We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Service/Solid Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

There were no unpleasent surprises at all for our stay. It started with the check-in desk where the staff were friendly, efficient and accomodating. The quality service extended into the lounge and even the cleaning staff. Everyone connected with the hotel were very professional, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable.

Rooms were comfortable and quiet. I know we had some neighbours (friends) down the hall that were whooping it up but we couldn't hear them at all!

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMtn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and will be returning. We love hearing about our friendly staff and professional service. I will share your comments and they will be delighted to learn they served you well on that occasion. I am pleased that you found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet! We look forward to seeing you again and extending our hospitality to you once more.

Sincerely
James Tingley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel was the best we've stayed at so far during our trip (this was #4 of 6), and I honestly don't see why so many people have given less than great reviews about the rooms. This whole motel is great. Very spacious. Out of all the hotels we (my brother & I) have stayed at, this is the most "soundproof". Most of the others you can hear talking/tv/etc on the other side, but this one, you very rarely heard anything. The paper outside your room everyday was a nice touch, and having a Starbucks in the lobby was very convenient! It was a short walk to downtown & the C-Train. If I'm in Calgary again (which I hope I am) I'd be more than happy to stay here, especially for the rate I got it at. $89/a night for two queen beds, with a river view.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bek91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review on our hotel. I was delighted to learn that your stay at the Delta Bow Valley made you " more than happy" and I will be very pleased to pass along your comments to our team members. Hopefully future travels will bring you to Calgary and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion. In the meantime, thank you again for taking the time to write your comments.

Sincerely
James Tingley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked this hotel off of hotwire. The lobby area was quite nice and the lounge was convenient for a late night snack. However, the lounge service was pretty lousy. We waited probably 30 min hoping the waitress would come over to refill our drinks. When she finally came around and brought us our bill we ended up waiting probably another 15 min for her to come get our credit card with no luck, so in the end we left our money minus a tip and went back up to our room. The food, however, was decent and we received a massive sized nachos which was probably quite a good deal for the price.

The pool area was nicer than most. It actually had windows unlike many other hotel pools we've seen that are in a basement dungeon. Unfortuantely the hot tub was out of commission which was disappointing.

The room itself was pretty standard. Not a ton of space but was clean and modern. My biggest complaint was that the bed was about two inches from the wall on the one side so I could barely get in and out. There was a handy little mini fridge though that we made good use of. The beds were comfortable. Only complaint is the room we booked from hotwire did not include wireless internet. You could pay for access or use it for free in the lobby area though.

The location is not bad but one could probably argue it is on the less desirable side of downtown. However, we walked over in about two minutes to chinatown for a nice dinner at the silver dragon, so from that point of view it was convenient.

We paid well under $100 a night for the room booking through hotwire which was a steal. I would probably say the hotel would be worth $120 a night though if you were going to pay. It is nice enough but there are definitely higher end hotels in downtown, but if you are looking for a decent, slightly upscale place to stay and don't want to pay the big bucks at the Fairmont, Sheraton or Westin, I'd definitely recommend the Delta. Actually, I'd put the room almost on par with the one we stayed at in the Westin about a year ago, but give the Westin the upper hand for location and probably hotel services as it has a better restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't pay to park on the weekends. (Actually don't pay for parking at most hotels in downtow...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a extensive review. Wonderful tips for other guests. We were glad to hear that you would recommend the Delta Bow Valley. Thank you for your feedback on our hotel and amenities. We do apologize for the uncharacteristic service encountered in our lounge. I appreciate the comments as it allows us to follow up with all concerned. We look forward to seeing you again and extending our hospitality to you once more.

Sincerely
James Tingley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Delta and it was an excellent experience. The room was great, very modern and comfortable. It was spotless and the layout was great. Used the pool facilities and enjoyed them a lot. Room service was great and the staff in the Hotel were top notch. Location was perfect for Downtown needs. I highly recommend this Hotel and when I'm in Calgary again I will stay here for sure. Thank you Delta!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdmontontoVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to learn of your truly satisfying experience and interaction with our team members. I shall be certain to share your comments with the team who will be pleased to learn that they served you so well on that occasion. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back as travels bring you to Calgary.

Sincerely
James Tingley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I satyed in Delta for two nights. The lobby was fancy. The parking was underground. It was a good location in downtown. Close to everything so you can walk to all the stores. My wife visited the name brand stores in downtown while i walked to the office districts.

Nice hotel. Well kept, nice decor.The price was right.

Room Tip: book early to get a better price
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAKBatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay at Delta Bow Valley. We look forward to seeing you again and extend our hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Staff if ver friendly, really really accommodating. Food was good at the bar and at breakfast. However, rooms are just average, bathrooms need a good tile and tub scrubbing. I would recommend this for business or families due to value and staff, but not for romance....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omuletu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAKBatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Delta Bow Valley. We love hearing about our friendly and accommodating staff. Thank you also for your feedback on your guest bathroom. We look forward to seeing you again and extending our hospitality to you once more.

Sincerely,
James Tingley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at the Delta for two nights for business. I have no complaints - room was clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable. Lounge was relazing, with live piano music. And the buffet breakfast had excellent omlettes. And, the best part was the really friendly, helpful, smiling staff.

Room Tip: Was in the "hypo-allergenic" room, so their was an air purifier in it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scarlett_atom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAKBatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Delta Bow Valley. We will pass along your wonderful comments about our services and smiling staff. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
James Tingley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £83 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing