We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreary & Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Dreary & Dirty”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is old & has not been updated. The main lobby is dirty & front desk staff not as professional as other hotels. Room rates are high for the condition of the hotel. It is my understanding that some of the rooms have been updated, but certainly not the room I stayed in. Would not recommend the Delta chain of hotels due to this experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned we do have updated rooms, but all of our rooms have standards for cleanliness and condition, and your concerns are not the norm for our hotel or other Delta hotels. We do hope when travelling you give Delta another try.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    577
    141
    46
    21
See reviews for
197
429
66
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The service and location were excellent. Located kitty corner from an Asian mall and only a few blocks from Eau Clair Market. $14 for unlimited in and out parking is reasonable in Calgary. Pricing is high for meals, especially breakfast (did not eat there) but Cora's is only 3 blocks away. There is also a pool although we did not use it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quieteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I got a great deal on this hotel through Priceline. It was hundreds less than comparable US chains like Marriott and Hyatt, and just as nice. Plus, I got an upgrade to the concierge level, and that was an added benefit. Location is excellent, just two blocks from Stephens Ave, where as a tourist or visitor you will likely spend most of your time. Delta is a great place to stay if you are in town for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, great views on both sides - the river or the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Delta BV location is great for those on business working in the core.

They have really good service. Hotels are regularly sold out in the city and they will graciously put you on wait lists and do what they can to avoid moving you from room to room and fitting you in.
The restaurant staff do what they can to go above and beyond... coffee to go, warm up your milk, find water bottles etc.

The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had at a hotel - amazing made-to-order omelettes.

We regularly ate at the lounge for dinner. Service is pretty good there. Food is over priced but we didn't want to venture out to find anything else.

Overall I would consider this my 'go to' place when I have to travel to Calgary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went for a quick dinner at the restaurant. The server advised us that the butter chicken was the special so we ordered it because we assumed it would be cheaper and quick ...it turns out the butter chicken, rice and nun bread was 28 dollars !!! Even at the most expensive Indian restaurants its not that much. I spoke with the restaurant manager and he told me that they used the same chicken breast as the one on the chicken stuffed entrée Worst experience at a restaurant The food was blunt and over priced !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jUXOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the server did not clarify the price of the special and that in this instance you felt the food was over priced. We have passed your comment along to our restaurant team to learn from your experience.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

An ideally positioned hotel and great value. It took us a few days to work out why there was not many people walking the streets but hey what a great idea to connect a lot of the buildings with the sky walk.Very friendly front staff and was great to be greeted each time we went near them.

Room Tip: There seemed to be a lot of noise from the street below and on reflection it appears as though the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maatte47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
498 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

great hotel right downtown. close to transit. affordable parking. Clean rooms friendly staff and quiet rooms. execellent value fast internet. reasonable prices in the lounge. starbucks is the same price as everywhere unlike some other stores in hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing