We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to host a meeting or event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Held a meeting for about 15 people at Acclaim a few weeks ago. Please note I did not stay in the guest rooms overnight, so this review is for the event space only. I was very disappointed that the events rooms are in the basement with absolutely no windows, no cell phone reception, and limited ability to connect to outside wireless networks (i.e. if you have your own network card). Not what you'd expect from a hotel with this kind of reputation. It might have been tolerable had there not been flies distracting us the entire time. If you want a facility that will help your attendees stay focused and productive, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An0ny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Wanted to stay near the airport. This is close. Friendly staff at reception. Loved the restaurant. They have a bread bar! Clean modern rooms and a roof top hot tub! Will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Normally, when thinking about a place to stay for a romantic weekend in Calgary, Alberta, you'd automatically dismiss any hotel with the word "airport" in the title. Usually, that word conjures up lonely, soulless outposts - the purgatory of travel frequented only by those who are victimized by reduced airline schedules and forced to spend an extra night enroute.

Why on earth would we pick such a place to spend a weekend night away from the kids? We LIVE in Calgary, and have easy access to the gorgeous Rocky Mountains, not to mention the well-appointed and cosmopolitan downtown hotels... Well, to tell the truth, TripAdvisor's other reviewers consistently gave the Acclaim Hotel such a high rating - Number 1 in Calgary! - that it was worth checking out in advance.

Everything you've heard is true. While the hotel is grimly situated amongst a series of vast warehouses on the outskirts of the airport itself, the surroundings are immediately forgotten once you enter the lobby, where the ambiance immediately calls to mind those tastefully understated and classy Scandinavian boutique hotels. Counter staff is very courteous and friendly - and expeditious with check-in. Our suite was spotlessly clean, spacious and well-appointed - granite throughout in the bathroom, complete with both rain-showerhead and several strategically placed additional jets in the shower, a small TV in the bathroom, a 42-inch plasma screen in the living area, and a cozy kitchen with microwave and small fridge (with separate freezer). A very comfortable bed set discreetly behind a dividing half-wall, as well as a comfortable loveseat round out the room. Climate control is perfect. Overhead lighting is a bit harsh - I have never liked, nor will ever like, those new Compact Fluorescents - but you don't need them with side-table lamps scattered tastefully around the apartment that provide a much softer ambiance. Yes, the Queen Platinum suite feels more like an apartment than a hotel room, and in an entirely refreshing change of pace, costs a mere $10.00 more than a regular room - always worth the "splurge".

The crowning touch was the invisible one - the hotel is completely soundproofed, as it should be, being mere metres from the final approach to the North-South runway at YYC. We did not hear a thing. Of course, if airplanes are your thing, head up to the rooftop, where there are alleged hot tubs to watch the sunset and aircraft sailing in for touchdown. (I say alleged, because a visit to the hot tubs for us will have to wait for our next stay...)

An additional touch - rare in the travel industry - is honesty and integrity. When I couldn't figure out the DVD controls, and the front desk said "Housekeeping will be right up", they were there in literally two minutes. When asking whether the redoubtably excellent Pacini Italian restaurant onsite could prepare gluten-free food (a stringent requirement in our house), we were told that was not possible - but with such genuine sympathy and regret that we almost felt badly not being able to eat there anyway. Great points for being honest with us, however - they could have dishonestly sold us whatever they wanted, but didn't. Rely on others' recommendations on the restaurant for the food, however!

In short - the hotel has everything you need for a relaxing and classy stay. A note for those who think room service is an essential part of a hotel experience, however - the Pacini restaurant is not an Acclaim property - they are collaborating, and share the same building - but the result is that you cannot get room service delivered to your door. This is not a negative for us, since we find that service vastly overpriced in other hotels, but worth noting for folks who like or expect that kind of thing.

All in all - definitely a place we would recommend, and to which we intend to return often.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Njamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Acclaim Hotel in Calgary on Oct. 22/11 and I must say when we walked into the room, we were both delighted! We got a queen suite room, and it consisted of a couch, tables, pony wall then the bed. It had a flat screen tv and dvd player with free dvd selection. Then I saw the bathroom, oh my, the shower was amazing, and it had a TV in the bathroom that you can watch when in the shower!! OMG. It was very nice and clean, the bed was super comfortable and it was quiet!! The price was so reasonable for what we got, we will definately stay here again and will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoblue_iis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport after arriving in Calgary late on Sept 8, 2011. We were very impressed with the hotel. We were too late gettting there to enjoy the outdoor hot tubs but were granted a late check out the next day so after having breakfast the next day at the adjoining restaurant, we took advantage of the hot tubs. What a great idea for a hotel!!! Outdoor hot tubs! The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable and clean. When planning our trip to AB we did not book anywhere to stay the last night that we would be there (we were in AB for a week but only in Calgary for the first and last night) but after staying here the first night we decided that we would be definitely staying there the last night. The location was ideal as well, only minutes from the airport! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellerPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is a good bet if you need proximity to the airport (free shuttle), or have a car (to get around town as it is far away from downtown). The hotel is clean and modern. The roof top hot tubs are well maintained. The hotel staff are very nice. We had the opportunity to take part in a Wednesday reception in the G lounge with complimentary appetizers and beverages.

Overall, excellent value. I will be recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homewardbound2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The excellent service starts as soon as the complimentary shuttle arrives to collect you at the airport and this continues for the entire stay - things are so easy and nothing is a problem - all staff are happy to be of help and ensure your stay is relaxing and easy! The rooms are of great quality, very new and modern, comfortable and there is a very nice bath to relax in with a TV in the bathroom too! Good restaurant on site for breakfast, lunch, dinner which is helpful as it is about 15 minutes drive into the city centre. Overall the service is a stand out, together with the modern rooms with all the extras you expect today and a friendly feel of the place. I was very happy here as a 2 night stop on my business trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZcouplelivingabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport

Address: 123 Freeport Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T3N 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#28 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaim Hotel offers modern sophisticated accommodations 2 kilometres from the Calgary International Airport. Acclaim's location provides easy access to Calgary's thoroughfares, allowing for a speedy route to all points in the city. The property offers 225 non-smoking rooms and suites with king and queen size beds. Pacini Pasta & Grill Ristorante is attached to the hotel and offers a restaurant and lounge. The CrossIron Mills mall located in Balzac is less than 10 minutes drive north from Acclaim Hotel. If traveling to or from Banff National Park, Canmore, or Jasper access is convenient via Hwy. 201 Stoney Trail ring road access 2 kms north of Acclaim Hotel. The Country Hills Plaza shopping centre is located 5 minutes drive west on Country Hills Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acclaim Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing