We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got stuck here due to cancelled flight but hotel was a nice surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Got stuck here due to cancelled flight but hotel was a nice surprise.”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

My westjet flight home to Victoria was cancelled due to high winds in Victoria (seems to be a theme this winter and spring) Westjet was forced to cancel last minute and I must say I was so happy to be travelling Westjet because I knew they would take good care of me, unlike the *other* Airline.

We were redirected to the Acclaim Inn and my first response was, OH NO, Isn't there a Delta (whee I stay for busines travel) or a Sheraton??? No to both and I must say after the night at the Acclaim I was happy.

Jamie was the check-in clerk and he was over whelmed by us all, he was the only one on staff and he was wonderful under fire. Thank you Jamie.

Rooms were large and very nice, beds were comfortable and loved the shower very nice. Restaurant attached to the hotel was a complete delightful surprise, very good food and wine.

There was a free cont breakfast buffet opened in the morning (I was there at 5;30AM to catch my 7 AM flight) and while I passed on breakfast the coffee was actually very very good.

After a mnth of travelling on and off for business I was more then eager to return home but must say Acclaim was an unexpected nice surprise. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quincytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    385
    84
    31
    16
See reviews for
254
439
101
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in April. We stayed the night before we flew to Vegas and the night we got back. It is very close to the airport and offers free parking with your stay and a shuttle to the airport.

The rooms aren't huge but for the two of us it was good. I'm not sure that a family of four would be comfortable in the 2 queen room.

The rooms are modern, our first room just had a shower and the second had a nice soaker tub and a shower. There is even a tv in the bathroom! Each room has a Krugg (sp?) coffee maker and there is free internet.

This is a great hotel for a pre or post stay when you are flying from the Calgary airport. If you are going to Calgary to shop or other sight seeing it would probably be better to stay closer to the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My wife and I stayed there for one night after booking online on the hotel website. Here is what you need to know:
- it is very close to the airport, perhaps 5 minutes away, and probably the closest hotel to the airport, apart from the Delta which is actually at the airport - they even had big flight arrival/departure screens in the lobby - & shuttle service available to the airport - & easy to get to from #2 highway (turns into Deerfoot Trail in the city)
- there appeared to be some form of long-term parking available if you were getting a flight, but since we were driving, not flying, we did not inquire
- the hotel used to have a breakfast set-up, but no longer does - if you booked before April 1 with that expectation, they will give you a voucher for the restaurant next door (so were advised by the front desk)
- Itallan restaurant next door - just opened last week, nice selection of pasta, pizza, etc, nice lounge, beers on tap
- room we had a king size bed, very modern finishings, flat-screen TV, Ipod docking station, TV in bathroom (?), multi-heads on shower/tub, wall-safe, funky system of operating the lghts with your room card (energy saver), but that said, very small room, but functional. Did I say small room?
- they also had a coin laundry set-up by the ice and pop machines - great idea
- overall, as some of the other postings commented, if you are here for a night just before or after a flight, perfect, otherwise, lukewarm endorsement

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucks07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

After browsing through a few different hotel within Calgary on TripAdvisor, we came across this gem of a hotel. Though our (my girlfriend and I) stay was brief, the experience was no short of exceptional.

Booking:
- Website Booking was very efficient and user friendly compared to some of the other major hotel chains. I was able to select a room and request a price easily.
- Phone Service was effective in answering my questions. Reception was very polite.
- Additional costs were carefully explained by reception in check in phase.

Rooms:
- Having selected the King Package, our King Sized bed was just great. Very comfortable with adequate linens and pillows for two people.
- The inclusion of a large 42'' LCD TV and DVD player was a nice touch (Movies can be rented for free at the front desk to top it off)
- Rooms are well equipped with stationary (Stapler, paperclips, ruler, pencil, pad, pen, etc.) Perfect for traveling business professionals on the go.
- Also to mention is the inclusion of a make up mirror. My girlfriend was pleasantly surprised with this feature and utilized it.
- Comfy Bathrobes. Just a nice touch.
- Washrooms, though a bit smaller, were well designed. The inclusion of a full body shower and rocker tub was just the finishing touch. This was extremely impressive. Can't forget the small TV located next to the shower as well!

Overall Room Impression: :-D

Amenities:
Since we were there for one night we did not get to try everything.

- Continental Breakfast was decent offering a selection of cereals, pastries, beverages, and hot dishes.
- Was not able to try the rooftop hot tubs. Slightly disappointed that they closed at 10 pm.
- Was not able to try the attached restaurant. Ended up ordering from a local pizza establishment which was very fast.
- Hotel also includes washing machines which could be an asset for some visitors

Amenities Impression: :-)

Overall:

If you are concerned about the location of this hotel, do not be. Our trip destination was the Calgary Zoo, and the drive the following morning took no time at all (and was easy).
The value of this hotel is phenomenal. For the price we paid, it was very quiet, comfortable, and accommodating to both of us.

There is no reason to pay a larger price for a downtown hotel that is noisy and inconsistent.

I would highly recommend this hotel to an individual or couple visiting the city of Calgary. Though this hotel is definitely more suited to short term stays (1 to 3 nights), it definitely competes with many other hotels for medium length stays (4-7 nights).

Good Luck and Safe Travels

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrenalinezero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Acclaim is an airport hotel located just a few minutes from Calgary International Airport. They have a free shuttle service that you must reserve in advance to insure you get a seat.

The hotel is exactly what you need in a hotel. the rooms are well appointed and were most certainly designed with YOU in mind. iPod docing stations for your alarm, work desk, large flat screen TV, small TV in the bathroom too! also a little make-up mirror and table for the ladies. Room are also well lit so you can really see just how clean it is.

Breakfast served from 5AM which is perfect if you have a 7 or 8 am flight to catch. Free wireless. New restaurant with bar opened the day I left so didn't get to try it. Not much else in the area. would love it if there was a pool. did not notice if there was a fitness room.

Overall, fantastic place to stay! Do not hesitate to book your room here rather than anywhere else. You will love it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showmanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed one night with an early flight to catch in the morning. The room was very nice and luxurious with wall mounted flat screen tv's (one in the bathroom as well), iPod dock, bottled water, bath salts, bath robes, soaker tub, etc. Other than the odd plane flying overhead, the room was very quiet and we slept well on the comfortable queen size beds. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection of both hot and cold dishes. We loved the shuttle to the airport, the drivers were very friendly and even supplied bottled water. The park and fly was a great deal for parking our car for 5 days and it was seamless to catch the shuttle bus back to the hotel upon return. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by our stay at this hotel and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JutebugAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I landed from London into Calgary. The shuttle arrives at the hotel bus stop. Better make sure u call for the shuttle from the free phone. Hotel is about 5 minutes from the airport. The hotel has no real lobby to speak of. Its quite functional. Room was OK. I asked to be upgraded to a king bed and they did charge me (if a room is going to go empty it would be good customer service to upgrade a customer without charging...many hotels do this). Internet was slow, not high speed but this has now become a problem is almost all north american hotels, its not high speed, its crawl speed. At least it was free. Hotels like hilton and sheraton charge for the same low speed connection.

The shuttle leaves for the airport every half hour. I requested the front desk if they would make a run for me at 745 AM as 730 would be early and 8 AM late. Answer was no. This was simple customer service that could have been provided but was not.

Overall the hotel is OK for 1 night layover. Anything more and u shud find a better hotel closer to the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport

Property: Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Address: 123 Freeport Blvd NE, Calgary, Alberta T3N 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#12 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#28 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaim Hotel offers modern sophisticated accommodations 2 kilometres from the Calgary International Airport. Acclaim's location provides easy access to Calgary's thoroughfares, allowing for a speedy route to all points in the city. The property offers 225 non-smoking rooms and suites with king and queen size beds. Pacini Pasta & Grill Ristorante is attached to the hotel and offers a restaurant and lounge. The CrossIron Mills mall located in Balzac is less than 10 minutes drive north from Acclaim Hotel. If traveling to or from Banff National Park, Canmore, or Jasper access is convenient via Hwy. 201 Stoney Trail ring road access 2 kms north of Acclaim Hotel. The Country Hills Plaza shopping centre is located 5 minutes drive west on Country Hills Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acclaim Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing