We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Night Stay At Pathway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pathway Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 53 Calgary B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 Night Stay At Pathway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We want to share our experience with others about our experience at Pathway. We stayed for 4 nights in August 2012. Our overall rating would be excellent, the hosts Dave and Trish go out of their way to accommodate whatever you require, are very welcoming, and adjust their schedule to suit you....for example we had to leave early one morning so couldn't stay for breakfast, they prepared a take-away for us. However, when we did stay for breakfast the other 3 days it was outstanding! The room was spotless, well appointed, and very comfortable. Their back yard is zen like....lovely, with a pond stock with koi, shrubs, trees and flowers...very relaxing and beautiful. It backs reserve land so you don't even know you're in Calgary. We simply can't say enough good about this B & B...when in Calgary there's no question where we are staying next time....Pathway.

Regards,
Richard and Brenda DORIS

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathwaycottage, Owner at Pathway Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We purposely choose to not solicit guest reviews as we do not want to influence comments. So when guests make time of their own volition to share the pleasure of staying at Pathway Cottage we know they are heartfelt and we are most appreciative. We are delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay. We too enjoyed our conversations around the breakfast table with you. Your excitement about your daughter’s involvement in the Olympic rowing event here in Calgary was not only interesting and informative it was also exciting.
We express our sincere appreciation,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at Pathway Cottage for a couple of nights during Stampede Week. It is a lovely house in a very good location right next to Fish Creek Park which unfortunately we did not have time to explore.

The accommodation was very nice but unfortunately the weather was quite hot and even though there were fans in each room as the house is not air conditioned it did stay uncomfortably warm during the night. At any other time if the weather is less warm it would probably have been fine.

Our hosts were very nice and most helpful with directions etc. and the breakfasts were very good.

If you are travelling down to the Stampede and have to go by bus as the car park at the station gets quite full, it is nearly an hour altogether on the bus and then on the train as this location is quite a distance from the city centre. Also on returning from the evening chuckwagon race and show we only just managed to get the last bus home as it takes quite a while to exit the Stampede grounds and queue for the train. On the second day we went to the Rodeo and on returning we had to wait nearly an hour for the bus back as it only runs hourly out of the peak times. If time isn't an issue and you don't mine the travelling then this accommodation is really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieAnn187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pathwaycottage, Owner at Pathway Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about Pathway Cottage – we are grateful. We also do recognize the issue you had with the warm weather; the two bedroom suite where you were accommodated is the only suite in our home affected in this way. Providing a little cross ventilation generally solves this issue as Calgary’s altitude of 3600 ft (1100 M) and our foothills location normally ensure cool summer evenings. This is why most Calgary homes do not have air conditioning as much of the year we really are looking for heat rather than trying to cool. If Calgary had more than 8 – 10 days of hot weather per year we would certainly be addressing adding air-conditioning.

Sharing your city transit experience with us while you were here has contributed to our development of a helpful take-with-you information card – thank you for this. It will reduce confusion about our bus and light rail transit system and minimize unnecessary waiting time in transit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Pathway Cottage is just 30 mins from the airport and it proved a perfect place to relax after our long journey from the UK. The hosts Dave and Trish were most welcoming and our room, the Jabez Suite, was beautiful and spacious with everything you could wish for. The breakfasts were scrumptious and were different every day. We stayed for 3 nights on our way to the Rockies and could not have found a better place. As keen birdwatchers we also found Pathway Cottage an ideal location as the the garden backs onto the beautiful Fish Creek Provincial Park, one of the best birding sites in Calgary (see www.albertaparks.ca/media/3235/FCPPBirdsandChecklistDec2007.pdf for checklist). Early morning walks produced a good variety of species including woodpeckers, raptors, different kinds of sparrows and even to our amazement a family of roosting great horned owls. This combination of friendly and good quality accommodation with fantastic nature on the doorstep I'm sure can't be bettered in Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe_lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

It doesn't get much better then this. We stayed three very comfortable nights and enjoyed Dave and Trish's warm hospitality. Breakfast was a gourmet delight and different each morning. We highly recommend this B&B and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katdentrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We visited Calgary for the stampede at the start of a 2 week trip through the Rockies - and decided to stay out of the centre in what turned out to be our favourite accommodation of the holiday! Even on the way from the airport the taxi driver was wondering why we were staying out here - and we don't regret a minute of it. This oasis of calm is set in a sleepy suburb at the edge of a local park. The B&B is very very comfortable and quiet with a lovely garden backing onto the park. Dave & Trish are so friendly and welcoming and assisted us even before arrival with suggestions on car hire etc. The breakfasts are truly amazing and rate as one of the best breakfasts we have ever had - every morning breakfast is different - from to frittata to a selection of 9 homemade/local jams and marmalades - and is laid out in such a beautiful manner. Breakfast is a social occassion and the guests are encouraged to eat at the same time. An easy bus/train combo got us into Calgary to explore the centre and visit the stampede so we didn't even start our car rental until we were actually leaving Calgary. They offered suggestions on our trip and we ended up visiting a superb Lancaster Bomber museum in Nanton thanks to a recommendation form Dave. We wish we had more time in Pathway to explore the local area - and take up the rental of the tandem with packed lunches! As it was we thorouoghly enjoyed our stay in this lovely B&B and would love to come back to sample those breakfasts again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Pathway Cottage is a tasteful, peaceful and quiet B&B, at the edge of Fish Creek Provincial Park in Calgary, just a half hour drive from the Airport. We stayed in the Jabez Suite: a spacious room for four with ample space to sit and relax. Besides a wonderful garden to ponder in, we enjoyed a tasty and healthy breakfast which was prepared with the utmost care and love. Dave and Trish are wonderful hosts. They made us feel very welcome in Canada. We could not have imagined a better start of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalaagland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

This is the best BB that me and my wife know. Not only because of the quality of services, food, etc. But specially for the amazing moments spent in such a lovely company of the Bruces. They are a kind and dedicated couple interested in let printed in our hearts things we never forget. They are our first option when we return to Calgary.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulomqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#39 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathway Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathway Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pathway Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 111 Sun Canyon Pk SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 2W4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located in the SE quadrant of the city of Calgary on the south ridge of 3000 acre Fish Creek Provincial Park. Quiet and relaxing ambiance. Wonderful full, hot breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing