We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the courteous and attentive staff. The hotel itself has an odd design, no elevator in lobby makes it difficult to get to your room. The room was clean and acceptable given the hotel's target market. My room was located next to an ice machine which was quite noisy, wasn't an issue for me, but would have been problematic for light sleepers. The restaurant was very good with a solid selection ranging from meat to chicken and fish. Breakfast was also very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Carlo M thank you very much for the great review, the comments about our staff , cleanliness and Restuarant were very much appreciated. I am very hopeful that our staff members offered you luggage assistance upon your arrival to the Hotel and your room.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your future reservation with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I concur with the others that a guest elevator or ramp would be nice, but the stairs are fairly easy to navigate. The service is outstanding - especially the waiting staff int he restaurant. I was struggling with some bags and a maintenance man asked if he could help me. Wonderful! A great location close to C-Train and Chinook shopping Centre with Stanley park a short distance away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baflloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are presently searching options for a small elevator to be placed near our lobby that can take our guests to the floor level below which then takes you to our main elevator. Our Hotel is built on a hill and because of this odd design there are challenges but we make every effort to make it easy for our great guests.
Every employee is asked and trained to offer assistance to every guest and we make every effort to ensure we consistently offer to carry your luggage. I was so happy to read that our maintenance employee made this offer.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to your future return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a standard three star property. The room was clean and adequate. The outstanding part about this hotel is the service. From the front desk to the service staff to the restaurant staff everybody went out of their way for you. Reviews of this hotel mention the stairs but they were few and not a problem for me. This property has been built onto over the years and that is why the lay out is a little strange. The light rail system is right behind the hotel and that can be a help if you do not have a car. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. The location has a few fast food options close but not much else. Breakfast was not included unlike most Holiday Inns or three star properties. The biggest problem was the temperature control that was either too hot or too cold. The staff were the best part of my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for your great review, you touched on so many key aspects of our Hotel operation. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do apologize for the heating and cooling of your guest room, we reached some very cold temperatures this week and this caused us some challenges.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Like some other reviewers I ended up at this hotel because the downtown hotels were full. It is a huge challenge to navigate luggage up and down the flights of stairs. Who builds a hotel without a guest elevator? However, on the positive side both the front desk and restaurant staff were great. They really went out of their way to make my stay. Customer service is alive and well at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for the nice review, we apologize for the lack of elevator at the lobby level and I am very hopeful luggage assistance was offered to assist you. I would like to thank you for the wonderful comment regarding our staff, very much appreciated.

Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have stayed at this holiday inn several times, and have always enjoyed it. The stairs are an issue (maybe a ramp at the side door by the pool would help get people to the elevator easier)

This trip I was pleasantly surprised by the offer to prepay breakfast and get $20 worth of food for $10. And once there having the serving staff ask if I would like a small bowl of fruit rather than potatoes was a really nice touch!

I'll be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review, we were very pleased to see you enjoyed your visit with us.

Thank you for your comments regarding the ramp, we are in the stages of looking at options to provide a small elevator from the lobby that will take you to the second floor which leads to the main elevators.

Your business is very much appreciated and we look forward to your future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I ended up here because downtown hotels were booked. I was pleasantly surprised by this modest well-kept hotel with friendly staff.

A good option for biz travellers if downtown is booked as it's only a 20 min taxi ride downtown & approx $10 each way.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarDi_eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you very much for your great review, we appreciate your business very much and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our daughter got married here in June, 2011 as most of us live out of town and this hotel is so easy to find. Many of our family members stayed for the weekend and we would gladly stay again and again. The rooms are clean and quiet, away from the train; plenty of parking space; great restaurant; spacious banquet room; and the services are excellent and very helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethL1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your great comments, we are so pleased you had a great visit with us and we look forward to your return,

Sincerely and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 109 in Calgary
532 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £78 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing