We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel earlier this year on business and very much enjoyed it. When I arrived, I had been travelling for most of the day due to cancelled and delayed flights It was very nice to relax after a rather stressful day of disappointments and delays. The staff here really take your comfort seriously.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    545
    165
    53
    33
See reviews for
145
345
102
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location and what can I say it is a Westin so certainly maintain their standards. Nice size room and amenities. Great location to visit river , shopping and if you want to book an excursion Krista at concierge desk was absolutely wonderful. A big plus for this hotel soon will be Nordstrom store that will open inSept . Room included free wifi and phone calls a definite plus in these days of sky high prices. Loved my stay. Also, there is a convenience store a block past Starbucks as well as a liquor store again great location

Be sure and go to the park if you have kids a nice little swimming pool for the young kiddies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeWittHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped here for two nights at the end of our holiday. Hotel is in a good location, 5min walk from downtown. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and friendly. Not much else I can say really, it's a typical hotel - the room was a good size and clean - the bathroom was also clean and large with a great shower. Would definitely stay again if passing through!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business in July 2014- extremely helpful staff, immaculate room, comfy bed and surprisingly quiet given downtown location.

Good workout and pool facilities with free weights up to 50 lb (dumbells).

Liked that you could open two of the windows and that the a/c fan could be turned to constant on (for background white noise). Starbucks coffee in room, or you can get the 'real thing' in Starbucks attached to lobby.

Good restaurant selection nearby. Close to the river trail system. Free in room safe, free bottled water in room- nice touches. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
323 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,227 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Camped out at the Westin for a couple of nights for business purposes. Wow! Snagged the Crown Suite which consisted of a huge entertainment space complete with private bar, table and chairs for dining, multiple sofas, big screen TV's and a fireplace. An adjoining suite consisted of a private bedroom and seating area. Both spaces were elegantly appointed with rich wood paneling, soft lighting and loads of large windows. Felt thoroughly pampered staying here. Great location being close to the river pathway system, oodles of restaurants and even Starbucks in the lobby. Highly recommend 1886 (only a couple of blocks north) for a cool atmosphere and a solid breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear CanadianMum,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

I am really happy to hear you were able to enjoy our Crowne Suite as well as our beautiful river pathway!Perfect spot for a run, a walk or a bicycle ride.

We hope to see you again.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the junior suite. The 1 room was split into an area for sitting and an area for sleeping. 2 double beds were included.

The room also had a pretty nice bathroom, which included a mirror with a tv in it that did not work. Next to the hotel is some major construction which impacts your access to the parking lot, especially at rush hour. I would recommend getting valet parking so you don't have to deal with the parking issues.

The hotel includes a pool and fitness facility that is on the 20th floor. This is a nice facility.

The hotel is clean and has helpful, and courtious staff.

Room Tip: Get valet parking to avoid traffic due to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skfandbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I used to stay at the Westin exclusively a few years ago. Recently I have been traveling to Calgary again every few months for an extended period of time. I was disappointed in the service we received, we did not feel valued as guests. Our room was not cleaned because unbeknownst to us, we were signed up for the green program, meaning our room was not to be cleaned. We stated we did not want this program when we checked in and were signed up for it anyway. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean when we arrived, I was dissatisfied with their cleaning (when they actually came) throughout our stay. The location of this hotel is alright but there are several other hotels downtown with much better location (Hyatt Regency for example). I was extremely disappointed with The Westin and would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you are doing self park, ask for a room that is not in the business tower. If you do self park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear TaraM88,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.

Please accept my apologies for being registered by mistake to our environmental program.

May I please request that you contact Andrea Fernando at andrea.fernando@westin.com so that we can further investigate the issues you experienced.

Thank you and be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing