We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great location good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

great hotel right downtown. close to transit. affordable parking. Clean rooms friendly staff and quiet rooms. execellent value fast internet. reasonable prices in the lounge. starbucks is the same price as everywhere unlike some other stores in hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over the years, but this is the first time I have reviewed it. This is a good clean hotel in downtown. It is situated close to China town and a 10 minute walk to the shopping areas. This visit I stayed for two nights on a promotion. Not much has changed, rooms are clean and spacious. They added a starbucks downstairs for morning breakfast but they got rid of the gift shop so if you want snacks you have to go outside to get them. The bed was comfortable and the staff helpful with directions and information. Overall the place I stay anytime I am in Calgary.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelvinFurd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Calgary.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I travel a lot and generally I don't mind paying for quality but like most Calgary hotels this one is also very overpriced for only very moderate quality.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. A window opened big plus for me. However the lighting is inadequate and the décor leaves the room feeling rather gloomy.
The Staff are very friendly but food really poor quality (and again very overpriced)) .... what is it with Calgary? I just spent two weeks in London UK and the prices were less all over than Calgary.

At the lounge I ordered a steak medium rare....it came well overdone and very tough. Server was great and saw immediately the problem and had it redone. This time at least it was medium (no rare in it still) but still tough. The second night I just ordered a Caesar salad with chicken (can't go wrong, right? wrong!). The salad was OK but the chicken must have been cooked a week ago. Dry, powdery inedible. Very limited wine list and $19.00 for a glass of mediocre wine a bit stiff.
Probably will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2010035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We appreciate your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our staff during your stay. We apologize that your food & beverage experience was not up to our standards. Your comments has been discussed with our Kitchen Team. We do hope that your try us again on your next visit to Calgary, so we can welcome you with hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

All the staff at Delta is super friendly and ultra nice, the hotel itself has definitely seen better days.
The brown colour sway all over and it's not what I consider a cheerful tone
Rooms are average, there's no mini bar, no tea kettle and no safe
When someone in adjacent rooms take a shower you will wake up by the roaring sound of the water running
You can easily reach the hotel with the 300 bus from the airport even if it will take you like an hour..or you an ask for the shuttle service at 15$ per person
From the hotel you can get to downtown or wherever you want to go with buses or train

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We were glad you enjoyed our service and options for easy access to the airport. We appreciate your feedback regarding the in-room amenities. Although we do not offer a mini-bar in our rooms we do have mini-fridges available in all rooms for your convenience, and kettles available upon request. Individual secure safes are available at our front desk should you require one.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to stay.rooms are modern and clean.staff is super friendly..I really liked Sarah from room service.shes fun and outgoing but still professional.location is great,almost everything you need is close by.i would stay there again anytime

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Sarah will be delighted to hear your comment and we will be sure to celebrate her. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at the Delta Bow Valley for four nights. The location is right downtown within easy walking distance of the Glen Bow museum and Stephen ave for shopping. The room was very comfortable with every thing we needed. However what really makes this hotel so memorable is the staff. Without exception they were cheerful, friendly and extremely helpful. Each request (for walking directions, wine glasses, the newspaper etc.) was treated as important and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. The restaurant staff was very attentive to our needs and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which were included with the room. Great job Delta Bow Valley! We will be back.

Room Tip: A lovely view overlooking the river - also nice to be asked at check-in which view we would prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is pretty good. We had a renovated room, which was lovely. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The only complaint about the room that I have is the fact that the bathroom had only been half renovated. It made the room seem dated. There really isn't much to say about the hotel, it is slightly nicer than average, earning at a "very good" rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing 4th ave. There is a fire station right behind the hotel, which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,618 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 110 in Calgary
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £72 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing