We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

From the moment I entered the hotel we were treated like honored guests. There is some construction going on at the moment which made the driving a little tricky but I was able to drop the car off with the valet.I can't praise the staff enough.rooms were spacious and super clean. We ate at the Keg restaurant which was ok, nothing fancy but a great spot if you like steak. Pool was great too, you have to switch on the sauna ahead of time, it takes a while to warm up. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Gallusb,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have shared your compliments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    540
    162
    53
    33
See reviews for
143
340
100
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Plusses:
- Very friendly and professional welcome (was also provided with complimentary room upgrade and breakfast - may have been because of SPG membership).
- Very comfortable bed.
- Good central location downtown, connected by bridge network with surrounding buildings.
- Good choice of breakfast (buffet or a-la-carte).
- Efficient check-in and check-out.
- Very helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel.

Minusses:
- Room and bathroom feel a little bit dated (but are in good shape).
- Lack of nice view (was looking directly into an office building).
- Concierge ran out of umbrellas for loan by hotel guests.

Overall, was very happy with my stay at the Westin Calgary and would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
302 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

My experience would have been much better if the check in clerk was more courteous. Apparently the hotel offers $5 incentive if you choose not having your sheets changed everyday. I always think Green and reuse my towels and would have welcome that opportunity but I was never offered that. Room service is very pricy for average food. Hidden costs listed as fine print, such as 15% service charge and $4 delivery fee. A bowl of tomato soup would cost you $25. I had problems with WiFi and the not so helpful staff suggested I should use Bing instead of Google. After I managed to make her understand that her solution has nothing to do with connection she asked me to bring my phone to lobby for a bell hop to look at instead of offering to send someone to me. Other than that employee others were very pleasant and professional. I say not suitable for family because the pool is on the 20th floor of a different building. Unless you don't mind walking to another building thru the lobby with your kids in swimsuit I suggest to avoid it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Knight66,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that your experience could have been better. The Make A Green Choice option is one of our Green initiatives and should have been better communicated to you at Check-in.

We always look forward to families staying with us. Should you decide to stay with us again may I please request that you contact our Director of Front Office David Barbour at david.barbour@westin.com to update your profile to ensure you are in our Tower Building, closer to the pool. I am sorry that this was uncomfortable for your family.

We do hope to welcome you and your family again.

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Westin in calgary after a two week road trip around Canada. The previous hotel we stayed at was an extremely well known five star hotel and I have to say the westin came up better. The service was great, efficient and prompt. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were provided with complimentary coffee and the beds were very comfortable. There was some road work going on outside the hotel but we did not hear this and were given ear plugs should we have been disturbed in anyway. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzledazzle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sazzledazzle80,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as our goal is to do everything possible to have our Guests leaving happier and feeling better than when they arrived. We hope you will visit us again!

Be well


Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our arrival and departure nights, flying into and out of Calgary from Manchester. Everything was good - in particular the most helpful lady Concierge, who made great efforts to sort out our airport shuttle (Alliance - excellent value) when the nearby roads were closed off for the Tour of Alberta cycle race. The on-site Keg restaurant is fine - we thought it a bit pricey until we ate elsewhere in Canada, after which it didn't seem too bad! We didn't try the Westin's breakfast, as it seemed exorbitant to us - instead we had brunch at the River Cafe in Princes Island Park, a short walk away, filling in time before our flight. Starbuck's is inside the building if you're short of time or on a budget.

Room Tip: Construction site on the north side, but open view from our room; main road on the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPardoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

By booking online and paying in advance we consider we got a great room rate. On our day of arrival we had been up since 4.00 am to catch an international flight to Calgary and arrived at the Westin well after their check-in time of 3.00 pm on Sunday 18th August. The staff member who was checking us in initially told us our room was not ready yet and it could be a few hours before it was available. There was nobody else waiting in the reception area with suitcases. We were tired and very disappointed that we had to go to 'battle' to get a room. Then miraculously a room was available. What the receptionist had achieved was to leave us with a very poor first impression of the Westin and very suspicious of their tactics. The Westin did make amends and gave us complimentary breakfast. The location of the Hotel downtown was ideal for us and our room was clean and comfortable, in fact, we would agree that it is a better than average business hotel - it was just a pity that we did feel welcome at first.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymcbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear mollymcbeth,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you had to wait for your room to be ready especially after a long flight to Calgary. This is not our typical level of customer service and definitly not the first impression we wanted to give you. Please be assured this is not a tactic on our part.

I have shared your experience with our Director of Front Office for coaching opportunities with our team.

We hope you will be back again in the future.

Be well


Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Westin is a great place to stay downtown with the Keg restaurant and Starbucks being downstairs. Great bed and very clean. The room was a decent size and we really enjoyed our stay would definately stay there again. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauty072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing