We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lipstick renos and young staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“lipstick renos and young staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

I usually stay here while on business in Calgary but not anymore. As per usual, I booked a business room package that includes internet, breakfast, calls etc and a room in the business tower which I appreciate for its quiet clientele. The rooms are a little tired but recently renovated to be decent enough. This time, upon checking in, I found myself dealing with a young woman who welcomed me and proudly told me that I have been upgraded to a business room! After pointing out that I have already booked a business room at full price (the most expensive they offer) she then told me that the room would not be ready for 45 minutes. Fair enough - I was early - but she did not need to add (in a condescending way) that check in was actually for 4pm. One would think that a customer whoe is a gold spg member and one who would book a full price room would already know this but she had to say it anyway. I came back in 45 minutes only to be told very coldly that it would be another 45 minutes.
Being jet lagged, late for a meeting and feeling that I was being subjected to rude service, I asked for the number to the Sheraton Eau Claire. I phoned and asked if there was a club room available. There was, so I booked, canceled my Westin reservation, collected my things and walked over where I was welcomed with a smile and treated like a professional. I will never look back. The Westin lost over $1000 of my business for a two night stay due to the rude and unwelcoming behaviour of their staff. What a pity.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelguruoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_calgary, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
On behalf of The Westin Calgary please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We value your feedback and will utilize your comments for further training to ensure consistency with our service delivery. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in order to regain your confidence as a loyal SPG traveler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    536
    160
    52
    33
See reviews for
143
340
99
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed here for a night while treaveling on business. The hotel was clean and nice. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Self park is $25 a night in the garage below. Internet in the rooms was not free and I did not sign in. I was not able to adjust the fan speed in the room so it was on full all night and I was not able to turn the temperature down low either as the AC was not yet on for the season (but the window opened so I got some fresh air). I ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was good and I ate dinner at the restaurant and it also was good. There were quite a few people at the bar in the evening. There is a full Starbucks in the hotel too. The hotel is right downtown so you can walk around there. Would recommend but might also check for less expensive alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsalotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton AB Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed at the Westin for 2 nights and wasn't overly impressed. The front desk girl was alright but not all that welcoming. She might have been having a bad day. The room itself was nicely decorated and renovated. It had the usual 4 star hotel feel which was nice. I was quite surprised how small our room was. It was a room built for 1 person and would have been alright if it were just me staying there. One facecloth in the very tiny bathroom, only had a stand up shower which was fine for us, 1 chair and as I stated very much set up for one person. Kind of disappointing considering the room was booked for 2 people. We've stayed at many upscale hotels and a sign of a great Hotel is how the attention to detail is. I just didn't feel like there was much. The wine glasses and other two glasses were full of dust which would lead me to believe that this room hadn't been used in awhile. The towels and comforter were a bit dirty as well. We were in room 1001, do not stay in this room as there is a service door that constantly gets slammed, and rattles the bed. I'm usually not a complainer but I found this hotel to be just okay overall. The pool was really nice, used the fitness center and it was good, hot tub was a bit small for such a big hotel and was packed one night. I have stayed at the Delta down the street and found it to be much better. I recently stayed at a Hampton Inn and the service did not compare. We didn't want to leave the Hampton and could not believe how great and friendly the service was. I'm not sure if a lot of the rooms are small but if it's two of you staying I would look into it for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oilers8389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

I would highly recommend for business trips. Right downtown Calgary.
Food is just ok; but breakfast is great.
Gym area could be improved.
Staff were amazingly kind and helpful; they almost acommodated every request I made.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewVp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Good business hotel in downtown Calgary

Food is somewhat mediocre and overpriced but location is convenient to downtown. Main restauarants are chains operating within hotel - starbucks, the keg (chain steakhouse)

Hotel is quiet and has reasonable decor for the price

Prices are ok. I would stay here again for business

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a weekend trip. The bed was soo comfy. The room was clean and well decorated. We had room service for breakfast and it was very good.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainsterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and got a great rate from a friend

but everytime I dropped by the desk to ask a question, the lady I ran into ignored what i had to say! or said someone could help me!I wish I got her NAME. I have worked in customer service before and I honestly think she even got upset I was talking to her! not a good business practice!
I tried sending my husband and he said the same thing! i hope somone reads this cause, wow!

plus the rooms are small!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.4 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Starwood, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing