We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Westin”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Westin”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I try and stay at a Westin/Sheraton property whenever possible to collect points, and their properties never disappoint me.

This is a great location, within walking distance of the main "strip" of downtown, close to the "CORE" mall, and a ton of restaurants. THe hotel also has a Keg and Starbucks located in the lobby of the building.

The room was clean, spacious and quiet.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    549
    168
    53
    33
See reviews for
147
353
102
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Found a real good deal for one night I was there in Calgary. Clean room, quick service and quite. Room was modern and the beds were comfortable for the night I was in Calgary. The only issue that people might have was the construction outside the hotel making it a pain to leave the hotel. It's in a great location, right downtown and walking distance to Stephan Ave and Eau Claire area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesimon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk res
Level Contributor
300 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although this is a fairly typical up-end hotel chain this place ticked all the boxes for us arriving late one night after a long flight.
The welcome was very good . The room was large and clean and wlll appointed.
The bathroom was a little tired but fine.
The breakfast next day was first rate , but expensive..
I certainly can recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 724 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Westin is an efficient and very modern hotel, with corridors and rooms decorated in a clean, modern, almost austere style. Check-in was fast by a person at the front desk and check-out even faster with the bill (which an hotel apparantly calls Folio) emailed overnight. Was upgraded to the business tower, which included free wifi, which worked ok on my iPad. Room included coffee maker, a chaise longue (nice touch) and a very good desk to work at. However no mini bar and limited menu of options to order in room including too expensive wine ($30 for a half bottle). Did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is a typical Westin -- very clean, comfortable, good location, modern guestrooms and bathroom. We got a great pre-pay rate for a weekend night.

Wifi was very spotty and a constant annoyance throughout our stay. That is simply unacceptable in 2013.

The pool was nice and the parking was convenient. The "barn-door" type door on the bathrooms lack privacy and could be problemmatic for mixed-sex families traveling with children.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sniper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Sniper33,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I take your feedback very seriously and I have addressed your Wifi concerns with our IT manager. We offer the highest WIFI speed in Calgary hotels with 200MB so you should not have experienced any annoyance. We will do some tests on each access point to fix potential defects.

Please accept our apologies for any discomfort you and your family have experienced.

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at westin Calgary during September 13. Hotel is conveniently located within the business district downtown with major offices located walking distance from the hotel. When I first checked in I was given a small room. Room was so small that you can barely fit in your luggage. No space to keep your luggage anywhere in the room. Space to work on working table was so small. And height of it bathroom was so small, with bare minimum space around the toilet seat. I was taken back by quality of such room with such high charges westin charges. So when I checked in second time, I asked for room upgrade. I was given room upgrade with plenty of space in the room and bathroom. The quality of room size made me change my opinion about hotel. However breakfast quality was very poor. They charged 26$ for sub quality breakfast. Breakfast room space is also very small. They also have swimming pool and fitness room which I could not visit. Also presently there is some construction going on in vicinity of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Vorapm,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I have shared your experience with our team and I apologize for any disappointment. I am very surprised to read your comment about our breakfast and I’d like to know more. May I please request that you contact Michael Bitcon our Director of Food & Beverage at Michael.Bitcon@westin.com to provide more details.

Thank You and Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel's location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown. The service provided was professional, friendly and efficient. The room's average size and it was on the 10th floor. Nice views of the city. I wish I could have stayed longer in Calgary but it was just a two day business trip with associates. This is the place for me next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#19 of 109 in Calgary
2,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing