We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped here for two nights at the end of our holiday. Hotel is in a good location, 5min walk from downtown. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and friendly. Not much else I can say really, it's a typical hotel - the room was a good size and clean - the bathroom was also clean and large with a great shower. Would definitely stay again if passing through!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for business in July 2014- extremely helpful staff, immaculate room, comfy bed and surprisingly quiet given downtown location.

Good workout and pool facilities with free weights up to 50 lb (dumbells).

Liked that you could open two of the windows and that the a/c fan could be turned to constant on (for background white noise). Starbucks coffee in room, or you can get the 'real thing' in Starbucks attached to lobby.

Good restaurant selection nearby. Close to the river trail system. Free in room safe, free bottled water in room- nice touches. Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Camped out at the Westin for a couple of nights for business purposes. Wow! Snagged the Crown Suite which consisted of a huge entertainment space complete with private bar, table and chairs for dining, multiple sofas, big screen TV's and a fireplace. An adjoining suite consisted of a private bedroom and seating area. Both spaces were elegantly appointed with rich wood paneling, soft lighting and loads of large windows. Felt thoroughly pampered staying here. Great location being close to the river pathway system, oodles of restaurants and even Starbucks in the lobby. Highly recommend 1886 (only a couple of blocks north) for a cool atmosphere and a solid breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear CanadianMum,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

I am really happy to hear you were able to enjoy our Crowne Suite as well as our beautiful river pathway!Perfect spot for a run, a walk or a bicycle ride.

We hope to see you again.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the junior suite. The 1 room was split into an area for sitting and an area for sleeping. 2 double beds were included.

The room also had a pretty nice bathroom, which included a mirror with a tv in it that did not work. Next to the hotel is some major construction which impacts your access to the parking lot, especially at rush hour. I would recommend getting valet parking so you don't have to deal with the parking issues.

The hotel includes a pool and fitness facility that is on the 20th floor. This is a nice facility.

The hotel is clean and has helpful, and courtious staff.

Room Tip: Get valet parking to avoid traffic due to construction
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skfandbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I used to stay at the Westin exclusively a few years ago. Recently I have been traveling to Calgary again every few months for an extended period of time. I was disappointed in the service we received, we did not feel valued as guests. Our room was not cleaned because unbeknownst to us, we were signed up for the green program, meaning our room was not to be cleaned. We stated we did not want this program when we checked in and were signed up for it anyway. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean when we arrived, I was dissatisfied with their cleaning (when they actually came) throughout our stay. The location of this hotel is alright but there are several other hotels downtown with much better location (Hyatt Regency for example). I was extremely disappointed with The Westin and would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you are doing self park, ask for a room that is not in the business tower. If you do self park a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaraM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear TaraM88,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.

Please accept my apologies for being registered by mistake to our environmental program.

May I please request that you contact Andrea Fernando at andrea.fernando@westin.com so that we can further investigate the issues you experienced.

Thank you and be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nothing to complain about here. It is a typical Westin: reliable service, good SPG elite recognition, late check out, and clean. The Starbucks closes too early on the weekend, and there are no decent spots to eat nearby. Everything closes early in Downtown Calgary on Sundays. The little lounge off to the side from the reception is nice for lunch. It made me feel like I was in a more cosmopolitan place than just Calgary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suruien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend last June for a night,
Everything was great, just what I was expecting from Westin.
Got a comp upgrade only because I requested a higher floor, which was awesome,
and room was clean, btw I love those Westin Heavenly bath products!
Only downside was the pool, not that it wasn't good enough but it was located in another building we had to come down and go up again.
But overall very nice, staff were friendly, will come back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DerrickSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £120 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing