We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel downtown Calgary, walking distance from everything you need.”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel downtown Calgary, walking distance from everything you need.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very confortable hotel, located not too far from the Eau claire market, central location and 6 or 7 mins away from the TD square and the Devonian gardens walking, Should you wish to make your way to the tramways, walking distance as well.

P.S: The starbucks inside the hotel is a plus in the morning for an early morning meeting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mixedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    563
    170
    53
    33
See reviews for
159
375
105
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Second stay here... very comfortable hotel and an ideal base for Downtown meetings, and there are many pubs and restaurants in the area...even on a Sunday afternoon there are places available.
A point of note, The Keg Restaurant, which is in the same building and next to the lifts, is not part of the hotel so you can't put the bill on your room!

Room Tip: Linked to the +15, which avoids the cold streets in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I travel to Calgary for business almost every other week for two to three days. The Westin is where I stay primarily due to the location to the office I go to. The service is always good (except in Essence where you can have breakfast - it is not great at all), the rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. I prefer to stay in what they call the tower and this is mainly because I have found you can get these rooms cooler and the fitness room is in this tower so you donn't have to go down to the lobby and then up in an elevator to go to the gym. There is a Starbucks in the lobby so you can grab your morning coffee or tea as you head out and it is also connected to the Plus 15 for those ugly winter days. The only downside for me is that there are not many restaurants near by - The Keg and Ki are next door but the really great restaurants are up on 8th which is the summer is okay but in the winter you need to cab to because of the cold. It is however only blocks from the river which is great when the weather is good - great for a run or a walk. I also love the fact that the car that picks me up from and drops me off at the airport is able to take my suitcase and then pick up from the hotel so I don't have to cart it round to meetings.

The only comment I have is that the hotel staff don't acknowledge that you are a returning guest - not needed but have had it at other hotels and it is a nice touch when the front desk staff say welcome back. A hint for business travellers, pay for the rate that includes the internet otherwise you have to pay extra per day.

Room Tip: My preference is the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westin, celebrating our 44th Wedding Anniversary. When we checked in, the very gracious lady asked if there was any special occasion - we stated what it was. Within an hour, we were very surprised to be greeted by a knock on our door - a smiling man, with a wonderful bottle of red wine, and four chocolate covered strawberries! The best part - a very nice card signed by the two staff people we met on our check-in. Never had anyone treat us this well before - very classy, and unexpected touch. Do we recommend this Hotel - absolutely!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms with a view and got one - don't think they have any rooms that aren't nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear GailA,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. Congratualtions on your 44the Wedding Anniversary.

I am delighted to hear that our associates took care of you and made your experience memorable.

We hope to see you again soon.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here for a night five days ago and this hotel didn't make a huge impression. It was okay, but I wasn't blown away by any particular feature.

It is well-located in the center of what I guess is downtown Calgary (not familiar at all with the area, and it was very deserted when I arrived on Sunday afternoon - even the Starbucks below the hotel was closed). We walked to what seemed to be a shopping area (again, most businesses closed) and then to the park (now this was teeming with people and dogs). There were enough dining options too. There is a breakfast chain, Cora's, about a block away where we had breakfast.

Deducting one green dot for the eco-mode ventilation that shuts off periodically. I hate it when hotels put this in - I get that they're trying to be environmentally-friendly, so why not limit the water supply? Cut off the electricity completely for a few hours daily? Because this compromises the comfort of guests, and likewise constant ventilation is very important for sleep comfort!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Nitpicker011,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear you were disappointment during your stay.

May I please request that you contact Andrea Fernando at andrea.fernando@westin.com.


Thank you and be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I actually liked the room at the Sheraton Cavalier better. This hotel can get quite expensive. Rediculously expensive, actually, for what it is. The room was fine. $189 fine. But some people I spoke to in the bar said they paid $399 or more for a standard room. That is a terrible price to pay for this hotel.

I gave it an average rating becasue, for a Westin, it is average. It's still a very good hotel, in a good location, but there is nothing exceptional about it. The lobby is boring, the rooms are fine.

The bar at the Keg is pretty good, though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location, close to public transport, shopping and easy access to major roads out of the downtown core. Staff were helpful. Room was very clean and quiet, even close to the elevators. Lots of dining options nearby. If you are in town to run the Calgary Scotiabank Marathon, as I was, you couldn't pick a better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glacier1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing