We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning and comfortable stay - Calgary Westin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning and comfortable stay - Calgary Westin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

1. Incredible team. From check in, to after work cocktails, to check out, the Westin's team are personable, welcoming, and always ready to help. The little extras such as a bottle of water offered by the lobby staff when I came back from a run to the hotel wide commitment to conserving natural resources added to an already beautiful and comfortable hotel.
2. Elegant rooms. I stayed on the tower side and the room was spacious with lots of natural light. The shower and bathroom had modern fixtures and great smelling toiletries. The bed was very comfortable, it reminded me of home.
3. Location. Central location to the business hub of Calgary, 2 blocks from vibrant local restaurants, 5 minute walk to a huge indoor mall, and my favorite - 3 blocks from the river and park. If you enjoy a great walk or run outdoors, the Westin is an ideal location!
4. Amenities. I didn't use the fitness center or the pool because the weather was so nice, but I did go and see them out of curiosity. The pool is indoors and heated, I wish I would have brought a bathing suit. The fitness center is well maintained, sleek, and has quality equipment. Essence has great breakfast - the buffet has a lot of options (the chicken basil breakfast sausage was light and tasty!) the blueberry Greek yogurt pancakes from the menu looked great too!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Allison R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback about our hotel and city. We are very lucky to be situated in the downtown core with easy access to shopping, restaurants and businesses. It brings me great joy to hear that our team has made an impression on you. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the amenities and our nutritious breakfast buffet with various superfood items in Essence. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Be Well


Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    536
    160
    52
    33
See reviews for
143
340
99
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had a great stay in the westin Calgary! The staff were all very helpful, as I needed lots of help with lots if luggage. The room was beautiful as well. Small, but not less than I needed. I look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicajadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

This is a good quality and reasonably priced Westin Hotel. Well located for downtown Calgary. The hotel is clean and fresh, the rooms quiet and comfortable. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment but it doesn't intrude. I like the public areas. The staff are especially welcoming, helpful and courteous. Definitely recommend this hotel. Only one gripe, they charge for wifi in your room. When wifi is like electricity or water, in an up market hotel it seems a bit unnecessary. It's free in the lobby.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

While we live in Calgary, we have stayed at the Westin downtown several times for a night away. It is a pleasant environment. Upscale, but not pretentious with excellent service. For an older hotel, the rooms are quite well maintained. While some have balconies, I have never seen anyone actually use them. The mirrors in the washrooms with integrated TV is a novel indulgence. The showers are converted bath tub areas but have nice shower heads.

Room Tip: We always choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buildguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear buildguy,

Welcome back! Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear you had a comfortable stay and appreciated the pleasant environment and excellent service. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we hope to see you soon!

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed one night at the Westin. There's some construction/renos being down outside but no big deal. Arrived and found out my booking was made for the wrong night via an online booking site (name withheld). The staff was very helpful in helping me resolve this (the online website much less so). Staff was also able to get me an umbrella for the next day too. Room was modern, spacious and had two complimentary bottles of water. I also hot free internet and a newspaper in the morning. Location is very close to Bankers Hall and there's a Star Bucks and a Keg connected to the hotel, which is very convenient. Taxis are always waiting outside which is helpful if you're in a hurry to get to the airport. The nightly rate was also very reasonable and offered great value for what I paid in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Gung_ho_in_TO.

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that our staff was able to help you resolve your online booking reservation and that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Be well


Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

The Westin Calgary is one of the two hotels I usually stay at when traveling for business. I find the staff here to be much more accommodating and friendly then at the Sheraton Eau Claire. The rooms at the Westin are always in good condition including being extremely clean. The only downside is that it can be a bit noisy, which is why I usually stay in the business tower and if it gets too noisy due to construction they kindly provide earplugs.

I have stayed at the Westin 15+ times and it has consistent quality.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Adairmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just a few blocks south of 8th st. We ate at the Keg (attached to hotel) one night and it was fine...nothing great but convenient and not bad.
The Irish bar across the street (Ceilis) was worth a visit for a pint.
Location was close/walkable to Sunamerica bldg where I had business.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.4 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing