We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

A very friendly and homely B&B. The bedroom was very comfortable and decorated & furnished to a very high standard. The well equipped kitchen area was available to guests allowing access to beverages. In addition we found it extremely useful that a laptop was available, allowing us to make overdue contact with relatives. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. Basically we felt as if it was home away from home - our only regret was that we were only staying one night!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudisudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
96
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Near Bedale, North Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This great B&B is in a quiet residential area. Our room was really comfortable and the ensuite was excellent. Even better, there is a large residents lounge with adjoining kitchen, where we could make teas/coffees etc Added to this is the free use of a computer, so we could check the details of our flight next day. Teri does everything to make you welcome, and gave not only excellent advise on a visit to Heritage Park, but also saved us 50% off the admission. There was an extensive folder re attractions and restaurants - we followed the advice and had an excellent meal only a couple of miles away.
Breakfast was really good, though there was no choice of the main cooked dish. However, if there was a problem I'm sure Teri would oblige.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

During our visit to Calgary we (two couples) stayed at the English B&B and rented both the Victorian and the Egyptian room. The B&B is located in the suburbs of Calgary, but as the train station is only a 10 minute walk, it is still very convenient. From the doorsteps of this B&B to downtown it takes about 30 minutes.

Both rooms were absolutely clean and comfortable. From the Egyption room you have direct access to the terrace with the wonderful hot tub (quite relaxing after a day of walking around town).

David and Teri are fabulous hosts and we enjoyed the excellent breakfasts in which we were joined by both of them to chat and get some hints of what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the English B & B. Teri and David were gracious hosts. As guests you have your own bedroom and bathroom plus the use of the kitchen, dining room and living room area of their home. Beverages in the refrigerator and Sherry in the evening are complimentary.

The English B & B is with in an easy walk of the commuter train system that takes you downtown and to the Calgary Stampede grounds.

Teri makes great breakfasts and will tailor them to your individual needs.

We would definitely stay at the English B & B in the future.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Clean rooms, wonderful breakfast and very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkushins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FK9 4QQ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

David and Teri make you feel so at home. Teri's breakfasts are a feast each morning and David is an expert on Calgary. We would recommend an English B&B to anyone coming to Calgary especially after a long flight as it is a haven!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormerFk94qq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Terri and David were very helpful and the location is excellent close to everything but also very quiet....C. Newman

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
665 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
603 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing