We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was my third time staying at the Delta, and quite possibly the worst. They seemed to have some sort of school convention going on at the time, so it was very loud and perhaps that's why we were put on an underused floor...but even so the state of the room was pretty horrid. The moment we walked in I spotted a dead bug on the wall which my partner had to dispose of, saying "Looks like that was here a while!" as a joke to try to calm me down. Unfortunately I suffer from terrible phobias, and certainly hadn't been expecting dead things in a room where the windows don't even open to the outside.

The second sign that it clearly had not been cleaned in forever was the dust. Just caked around every edge of floor and around the bed, it was so gross. The sheets and towels all felt like they'd been left there for ages, sheets were coming apart in places even. Toilet and shower curtain were dated and stained. Way, way worse than the times we've stayed here in the past.

Now I'm not a confrontational person so I didn't complain to anyone, thinking it was just standard for Calgary hotels, but the next time we went we chose a much cheaper hotel and it blew the Delta out of the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review and post in conjunction with your most recent visit to our hotel. I was truly disappointed to learn of the difficulties you encountered on that occasion and I wish to apologize for this situation and the discomfort caused to you personally. It is very concerning given you had stayed with us in the past and re booked for this your third visit. Please rest assured that your comments are valuable and the the situation you describe is not in keeping with our high standards for cleanliness and hospitality. I have reviewed with all concerned and hope that on a future trip to Calgary you will consider our hotel. Indeed please contact me, bow.guestrelations@deltahotels.com, as I would be pleased to assist with reservations on that occasion and ensure your experience is in keeping with true Delta Bow Valley hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager

Yours truly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    564
    135
    44
    20
See reviews for
193
419
64
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

stay here a lot last year, this is a great property in the down town core, its close to everything, the staff is friendly couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The room was awesome, as was the pool area. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Delta Bow Valley with a girlfriend, for a girls weekend in Calgary. I picked this property due to its proximity to downtown, as well as the great deal on their website. We were not disappointed with the choice. The hotel is basically spotless; the staff are one of a kind; and the rooms are amazing. Having a Starbucks in the lobby definately makes mornings a little easier to handle too! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Calgary, and will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetinytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is 10 minutes walking to the restaurants and shopping in downtown. The hotel staff is great. The parking overnight and including next day was only around $14 with in and out privileges. You can choose to go directly to the parking garage and the entrance has the instructions describing what to do if you are checking in. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best part of the Delta Bow Valley is the staff! Fantastic people who live the 'how can we help' customer service attitude. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've seen. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a view of the river, very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Delta Bow Valley because I was attending a conference in Calgary.

The hotel staff were amazing! The valet was great. I left a suit in my vehicle, called valet to inform them and it was delivered to my room in minutes. Likewise, the room service team was outstanding. My order arrived on time with a friendly smile.

While the service was outstanding, the room left a lot to be desired for $390 per night.The bathroom was old with wallpaper peeling in places. The office chair in the room was ancient and uncomfortable.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was large. The heating system was quite loud and made it difficult to sleep.

If I have to return to Calgary for business again, I will look elsewhere for a better price.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margareer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service and the comfortable bed. Thank you for your feedback on your rooms bathroom and office chair. We continuously update and fix these small issues when they arise. During your next visit we hope you find all the details of your room satisfactory and, of course, a warm welcome from our staff.

Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
592 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is typical of what you come to expect when you spend a little more money than a three star hotel. Room is large enough and comfortable. You know that you will get attention if you have a problem. The location is a little at the edge of the heart of the city, but not at all a problem if you have a vehicle. Typically in Calgary the weekend rates are better than the week day rates since it is a business based town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMahdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing