We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for a short stop”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night after our flight from London, and before heading to the Rockies. We booked online with a deal which included parking. The hotel was reasonably easy to find driving from the airport, and there was ample parking. The staff were pleasant. The hotel is good for a short stop, and is clean and comfortable. It is a hotel chain however and so a little characterless, but fine for a business stay or for a short trip. The hotel is in a good location for downtown restaurants, bars and the Calgary Tower (which could easily be seen from our room). It also has a Starbucks on site, making a cheap breakfast easy in the morning.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank henmanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for your review. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location and our staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip through Alberta.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    581
    143
    46
    21
See reviews for
200
432
67
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Hadn't held out much hope for this hotel after reading some reviews here months back but was very pleasantly surprised!
On arrival a sign told us that parking overnight was $22.but it was nice to find out from the receptionist Sarah (I think!) that it was in fact $14. Dealt with Sarah on check in who was very helpful and couldn't do enough for us, as was the same for any staff we encountered.
Lobby area was lovely- modern and clean. Free lemonade and iced tea for guests. Free wifi in bedrooms also.
Very happy with bedrooms too, modern, fresh looking with comfy beds- view of bow river from our room. Nice bathroom too.
Hotel in good location, 5 mins walk from shopping and eating areas and some bars.
A great experience and I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifinelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are so glad that you tried our hotel and enjoyed it. Thank you for the wonderful comments, we will be sure to celebrate Sarah as she provided you with great service. We look forward to your next stay so we can welcome you with the same hospitality.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week for work between September 23rd and 29th. I stayed on the 20th floor. The room rate came with free wifi and breakfast; so, that made it a bit better; but $255/night is a bit steep. The hotel is located within walking distance to most things in downtown: the tower, Stephens mall etc. The rooms are large enough; and, the bed is pretty comfortable. The hotel lounge has limited choices; but, the food is good (and fairly reasonable). Breakfast is good. They have a great selection; and, you can order a made to order omlette, as well. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2001 (wobbly toilet seat and weird shower head; but, a good room overall...). It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We love hat you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back with the same hospitality.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The location was wonderful - a leisurely walk to Stephen Ave. Staff were attentive and always pleasant. The bed was a dream to sleep on as were the four king pillows . . . ahhhh. A cool beverage was always waiting in the lobby in the afternoon as were apples on the front desk each morning. A lovely terry robe and slippers capped of a very relaxing stay. Oh, I must mention the tea keetle that was also offered without me even having to ask. There is nothing worse than tea made with the water from a coffee maker! Thank you Bow Valley for another consistently wonderful Delta stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for the 5 star review. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and added touches. Next time you are in Calgary we hope to welcome you back with the same hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville,KY
Level Contributor
291 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Seems all Hotels in this area are about $200 a night. Have to pay $20 to park also. Not cheap, but it is a good Hotel and can walk to main areas in Calgary downtown area. We had 1 night and a morning to walk around and see some things before catching our flight from our Rockies trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faaradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed our location. We appreciate your feedback on the cost of hotels in Calgary. During your next visit to Canada we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Centrally located and a nice spot, but nothing inspiring. It's not that this is a bad hotel, it's just that it like all of the downtown Calgary hotels: a little bland and forgettable. The biggest plus is the Starbucks in the lobby though!

Room Tip: Ask for a "Pure Room". Newly decorated and nicely furnished.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoJoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and lobby Starbucks. We look forward to welcoming again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak U.K.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a town centre (almost) hotel with easy access to many attractions. It is on the edge of China Town. Try the SILVER DRAGON RESTAURANT but beware of the portion size. We shared and still had pelnty to eat. The River Walk was good and the evening walk around the island near the hotel was very pleasant. Stephen Street held many gift shops and a genuine cowboy shop along with eating places.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments have great tips for other travelers, thank you for sharing. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#19 of 109 in Calgary
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing