We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simple and Friendly”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Our family booked this hotel through our visa for a visit to Calgary. It was simple, clean and very friendly. We received breakfast vouchers and the kids ate free at the restaurant. The waitresses were so friendly and loved visiting with the kids. They brought them fresh muffins and interacted well with our family. This is not a fancy hotel, but it was perfect for our one night stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ywamer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your great comments, we were very pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your visit while in Calgary.

We take much pride in our great employees and happy you felt the same way.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    111
    97
    22
    22
See reviews for
67
74
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had driven across the country to start our lives anew in Calgary...after five days on the road we were looking forward to have a relaxing stay whilst we waited to settle on our new home. Despite the front desks best efforts our initial impression was not positive as we arrived mid afternoon looking to relax only to be told our room wasn't ready. Despite advising in advance we would require a pet friendly room we were told it would be another 60 mins. We went for a walk for 90 mins and when we returned were told it stil wasn't ready...we waited some more. Once the room was ready it was reasonable...until the trains started to go past. There is a light rail however there is also a rail line for diesel locomotives that can give you a rude awakening at 0200 in the morning. Granted we were in a pet friendly (second class) room but once the morning commuters, rail and traffic started to permeate our room it was time for a change. There may be better rooms but we changed hotels and couldn't have been happier.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Neptune75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations. As you are aware not many properties offer Pet Friendly rooms however we thought differently and wished to ensure our travellers with pets were always welcomed. That being said we only provide a few certain room types for this option, many guests that travel and stay with us also share concerns that they might be staying in a Pet friendly room. We make all efforts to perform an extra clean for those reasons, however when reservations with Pets are made we are never certain when these room types will be clean and ready. Our check out time is 11, check in time is 3pm so I am unsure when you arrived at the Hotel but would assume it was early.
We also apologize for the noise, some Hotels are located in the center of downtown and must listen to constant traffic, fire engines etc, Airports have Airplanes, and we have a train near by, to many this is never an issue but for some it is a major disturbance and we try to be open and honest of our surroundings.
I am glad you were able to locate other accomodations and i trust the remainder of your stay in Calgary was great.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Both a plus and a minus, this hotel is right next to the C-Train station. Getting to and from downtown is quick and convenient, but I could hear the trains running from my room. The room was clean and the staff was courteous. My key cards did not work initially and I had to take them back to the front desk to get them re-programmed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am glad overall your stay was great. I do apologize for the noise, unfortunately we do have train tracks near by and at times the sound can be heard depending on the time of day, we thank you very much for your business and look forward to your return,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We flew from Vancouver to Calgary, and had booked Holiday Inn as we got a good deal and we are renting a car, so this would help offset the cost of the car a bit. The staff were friendly, efficient, polite and very helpful. Our breakfast(Pollo Skillet) was outstanding, so congratulations to the chef for such a tasty meal!! We appreciate the public transport station(rail) to the city was extremely close and handy though we had a car, and there are some great chopping spots close by for a rainy day. The hotel does have an old feel to it despite the renovated exterior, and the rooms follow that same feel. It's all plastic cups and cutlery(which I hate for enviro reasons) and has a cheap feel to it. Old sheets, and old furniture. Basic things like a corkscrew and scissors missing... Still, can't complain for the price we got, but would have been pretty disappointed if we had paid a high Summer rate!

Room Tip: I overheard someone giving out stink about the basement rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOE_CSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you I am very glad that overall your stay was positive, we do have great staff that are very empowered to ensure your stay was great, thanks about the great coment regarding the breakfast and public transit which is such a great feature to have close by.
We do have an older feel in some roms and we are slowly making some progress, we are replacing the chairs in our guest rooms, also very soon we are refinishing all the bath tubs and installing new guest room carpet, the carpet is not expected until early January when we have lower occupancy and less chance of disturbing our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Great location. Next to light rail.
Great service. Great staff.
A bit expensive but worth it.

Breakfast deal is a great value ! Especially for couple. For 10$/night more you will get 40$ worth of breakfast !

Ask for rooms at the 4th or 3rd level, good access to lobby, restaurants and gym.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NisanBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thanks for your great comments, your are right the breakfast deal is a great deal glad you enjoyed everything, thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for five nights with the family. The facilities are average,nothing exceptional and nothing catastrophic. Very reasonable price ... We had two adjoining rooms.
Two opportunities for the team .... Room service arrived cold.. Our dinners were all luke warm. Cleaning staff seemed to come really late in the day... Around 3ish... Was a bit of an inconvenience because we had already gone out for the day and then came back to the rooms unattended.
The front desk staff were very quick with their greetings... And beyond that, they were very helpful when asked for assistance.
Final comment ... The coffee in the restaurant was really not very good at all. Would suggest looking for alternative roasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for the review, it sounds like it was not a great experience overall, I am hoping that you brought these issues to our atention as our staff would have dealt with them immediately and hopefully offered some sort of reimbursement. I do not hear alot of complaints about cold food so I certainly apologize, Housekeeping is a hard one to control, each room atendant has 14-15 rooms to clean each day and therefore there are always some being finished a little later in the day depending on when the room becomes vacant, I am sorry for this. We do hope you decide to return and we can make all efforts to ensure a more pleasant meal and we will notify room attendants to clean your room first once we are notified.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Staff polite, room clean, conveniently located, noisy in-room air conditioning but worst of all, no internet (or WiFi) – "our service is being upgraded." Not good enough sir, tell me that before I book.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2deep2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for your comments about our great staff and Hotel, glad your stay was good.
I am sorry internet was disrupted , unfortunately there are things we are unable to control, and one of those is when there is a Server issue with our communications provider, The services were restored that afternoon, we never receive complaints about our Free wireless so this was unfortunate.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#75 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Property: Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Address: 4206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing