We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2008

The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are nice but the bathrooms are just ok. The pool isn't the best but is pretty decent, and the work out area is on the small side. Close to pretty much everything downtown. Short drive to 17th. Location is great, however, there aren't many options for breakfast in the area, and the restaurant in the hotel that offers breakfast is overpriced and not very good. There are many options in the area for lunch and dinner. I've stayed at this hotel more than once and will most likely stay there next time I'm in Calgary.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2008

The service at the Westin is great! Check-in was a breeze, and the room was nice and comfortable. The room service menu is the best I've ever seen and experienced. Also, there's a Starbucks conveniently located on the 1st floor. There are shops all around in short walking distances. I was very pleased with the Westin and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysUp4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Great place! Great Location! Within walking distance from just about anywhere!

I work for Royal Dutch Shell and the Westin Hotel was immediately across the street from Shell Center.

Pluses:
1. Great Staff
2. Clean and well designed room for the business traveler
3. Nice gym - above average from typical gyms
4. Centralized location - if you are doing business w/in downtown Calgary
5. Nice flat-screen TV
6. Very nice breakfast buffet - matches the one I had at Hong Kong.
7. Starbucks at the lobby
8. Attached to the +15 walkway system
9. Across the street from Shell

Minuses
1. My key lock kept deactivating - was fixed promptly
2. If staying more than 4-days for a business trip, I recommend a suite or a larger room. However room was good size.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Passport-in-hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Best Hotel in Calgary!
Good restaurants, nice rooms, nice pool.
Good location.
Definatly would go back, nice Albertan staff, friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newyorklover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Calgary on the weekend of Aug. 8-10. We got a good deal online (it seems to be very business-centered, so weekends are cheaper) and were very pleased with the place.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a business room, which included free Internet and free long distance within North America (others have mentioned getting breakfast vouchers with these rooms, but we didn’t). The bed was indeed super-comfy. The one thing that was rather disappointing was that the pool area was not in fact open 24 hours. The hotel information says it is, but it turns out that on weekends, they close the pool/fitness area at 11:00 p.m. They said it was for safety & security reasons, which is fine—I just wish the hotel would provide complete information. There wasn’t even a sign on the pool room door explaining why it was locked (it’s not that hard to grab a piece of paper and a Sharpie). Anyhow, when we did get in there the next night, it was very nice.

We parked behind the Old Spaghetti Factory for $3, which was a great deal. You get until 6 a.m. the next day, which worked out fine for us because we got in so late Friday night it was technically Saturday, and we had an early flight home on Sunday and were leaving the hotel at 6, anyway. So we got to park for our entire visit for three bucks. The one problem was when we got back from Banff and realized it was 6:00 on a Saturday night with the Taste of Calgary right down the street…so the lot was pretty much full. The spaces are extremely narrow, and there were at least four spaces that had to remain empty because no car could physically fit in them once people were parked on the other sides. So just know if you decide to leave during a busy time, there are no guarantees there will be a spot for you when you get back. (We did eventually get a space.)

The location is great—we were able to walk to get dinner and drinks, and there were any number of restaurants within walking distance.

The staff was wonderful and very friendly, from the front desk to the doorman outside. We never needed anything in particular, but I imagine they would have been happy to assist with any needs.

We did see the “ladies of the night” nearby, as another reviewer mentioned. They weren’t shouting at passers-by or anything—just standing there in not much clothing. Not any cause for concern (at least for my husband and I).

Overall, I would most definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Former_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

A quick business trip took me to Calgary and to the Westin. Certainly the top hotel in the city. Front desk and concierge staff were all most friendly. Both guest rooms and public areas well maintained. Rooms were of a very good size (including bathroom) and lovely big LCD TV. And not to forget the heavenly bed. So comfy!

I would certainly stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

very nice hotel. Rooms are large and very clean. Hotel is in downtown and you can walk to most businesses etc in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank derek1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.4 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £85 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing