We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay, similar experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second stay, similar experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you want a no frills hotel stay here, simple as that.

This was our second time staying here and again it suited our needs and we found it adequate. However if you want something plush and upmarket then look elsewhere.

The front desk and domestic staff are pleasant, professional and helpful, the exercise room is ok but could do with some updated equipment and weights, the pool is fine and a nice temperature and if you time it right you can have it to yourself but the hot tub was broken, had it ever been fixed since our previous visit three years prior!?

The bed was comfortable and we were on the 18th floor which meant it was quiet-ish but you could still here the c-train, however it wasn't really an issue. The rooms are tired though, they could do with a lick of paint (our bathroom was especially shoddy) and some new furniture - oh and a safety deposit box would be a nice touch.

We were disappointed with the slow, confused service we received in Moxie's however, having visited three in Canada this was the worst, it's not cheap either so you'd expect better for the price you pay.

I noticed this time the sketchy area that the hotel is in, I know you will get beggars, drunks etc in any downtown location but I felt vulnerable at times and I am quite comfortable in big cities in general. One time there were vagrants perched on the hotel steps, another time drunks outside Moxies (not customers) and teenage beggars hassling for "train fare" on the c-train stop right outside the door. This isn't the hotels fault at all, I realise, however it's something to consider if you are a lone female traveller. Luckily I had my 6'6" husband with me :)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, away from lift shafts. We had a south facing on the east side of the hotel whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannabe_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    235
    284
    115
    77
See reviews for
105
266
56
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here just for 1 night after travelling through Rockies. Room was ok, had everything we needed. There was some street noise but we both slept pretty well. Used the pool which was nice, sadly hot tub was out of order. There is a nice bar and a restaurant which served a great steak and for a good price. Took us about 10 - 15 mins to walk to the central area where all the shops seemed to be.
Staff were lovely and helpful and gave us a free late check out which was very handy for us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here two nights at the end of a three week holiday around Canada. The room itself was pretty spacious (small bathroom though), well presented and comfortable but unfortunately the street noise was a big problem. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the main street and we could hear the trams and traffic well into the night and early mornings - even my husband complained and he isn't usually othered by such things. In addition there was quite a bit of noise from other rooms - we could even hear the curtains being opened next door! - and housekeeping start their rounds at about 7.30am so you need to put the 'Do not disturb' sign out if you don't want an early wake up.

Oh and something I ate in the restaurant made me sick! Though until that point I had thought the food was pretty good.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up may have less street noise perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Staff were very welcoming, hotel is a bit tired and would benifit from a refit. The rooms were fine ( only staying one night) did not as others have reported find it dirty our room was clean and tidy. There was one issue which you need to checkout as soon as you are given your room allocation. Open the window and see where the airconditioning vents are if they are close I suggest you ask for a move as they whirr on all night which did affect our sleep very little street noise just the AirCon. Apart from that not a bad hotel at all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front may well be better or go for a high floored room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Arrived at the Sandman relieved after an 18hr delay from Heathrow. Check in staff very friendly. Due to delay only stayed one night, we were given room 1808 on the 18th floor (high room as requested), room was spacious and clean, the bed was on the soft side for me personally, good shower and toiletries. Parking was more than we expected @ $18 + tax. Macs convenience store across from the hotel. Moxies Restaurant attached where we had a good breakfast at reasonable cost. Took our evening meal at one of the 'Keg' restaurants who do wonderful steaks. The hotel is positioned downtown and within easy reach of local attractions i.e. The Calgary Tower.

Room Tip: Being in the city centre could possibly be noisey so go for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carollovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
226 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Wow is this hotel in need of some serious help. I stayed for one night and literally only slept at the hotel and here were my observations:
-Carpet was stained and dirty
-Wallpaper peeling all over the room
-Cable TV not working
-Shampoo had been used (half empty)
-Mold in bathroom along edges of tub
-Hotel tried to charge me more than triple what parking garage ATM charged to park my car
-Carpet was lumpy in places

I urge you to avoid this hotel at all costs...there was NOTHING positive about my experience other than the free in-room wifi....will NOT be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank myklrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSandman26, Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We sincerely appreciate the feedback from our loyal guests. Our efforts in upgrading our product of 300 rooms is diligent & constant. Had the concerns been brought to our attention immediatley, we would would have undoubtedly practised our proven ability to address any & all concerns by providing an alternate solution in one of our many upgraded guestrooms. Regarding our parking fees, rest assured we pay our due diligence by remaining within a competative market. It is very rare where our parking fees are questioned. We do empathize with your concerns however.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel was mostly 'OK' and nothing more. The rooms are fine but a little small and a little dated but perfectly clean. The staff that I came across were all friendly enough.

The restaurant 'Moxies' was pretty good for dinner: the food were good and the staff were all attentive and pleasant.

The breakfast service was a different matter: the restaurant wasn't properly set up; the service was incredibly slow - so much so that after 30 minutes I left (without having even been offered the chance to place an order). I guess lower end hotels tend to have a buffet breakfast service for a reason - this place could learn something from that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing