We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for Xmas party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Standard, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“for Xmas party”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was the first year the company I work for booked our Christmas party at the Delta Bow Valley. Part of our Christmas party celebration is the offer to stay at the hotel. I booked an additional night as a treat for myself and my husband and on the Saturday morning he discovered the showerhead was broken and all that came through was cold water...however the hotel quickly moved our luggage to a different room whilst we were out for breakfast. The bedding was lovely; toiletries gentle and coffee supplied in the room was very tasty. The catering for our Christmas party was excellent and all dishes received good comments. I am already looking forward to next year's Christmas party at the Delta Bow Valley.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that your first company Christmas party at the Delta Bow Valley was enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back and again building traditions during the holiday season.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    608
    146
    49
    22
See reviews for
208
465
72
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

For a weekend in downtown Calgary, my wife and I stayed at the Delta Bow Valley and came away impressed.

Firstly, we managed to book at a discount rate and felt we got great value for our money. Certainly there are higher end properties in downtown Calgary, but for most guests the Delta will be more than what they need.

We were extremely happy with the front desk staff -- they were incredibly friendly and courteous and a credit to the hotel... this is the kind of service you expect when you visit a name-brand hotel of this calibre, but don't always get.

The room we stayed in had been renovated and looked very nice overall. It might have been a touch on the dark side, but with Calgary's days growing shorter and pretty miserable weather for our visit, that might have contributed to that impression. It had everything we needed and we were quite comfortable (as seems to usually be the case, the bathroom --while nice -- was the big giveaway that this was a new coat of gloss over an older room).

Knowing the Calgary market, we felt that parking pricing is fair for weekdays at the Delta, but I can't comment on the garage because we didn't partake... paying the same price on the weekend is a pretty dismal deal. We did a bit of research and parked instead at a nearby parkade (as well as a little bit on the street) for a fraction of the cost.

The hotel's location is not bad, just a quick walk to Chinatown and not particularly far from many downtown points of interest. However, on this front the hotel is hard pressed to live up to its competition, with several hotels located near the Calgary Tower and Stephen Avenue and several others located to the west, better situated between Eau Claire Market and Stephen Avenue. That closer proximity to attractions would have been nice to have... but it's hardly a dealbreaker. (And we enjoyed a nice dinner on our first night at the nearby Booker's Crab Shack, which we probably wouldn't have visited had we been staying a little more centrally).

All in all we were very happy with the Delta (and especially its staff) and would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsandwich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for business (so I did not rate it on value for money, as my company was invoiced.) From the start the hotel was professional, and service was outstanding - nothing was too much trouble. I forgot a personal item so I called down to ask if I could buy one from the front desk, and they bought one up for free within 5 minutes. The hotel lobby is very impressive and my room was great. They also had mugs with camomile tea on offer in the rooms, which is quite unusual - I usually just find cheap coffee at the hotels we stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor- small room very nice bed- great shower, we booked and got an online deal that included th Sunday buffet and it was fantastic- service for food was terrible girl was rude. Front dear was faaaantastic- my arm was in a sling and they were so helpful and friendly :-)

Room Tip: View from the top was great over looking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for sharing you experience. Glad to hear you enjoyed your "Girls Night Out". Our culinary team and front desk team will be delighted they provided good service and great food. We do, however, apologize that the service while ordering your food was not up to our normal standards. We look forward to your next stay so we can welcome you back with warm hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Parking in front of the hotel is limited and was very busy. So we expected long waiting time for the checkin, but checkin desk was empty despite crowdie lobby. Hotel offer multi entry underground parking for the very low price, what is important when you are in the downtown Calgary.
From noisy lobby we took elevator to the 24th floor and found very clean and nice room with a king bed and very nice view.
Definitely would recommend this property for business or when you want to experience downtown night life without driving back home. Only one issue with this location – you have to walk to Stephen ave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergAndTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is old & has not been updated. The main lobby is dirty & front desk staff not as professional as other hotels. Room rates are high for the condition of the hotel. It is my understanding that some of the rooms have been updated, but certainly not the room I stayed in. Would not recommend the Delta chain of hotels due to this experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned we do have updated rooms, but all of our rooms have standards for cleanliness and condition, and your concerns are not the norm for our hotel or other Delta hotels. We do hope when travelling you give Delta another try.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The service and location were excellent. Located kitty corner from an Asian mall and only a few blocks from Eau Clair Market. $14 for unlimited in and out parking is reasonable in Calgary. Pricing is high for meals, especially breakfast (did not eat there) but Cora's is only 3 blocks away. There is also a pool although we did not use it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quieteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,232 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,087 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing