We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 56 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This B and B is deserving of its #1 rating. It is cosy, comfortable and very well-equipped, with a welcoming glass of sherry and a hot tub. It was close by to where we needed to be for a family gathering, and much more friendly than a hotel, although with many of the same amenities. The breakfasts were delicious, the company of the hosts delightful, and the cost was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were very satisfied with this B and B. It was in a nice neighborhood. The bed was most comfortable and everything was nice and clean. We can easily recommend the hosts, Teri and David, and their accommodations. We had chosen this B and B because of its good recommendations, and found it to be as advertised.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rshnpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This is the best B&B we could have chosen for our last two nights in Canada after travelling for four weeks!
Comfortable, the hot tub so relaxing, breakfast delicious and in town within 30 minutes.
We really felt home! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great stay here in August 2013 and we loved it so much we arranged to stay for a couple of extra nights. The breakfasts that Teri makes are delicious!! Teri and David are both very helpful and friendly. We loved the hot tub!! The Egyptian room is lovely and has its own en-suite and its own door leading out to the hot tub! The whole house is very clean and we would definitely come back and stay here again :))
Only downside is the location as you have to get a bus/train into downtown Calgary - however it's not too far and both hosts are very helpful with directions etc. Overall- a great experience!!

Room Tip: Choose the Egyptian room -it's amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the lovely English B&B when we first arrived in Calgary, on June 12, 2013. It was the first time in a B&B for both of us. The room was cozy, very nice and clean, very comfortable and it had its own private bathroom. The English B&B has also a Jacuzzi on a terrace outdoors that we definitely enjoyed! The breakfast was homemade and delicious! Beautiful landscape, bus stops and LRT station close-by for those who have no mean of transportation of their own. Truth be told, the English B&B is not close to downtown, but the access is easy either with the car or with public means of transportation. We stayed there for three days. The owners of the B&B were amazing and very helpful; wonderful people that go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Having said all that, my husband and I had a lovely time there and definitely got our money's worth and more! We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely home for 3 nights at the end of June 2013. As a b&b it was excellent, our visit coincided with the floods in the downtown area which curtailed some of our plans. Teri was very helpful in giving alternative places to visit and went out of her way to check on opening times. We had the Egyptian room which was very comfortable and led out onto a patio with a hot tub. We enjoyed our breakfasts each morning with cereals, yoghurts and a cooked dish. A good local mall and C train are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clipboard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed at this delightful B&B in early June 2013, it was great! Location is convenient, garden area beautiful and breakfast was delicious. The facility was very clean and even though it was on a somewhat busy street was quiet. As a solo traveler I felt safe and secure.

I will definitely stay again on my return visit to Calgary.

Room Tip: Either room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaguarIIIIIIIIIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
701 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#73 of 110 in Calgary
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing