We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with a few minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with a few minor issues”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nice, modern lobby and attractive front desk area.

Not sure if the creaking carpeted floors in the hallway are quaint or creepy.

Love the rooftop hot tub, but sure wished they were open later than 10PM, since I didn't check in until 1030! I would have killed for a nice 20 minute soak before going to bed! Went back in the morning to find that it was actually a warm tub...not hot at all! No way of getting in that when it was -18F out there!

Rooms had a certain European feel to them; odd overhead lighting but nice art on the walls. Not enough outlets near the bed for CPAP or charging phone while lying in bed.

The clock was too dim and I couldn't find a way to make it brighter. The TV had audio, but no picture and the TV in the bathroom only got 4 channels. Half of the bed was completely shot, so I slept on the far side, which was odd for me.

Loved the shower, however, one can only have the overhead, the middle side-spraying shower, or the bottom to fill the tub. I liked the side shower, but would also have liked the overhead.

The restaurant next door seems hit and miss. I waited 20 minutes before my order was taken. Liked the bread bar with different spreads and a grill where you can toast your own bread. The pizza was quite good, the pasta was was nothing special and the value wasn't entirely there.

Over all, I was happy with my stay. The front desk staff were friendly and the hotel was cozy and comfortable. I did pass on my issues so I hope they get the TV fixed and maybe a new mattress.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the halls mean fewer people walking on the creaking floors by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Guest Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad that you stayed with us on your recent stay in Calgary. Our team has had an opportunity to review your comments and are making adjustments in an effort to rectify the issues you mentioned. The television issue has been fixed and the mattress will be replaced. Additionally we are making every effort to update our guests at reservation and check in about the different room types. We are sorry that you had a long wait when you went to the restaurant. We are glad that you were happy with stay and that the front desk staff were friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to our "cozy and comfortable hotel".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    385
    84
    31
    16
See reviews for
254
439
101
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Outlook, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I had a meeting at this hotel and I was impressed with the size of the room and the appointments in the room. The lounge chair was perfect for using my laptop and relaxing after a day of travel. The bathroom had a panel shower with jets, tv, cabinets that made it look more like a home bathroom than a hotel bathroom. Loved to see the Keurig, but our breakfast was too early to enjoy a coffee. Nice and clean. Great front desk service. I would stay here again if I have to go to Calgary by air. Convenient and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Guest Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and meeting attendance at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport. I am glad to hear that you were able to relax in the lounge chair at the end of your travel day and that the bathroom amenities reminded you of a home bathroom. Our front desk, housekeeping and maintenance team members along with the rest of the hotel appreciate your positive feed back and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, ON
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here on two occasions this February. Very convenient to the airport for my first stay. The airport shuttle is very helpful. On my second stay I was here on a weekend and wanted to get out and do some shopping. You are not near anything and needed to take an expensive taxi to the mall. The rooms are very nicely done and the on site restaurant is quite good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PortiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Guest Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello and welcome back. We are glad that you were able to spend some time with us in February and that our location allowed for a convenient airport shuttle transfer. There are a few shopping malls close by and although our shuttle is not able to transport you there we would be happy to arrange alternative transportation for you on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A great overnight hotel for travellers. The accommodations offer everything I want — awesome shower, clean room, HD TV, great bed and a fine restaurant/bar next door.

The exercise room is a bit cramped — but since I was the only one in there, I had no issues.

I really appreciate the Keurig coffee in the room and — did I mention the great shower?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupidinregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Guest Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your "perfect accommodation" review. We are delighted that the shower was a hit with you and that we were able to offer everything that you, as a traveller, are looking for. Please note that we are making plans to expand the exercise room, this should be completed over the next few months. The great shower will be waiting for you when you return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was pretty fried after several hours of presenting to a group of teachers in Medicine Hat and then driving roughly 200 miles back to Calgary. I needed a nice, quiet place to rest and recharge and was delighted to discover what a great place this was. The room was clean (no icky perfume spray), modern and upscale compared to many of the hotels I've used, and VERY comfortable. When my flight was cancelled the next day, I just booked another night here (didn't even look for other options), grabbed the next shuttle back to the hotel, had some lunch (delicious food at the restaurant) and a took a long, restful nap. Note: I NEVER nap and am lucky if I can sleep at night. Clearly I was more tired than I realized (despite a good night's sleep the night before) plus the bed was so comfortable...

A few small-but-important (to me) things: The bathrooms are really nice. I was in two different rooms and one had a great walk-in shower with one of those big overhead shower heads with side sprays. The other had similar overhead hardware in a big soak tub instead of the shower. If you have a preference, ask. Both were great. I also appreciated that the temperature controls included a low fan option so the heater didn't go on and off all night long. Nice bit of white noise (which helps me sleep) but you can set it to "auto" if you like.

The staff was extremely friendly, from the front desk and housekeeping people to the drivers and maintenance and construction folks. Will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a soak tub, although the showers are great, too. VERY comfortable beds, and best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Public Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am sorry to hear about your cancelled flight but delighted that you were able to stay with us on your second night as well. I am glad that our shuttle was able to whisk you back to the hotel so that you could have lunch in Pacini and take a long restful nap. That you were able to take a nap is a testament to the comfort of our beds. Our friendly staff, including front desk, housekeeping, drivers, maintenance and servers look forward to seeing you when you are back in Calgary and on your way to and from Medicine Hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great place to overnight if you have an early flight out the next morning. Clean spacious rooms.
Staff is friendly and most helpful. Two week free parking as well as a shuttle to the airport.
Attached restaurant is Porcini's. Very good food.
I will be back next time I fly out of Calgary on an early morning flight.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good and the beds are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlatlanderSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Guest Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
On behalf of the team at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, please accept our thanks for your recent review of our "great hotel by the airport". Thanks also for sharing the tip about the comfortable beds. That you were able to take advantage of our parking and fly package is great to hear. With good food at Pacini and clean spacious rooms we look forward to seeing you whenever you need to fly out from YYC, even if its late or early in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Whoever designed this hotel and it's rooms had a clue. The rooms are very small but the space is well used. The rooms almost feel like on a train or houseboat -- where there is clever use of space. For example, instead of a traditional desk, they have a small, curved counter top that serves the purpose. A nice little vanity area is also a plus. The decor is very nice and made me feel good about staying there -- mostly tile and granite. The tile floor in the bathroom was lovely. The tub was large and the shower was amazing, with it's different sprays etc. A TV in the bathroom is an added little luxury -- probably unnecessary, but again, it made this place stand out and made me feel good about being there.

Robes were provided, which was nice. I would have liked a small fridge. Big disadvantage. The chaise lounge looked great and was very comfortable. The bed and linens were comfortable -- over all, the room was very stylish.

Parking was great. The staff was great. The restaurant was excellent.

Very close to the airport. I think I have found a new airport hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxhermxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester F, Guest Relations Manager at Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am delighted to hear that you felt good about staying with us in your recent visit to Calgary. With clever use of space it seems as if we managed to make your stay very enjoyable in one of our platinum king rooms. On your next visit, we will be happy to reserve one of our studio suite which has an additional living room space with pullout single sofa bed, plus additional seating options and a wet bar partitioned from bedroom area plus all the lovely features of our platinum king room. A mini fridge and microwave which are also part of this space will make for a perfect stay. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport

Property: Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Address: 123 Freeport Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T3N 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#12 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#28 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaim Hotel offers modern sophisticated accommodations 2 kilometres from the Calgary International Airport. Acclaim's location provides easy access to Calgary's thoroughfares, allowing for a speedy route to all points in the city. The property offers 225 non-smoking rooms and suites with king and queen size beds. Pacini Pasta & Grill Ristorante is attached to the hotel and offers a restaurant and lounge. The CrossIron Mills mall located in Balzac is less than 10 minutes drive north from Acclaim Hotel. If traveling to or from Banff National Park, Canmore, or Jasper access is convenient via Hwy. 201 Stoney Trail ring road access 2 kms north of Acclaim Hotel. The Country Hills Plaza shopping centre is located 5 minutes drive west on Country Hills Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acclaim Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing