtown was a 5 min drive.

Staff: The staff were accomidating and polite. No problems.

Room: The hotel went through reno in the last couple years. Room was very clean, and was well kept. I was surprised that the room was not more modern, however there was nothing wrong with the room at all. It was nothing fabulous, however it met our needs. Bathroom was separate from the mirror and sink which works great for teens and women who like to get ready while another individual showers. Our room did not have a mini-fridge, however I believe you could request one.

Wonderful touch was in the bathroom, there were a list of items such as toothbrush, razor etc that were complimentary. There were also "firm" and "soft" pillows to choose from.

Food: Part of our package included a $20 value breakfast. It was wonderful, so much selection. The service was great, and the food was even better. Definately consider added breakfast to your stay!

Pool: The pool was okay. No hot tub, towels, or change rooms. It was not dirty, but it was not a wonderful pool. Like I said, it was okay.

All in all, the hotel staff were great, and the rooms were good. The food was wonderful, and the whole stay was well worth the lower cost as opposed to a downtown hotel. I would recommend this hotel for families, or anyone who was looking for a good middle-class stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank All4TheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

What a great review, you touched on many areas of the Hotel and it is very much appreciated. Your comments will be shared by all. We did renovate the Hotel 2 years ago and you are right, it may not be the most modern, but we make all efforts in the cleaniliness and service aspects of the guest visit. I do apologize that there were no towels in the Pool, I will certainly follow up, we are sorry. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were able to walk to the Stampede but there is also a train that goes from about a block away. The room was comfortable and the restaurant was pretty good for breakfast. The wifi only worked in the lobby but their was an internet connection in the room. Didn't work too well for the Ipad!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandmano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with our Holiday Inn property. You had mentioned a comment about the Internet, you are correct that our lobby and public areas do provide Wireless while the guest rooms have wired connections. We are very hopeful that by year end our entire Hotel will be equipped with wireless throughout. We look forward to your future return, until then all the best. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Southern Calgary for three nights during the opening weekend of the Stampede. We had picked the hotel mainly because of its relatively affordable rates and its proximity to the light rail (C-train), since we had several tickets for Stampede events; it's just a three-minute walk from the hotel to the C-train station, and the Stampede grounds are just one stop (although 3 miles) away. With a day-pass (CAD 8.25), we had unlimited travel on the expansive and safe C-train and bus network, with frequent service--which was very convenient and allowed us not to move the car in three days. Overall, we were happy with our choice. Our room was functional and clean and the staff nice and helpful; we had called on our arrival day to inform the hotel of us arriving after 9 pm, and they took note and said not to worry, as our room would be waiting for us. Since the rooms lacked safes, we put our passports etc into a safety deposit box at the reception--which seems to have been a good idea, given the security incident reported in another review during the Stampede period. WIFI access was in the lobby, but the hotel also offered free wired access in our room. The bar and restaurant were pleasant to have; the breakfast was pretty good, and enjoying a beer after a day filled with Stampede activities was rewarding. As newcomers to the Stampede, we really enjoyed our time in Calgary. And we saw a glimpse of Will and Kate, the visiting royal couple, as they toured the streets before the start of the Stampede parade...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Calgary and with our Hotel during this years Calgary Stampede. We look forward to your arrival again. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stay in quite a few Holiday Inn's in Canada and this location has a unique design and has friendly staff and is very clean. It has a great location, as you can walk to the C-train from the hotel. My only suggestion is that the staff should have taken the time to dress the part. We stayed during stampede, so it would have been nice to see the staff in western wear! I know that is pretty petty....but it's stampede time in Calgary! I would stay there again....no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM1Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for your review it will be passed along on our recognition board. Your comment about using the transit system as more of a stronger benefit to those guests visiting is great and we will certainly discuss with our team, you are correct it is located directly behind us and takes you to downtown in 5 minutes, Calgary Zoo etc. Your comment about our staff in Western wear is appreciated, we allow our front desk employees and restuarant employees dress in Western wear because they are clearly front of house, we do request that our maintenance and housekeeping team dress in uniform as there is the issue of security when the need to enter your room to clean or maintain is requested. They need to be clearly recognized as a Hotel employee. We thank you again and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Unfortunately we were 1 of 4 rooms that got broken into during the evening of 12 July; my husband and I had gone to the pool and were away from our room for 45 mins. My husband lost $200 out of his wallet and my daughter lost $400. No laptops or cameras were taken; as the police officer commented - they just wanted untraceables. When we got to the reception desk at midnight, we were told that we were the 3rd incident. Hotel has video but only the manager has the password so we could not even view the day's video just in case we recognized anyone. We called the police and filled out the reports. The Police Officers were pissed as this was the third call to the hotel that night. When the police officers examined the room door (#220), they commented that it was "freshly jimmed". Several other doors on the same floor were also tampered with. We did not get to sleep until 2:30 pm and up at 7AM to go back to the reception desk to talk to the Manager. The Manager, John Sheret, waived our hotel fee which was the right thing to do. My husband and I missed the Pancake Breakfast and our family's mood was definitely sober for the rest of the day. My daughter makes minimum wage so the loss was devastating. I don't even want to think about what would have happened if we came back to our room and caught the person(s) in the act - this could have happened as I had to go back to my room to get a towel for the pool. On our way back to room after speaking to the Hotel Manager, we noted that the 2 doors to the parking lot closest to the LRT were not locking so we called the front desk. Later that night, when we came back from the Stampede, we could not get into these doors which was a good thing. Hotel would definitely benefit from safes within the room. We packed our valuables into a suitcase and stored them with management during the day. Lot of questions....There was a security guard at the desk when we made our complaint and I wonder why he was not patrolling the hallways after the 1st incident. Why were the hotel guests not warned to take all valuables with them ? ....

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank NepeanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for your review and this was a very unfortunate event that occurred this particular day. Much follow up has been done and I will specify there was not specific evidence with regards to how these individuals entered the rooms. We have been advised that other occurrences hapened in the city and it might have been a result of non guests entering hotels and walking hallways seeing if any doors were not closed properly, at that time an individual would watch and one would quickly enter. For any traveller please always be 100% positive that you close the door firmly to ensure it is closed, I also strongly suggest to all travellers that although many hotels may not have safes in each guest room, majority have safety deposit boxes in the back of the front office similar to us, and to always take precaution and not to leave large sumes of money in the room, our deposit boxes are free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 110 in Calgary
854 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £64 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing