We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Got a Deal, But I Would Have Paid More”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Got a Deal, But I Would Have Paid More”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed there while going to the 2008 Calgary Comic-Con. I have yet to be disappointed by a Westin. The Rooms were simple, but the bedding and mattresses were great as always. There was a bit of construction going on, but nothing major and nothing disturbing. The staff were wonderful, and my husband and I both enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    549
    168
    53
    33
See reviews for
147
353
102
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Standard, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed at The Westin as part of my company's Christmas Party and it was a nice stay. The staff were top notch - especially the service at our banquet. The bed was super comfortable; room was clean. The only thing we were not impressed with is the fact that the coffee makers do not have proper mugs - only paper ones. Paper cups make any kind of coffee taste like cardboard. I believe that using china cups does not cause any more impact to the environment than disposable paper cups. The paper cups took away from what I thought a hotel of The Westin's reputation would be like.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My partner and I stayed in the Westin Calgary on the 11th and 12th of October 2009 and had an excellent experience. Immediately upon arriving we were greeted by a porter, doorman and finally reception in a very positive and warm manner. Check-in was very easy. This proved to be the limit of our experience of the service at the Westin simply because we did not want for anything else during our stay.

The hotel decor throughout is modern and elegant. This was true of the rooms which were nicely appointed. Our room was a double queen and as such was slightly short on space for navigating through the room. This is the worst thing I can say about the room as the rest met our expectations and more.

As we learnt, the hotel is well situated. A number of restaurants are within easy walking distance. The hotel building itself is joined to the network of elevated and weatherproof walkways which spans the retail the experience of the CBD (it took us a while to discover this). The hotel is a short walk from Prince's Island. Between the island and the hotel are a range of pubs, restaurants and cafes. The observation tower is similarly within easy walking distance.

Wi-Fi and internet was available but at additional cost. This did not prove to be an issue since the attached Starbucks has complimentary internet for paying customers. We had an excellent dining experience in the attached restaurant, a Keg steakhouse.

Overall we found little to fault the hotel on and would definitely stay here again for a Calgary CBD stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

It was my first time visiting Calgary and i was staying at the Westin Calgary Hotel. I was surprised to see how close the hotel was to every location in downtown. It was a matter of minutes walking to anywhere i needed, restaurant, company, stephen ave and more.
There's a special scent that welcomes you through the hotel "white tea scent". The staff were very helpful, the food was incredible, the rooms were very spacious and cozy. mirrors in the bathroom while taking a shower and thats incredible!
I did visit other hotels during my stay to distinguish the difference and i found that other hotels are more expensive, less caring, not welcoming etc...
It was my first time and definitely not the last.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babeee_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Recently stayed at the Westin and were pleasantly surprised that many of the rooms have been renovated, Floors 6-10 are not complete. Being reno'd the rooms are new and clean and we really liked the new shower stall (no bathtub). We also like that Starbucks and The Keg are attached to the hotel and parking (for a fee) is really handy below the hotel.
We'll be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I stayed here for a week of business. What a wonderful hotel. I enjoyed every minute of it. Everyone I talked with was very friendly and helpful! I would def stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I was spending the weekend at this hotel and I remember some good customer service that I had. I was trying to print out a boarding pass in their business center and for some reason the airlines website was not compatible with the browser they use. One of the employees noticed I was having a problem printing off a boarding pass and let me use the staff computer to get it done.

The indoor pool was a little cold for my liking but the hot tub made up for it. I wish the Gift Shop was open more hours because their is not many places in the area to get a late night snack or drink. The room in general was average..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastcyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing