We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed at this delightful B&B in early June 2013, it was great! Location is convenient, garden area beautiful and breakfast was delicious. The facility was very clean and even though it was on a somewhat busy street was quiet. As a solo traveler I felt safe and secure.

I will definitely stay again on my return visit to Calgary.

Room Tip: Either room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaguarIIIIIIIIIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I'm one for staying in hotels, in fact we stayed in the Fairmont at Lake Louise a few days earlier and I would say we were more comfortable and enjoyed our stay at the English BnB. Terri is a wonderful host and makes the most delicious breakfasts!! My boyfriend even said he slept better here than in the Fairmont! Check in was a breeze and the hot tub was just fab! We stayed in the Egyptian room so had direct access to it. For the price of this BnB compared to a hotel, you'll be a fool to pay the hotel prices and would be missing out on a very comfortable stay! Would I go back? Hell yes!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at English Bed & Breakfast in March 2013. It was the first time either of us had ever stayed at a B&B. I was a bit nervous as my husband is very private and I knew I had taken him out of his comfort zone. Within moments of arrival he was enjoying himself. :-) The C-Train station is within walking distance of the home (5 minute walk). We used the train to travel to the Saddledome to watch the Calgary Flames. It was so easy and convenient. After we returned from the game David and Teri checked on us to make sure all was well. In the morning Teri made the BEST breakfast. We enjoyed their company while we ate. David and Teri are gentle, kind, and friendly hosts. I am so glad we stayed at English Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoriJM_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Egyptian room comes with a bathroom and just a door away from the outdoor hot tub. Bathrobes are provided. The room was comfy. The common areas - kitchen comes fully equipped, living room was spacious and comfortable, patio overlooks the garden and you can relax on the sofa while reading a book. The owners Teri and David were very warm, friendly and helpful; they made us feel at home, like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Spent 5 nights here in June and enjoyed every minute, Teri and David are excellent hosts. We enjoyed the hot tub, the freedom of the top floor of the house, the yummy breakfasts and the attentive hosts. Would recommend this b&b to anyone looking to stay in the Calgary area, a great alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were looking for a base in Calgary so we could spend time with our daughter and honestly the motel village didnt inspire us at all. From the time we arrived until the time we left, David and Teri were helpful and attentive even to the point of clearing the snow off our car before we left. It was nice to have the use of the upper level of the house with the kitchen and the lounge chairs. The room wasnt large but clean and the breakfast very tasty. There's a good shopping centre down the road and the house is within walking distance of the C train. Be sure to check out the Cheescake shop in Northland mall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Locumdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Very simply, David and Teri are great hosts, and they have created a wonderfully pleasant B&B. We had decided to attend a conference in Calgary after most hotels were booked, so began looking at B&Bs outside of the city center. To our great good fortune, David confirmed very quickly that there was an opening for the nights we needed. Easy enough to find, and worth every minute of the commute downtown. It would be hard not to have a good day after a morning dip in the hot tub, and one of Teri’s breakfasts. Definitely a Five Star recommendation – we will have to find another excuse to visit Calgary and stay again ourselves!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,436 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: £54 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing