We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 2210 - CLOSED

Bistro 2210
Price range: US$13 - US$22
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23 Ave SW
Transit: 4th St. SW is a major bus route.
Description: This stylish bistro is situated in the original French Quarter of Calgary of what is now called the Mission District. Diners will be delighted by the turn of the century Wright building with period details such as the original pressed tin ceilings and exposed brick walls. Chef~Patron Jason Armstrong's French comfort cuisine reinvents bistro classics with a focus on local suppliers. The ever evolving menu is coupled with an all French wine list with a focus on smaller appellations to provide great wine at a reasonable menu price. Service is friendly, yet professional and always consistent.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a fabulous meal at Bistro 2210 on New Year's Eve! To celebrate the occasion we ordered Chateaubriand for two! My goodness! What a way to end 2013! The beef was done to perfection and the peppercorn sauce was divine. As always their pommes frites were crispy and very tasty. I loved the assortment of vegetables and the mashed potatoes with cheese curd. We will definitely go back for this dinner on special occasions as well as our frequent regular visits! And our server was great too! Love this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamelatravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Completely and totally mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Over the past several months we have started a tradition of circulating through the various breakfast/brunch establishments in the city for Sunday brunch. Out of the 20+ restaurants we have tried, Bistro 2210 thus far was unquestionably the worst, as unanimously agreed upon by us both. That there was absolutely no lineup and that the restaurant was 2/3 empty on Sunday morning at 10 am should have been the first warning sign, since most quality brunch places at that hour are packed and frequently require a substantial wait. The breakfast menu is small, basic and overpriced, displaying little of the creativity typically demonstrated elsewhere. We tried two different egg dishes between us and we were both very disappointed. In both our cases, the eggs very effectively 'hard boiled'--completely overcooked (yet lukewarm to boot!) even though we had requested soft, runny yolks. Everything on the plate was bland, boring and virtually tasteless, from the toast to the potatoes to the veggies. I'm typically not one to reach for the salt and pepper shaker but did so on this occasion. Even the coffee and tea were completely ordinary. And, the wait for this truly unremarkable meal was substantially longer than we have typically experienced in other restaurants that are far, far busier and bigger. We also agreed in retrospect that had it not been for sheer hunger or our unwillingness to go somewhere else and wait, we would have likely simply sent the food back. Have crossed this one off the list and, sad to say, shall not be returning. You can do better even at a place like Denny's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Never been there before. Reading the reviews, I think there are a lot of snobby people in Calgary.
I can't believe they would pick apart such a lovely place. We went for brunch and I don't think I have had a nicer one. The scrambled eggs with Crab?(might be a secret), and other ingredients was everyone's favourite. Wish I could get the recipe??
Loved everything, service was excellent.
Thank you Bistro 2210. I'll be back!
I didn't rate the bar scene high - it was morning!
Also it was raining out so couldn't rate the outdoor patio.
Can't believe I've lived here for years and haven't been there.
Carol P.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carenalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good French-inspired Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The dinner menu is inadequate and misleading as this is only French-inspired food. The Beef Bourguinon (25) is nothing of the sort, but rather a well-braised cut of boneless shortrib served with roast potatoes, yellow beets and green beans. Perfectly cooked but rather fatty. A small side salad (5) and a playful dessert of chocolate beet cake and caramelized bananas (9) rounded out a nice meal. Service was adequate but the server had to be prompted to detail the daily grillade and fish. It's a comfortable and cozy modern room but the chocolate brown décor is a cliché and here, oppressive. Can't give any advice on parking - it's a problem in this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fussybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We ate at Bistro 2210 with a friend, on her recommendation, and had a lovely meal. Menu is not huge but fairly typical of a French bistro, with a few Italian twists. I had the beet salad that included fresh and raw beet with sweet-spicy pecans and, for a main, the tomato linguine. Both were fresh and simply prepared. My husband loved his steak frites, proclaiming it better than a version we recently had in New York. My friend gave me a bite of her macaroni and cheese, which was delicious - nice smoky flavour from the bacon. The restaurant was quiet and tasteful. Would definitely go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 2210 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing