We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO BAD”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TOO BAD”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Downtown Calgary on October the 18, 2013. The room was great, nice view, ordered a snack from room service,was pretty tasty. Woke up the next day left the Westin having had a decent experience, then when we were on our way back to Canmore where we work and live I realized that I left behind a dress in the closet in the room that were staying in. I called immediately to let house keeping know and she assured me that it would not be a problem to Fed Ex my dress and that I would receive it in a couple of days and if there was a problem that she would contact me.Well 4 days passed and I hadn't received my dress via Fed Ex and the women that I had spoken with previously did not have a clue as to what I was talking about. She was even challenging me on even staying at the Westin on the night of October 18,
To make a long story short, someone who works at the Hotel stole my dress from the room that I had checked out of, with many conversations with the head of House Keeping it was agreed upon in writing that they would financial compensate me for the dress via check within 2-4 weeks. Well it is four weeks now and I still haven't received compensation for an employee not only stealing from me but also from the Westin. I spoke with the same women from Head of House Keeping again today and she has no idea where the check is to replace my stolen dress. If your interested in taking a risk at getting something stolen this is the perfect unprofessional spot for you and your hardworking selves!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    556
    169
    53
    33
See reviews for
153
361
103
644
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel was decent. Room was a good size, although the decor was a little dated, and a bathtub would have been nice. I found the climate control a bit of an issue, as it seemed like it took quite a while for the room to heat up after changing the thermostat. There is also construction going on nearby which might be an issue if you don't want to get up early. Otherwise, staff were very helpful, and the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel has very nice, renovated rooms with usual great Westin beds. Good location and great to have the attached Keg restaurant. The only negatives I can mention is that room service is extremely slow, the room wasn't overly clean and the underground parking is tight. But overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights attending a conference. The hotel is in a great location and I really enjoyed having starbucks in the hotel and Tim's across the road. I did find the bathroom/shower really small but overall the room was great. I took the green approach which meant I was given a $5 Starbuck's voucher each day that I declined maid service....thought that was cool. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Westin Calgary is located in the heart of downtown Calgary. It has very spacious and clean rooms. The staff are polite and helpful. The bathroom is nice. But it is not what I expected from a Westin hotel. I have stayed in many Westin properties and this one is not at the same level.
The gym is very limited. I expected more from the Westin. When I went for a workout there were 2 other guys there and I had to leave and come back later because there was not enough room for all of us.
The lobby is nice, the elevators are limited, only 2 were working when I was there and it took forever to get one.
It is not a bad hotel at all but not what you would expect from a Westin hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter_DBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great staff, happy to welcome us and this fell very good as we had a terrible experience in the precedent hotel where we stayed. So we thank again the staff for being so gentle, polite and professional.
It is well located, near all amenities, near shops, museums, pubs and nightclubs. It might be a bit noisy but you cannot be so close to the amenities without a noise from the streets around. And it is not that bad compared to the location, we slept very well and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SosoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I understand why visitors to Calgary who stay at the Westin say they dislike this city. I had to spend a week here until my house was ready, and I was counting the hours until I could leave! I've stayed at many Westins around the world countless times, what happened to the Heavenly Bed at this location is a mystery.I've never slept on such an uncomfortable bed, nor have I had sheets so starched and rough even in Cuba. The noise from construction outside is unbearable, by 7AM you're awake. Cleanliness was an issue - I used the shower in the gym on my first night, when I went to shower night 2 I found a clump of hair (not mine) on the shower wall - so it had survived 2 rounds of housekeeping. I just started declining housekeeping - I figured I might as well get the extra SPG points since they weren't doing much anyway, yet the housekeeper would open my door every morning. Apparently once they open your door its registered that they've cleaned, so I had a dirty room AND no extra points.

The front desk staff were also super rude. I booked the last 2 nights of my stay on SPG points and even though there was availability, they made me change rooms, to the identical room across the hall from the one I was in, even though I had an email from when I made my booking and verbal confirmation from the front desk manager that I could stay in the same room for the full stay. I'll never come back here and would never recommend it to any of my business partners. Germain 100%, even the Delta or Marriot are much better options. Avoid the Westin at all costs!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banker_barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear banker_barbie,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear about your experience as this certainly does not reflect our usual level of service and cleanliness. May I please request that you contact Andrea Fernando at Andrea.Fernando@westin.com regarding your stay.

Be Well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,168 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing