We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for downtown business or shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good location for downtown business or shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I booked this hotel for three nights on business. The valet staff, bell staff and check in staff were very service oriented and eager to please.
Check in was a breeze, check out even better.
The bath area is a bit cramped with the toilet almost in the way of the entry to the shower, which is a rain shower. Nice.
There is a Starbucks located jn the lobby for the morning kickstart, and there is a Keg Restaurant also located in the hotel lobby.
I recommend to travelers who are anticipating business or pleasure in downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    539
    162
    53
    33
See reviews for
143
340
100
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great business hotel. They treat you really nice here. As a platinum SPG member I've been upgraded to a suite or a room in the business tower 4 out of 4 stays. It's a real advantage in this hotel because these types of rooms include a full buffet breakfast.

Everything has been recently renovated. Everything is clean and comfortable. Nothing spectacular, but nice and up to standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0nsultant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Spent one night in this hotel. Parking is a little pricey, but this is downtown Calgary. Service was fantastic. Room is very clean, modern and well appointed. Great flat screen tv and in room coffee. Bathroom is quite small, but had a nice rainhead shower head and glass enclosed stall. Bed was super comfortable. Black out drapes were great. The gym is moderate with 3 treadmills, 2 bikes and 2 ellipticals and some free weights and one nautilus machine. If you are a big fitness person while on the road, this gym is moderate at best. Pool is right in the fitness area and looked fine. There is a Starbucks right in the lobby and you are a block away from the Eau Claire Market. Great hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Overall a pretty good hotel but nothing extraordinary for a Westin... on par with the Westin Edmonton and other higher end business hotels. Great location and in room dining was pretty good too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I traveled to Calgary for business. The room I was given was in the Business Tower #451. I didn't sleep at all during the night. So unless you are a very heavy sleeper I would avoid this room or any room next to the elevators in this hotel. While the room was updated it was obvious that the building itself was older and lacked sound proofing. Every time the elevators went up or down it sounded like a small plane was taking off. I actually thought at first the hotel was directly under the flight path. The left elevator caused the coffee mugs at the bar in my room knock together every time it went past my floor so I had to get up and move them apart during the night. I travel frequently for both work and pleasure and have stayed at the Westin in numerous cities (Denver, Phoenix, Atlanta,Ottawa, Vancouver, etc). I agree with other reviewers they are usually a very good in terms of their comfort and customer service. This is the worst experience I have ever had. During check-out I was asked how my stay was and I said the room was unacceptable due to the noise. The desk clerk offered to cover my breakfast but that was already included in the price so instead she offered to note on my preferences that I prefer not to stay near the elevator. This ridiculous response only added to my annoyance and overall negative experience at the Westin Calgary.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the elevator in business tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZuZu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear ZuZu P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay. The noise you encountered is unacceptable and I know how frustrating and uncomfortable this can be. More importantly, how this was handled was not suitable and I wish we could have somehow made this a more positive experience. I hope that you will give us the chance to rectify this issue the next time you are in Calgary.

Kind regards,
Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

As airline crew this Hotel is a real treat when it comes to a good nights sleep. The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds. The bathroom is well maintained and is very clean, the air con/heating works and cannot be heard which is a real plus point.

Breakfast in this Hotel is excellent and the staff are really helpful and a delight to deal with. Reception is quick and efficient and again the staff are great.

Although in this review I have to rate 'Value' I don't feel that I can honestly as my company pays our room costs. However I would have no hesitation in recommending because of my previous points.

Location is good with a large mall about a 5 minute walk away and in the opposite direction there is a lovely park. While there we observed Ice skaters on the frozen river which provided a huge rink.

Great, but brief stay.

Room Tip: Have stayed on many occasions and have never had a problem with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I've really come to enjoy the Westin hotels. You can rely on them to be clean and comfortable. My last trip to Calgary was no exception. I was in town for interviews and the staff were very accommodating in placing me in a quiet room. The room has all the usual amenities but free wifi is not included in all rooms (some of the rooms you may need to pay for wifi so check this before you go). Good selection of tv channels. Comfortable bed. Very clean room.

In addition to room service (slightly pricey --- entrees are usually $15 and up). There is a Keg and Starbucks at this location, with Old Spaghetti factory very close by so there is no shortage of food. Check-in and check-out were easy and when I encountered a problem, the manager was great at contacting me after my stay and rectifying the problem. Parking is $$$ at $30-$42/24hours. Downtown parking in calgary is expensive but still might want to see if maybe you can find a cheaper parking price in a nearby parkade.

A bit pricey but worth the splurge. Was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skittle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing