We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Booked through travel agent for our first few nights of our honeymoon - the hotel was lovely - great staff, lovely food, but our room wasn't as good as expected. It was small and dark and smelt dusty each time we returned. The staff knew it was for our honeymoon, so just disappointed by the lack of a nice room. Location was good though, so easy to walk into Calgary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We do sincerely appreciate your feedback. We make every effort is maintaining a comfortable and safe standard in our guestrooms, which include a wide varierty of renovated & upgraded room type options. Based on our availability, we are always happy to extend to our valued guests with an upgraded guestroom, especially for those special occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

I've stayed in this hotel several times on one night business trips and found it to have everything I needed. Extremely clean comfortable beds, good wifi internet, Tim Hortons across the street, and an excellent corporate rate.

The only low point in my stays would be the wait for room service. The food was great, although overpriced as room service often is, but I had to wait over an hour for the food to arrive each time. The staff was apologetic and once offered a free desert for the wait, but for the price I wished they were more punctual. #FirstWorldProblems

I would recommend this hotel, especially for business travelers, but eat out at a restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Hotel enjoys excellent downtown location with good links to public transport system
we stayed durring the opening days of the stampede so hotel was very busy but check didnt take long and staff at front desk were polite and helpfull even though they were busy .
Hotel does look a bit dated but all clean and tidy our room on 18th floor was a bit small compaired to others we have used but was in good order nice big king, bed tv, fridge etc with nice bathroom again all clean and tidy, the lifts were a bit Temperamental durring our stay but no real proplems, considering the number of guests this hotel must get i think it is in pretty good shape we had a pleasent stay

Edd

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel has seen better times. During my two night stay, the elevators worked sporadically, one of the four would never go to my floor. Rooms are dated, peeling wall paper, stained carpets, have small bathrooms, so small in fact, I had to sit on the toilet to close the door. Then there is the noise from the Light Rail Transit system and loud speakers from the LRT station across the street blare late into the night and early in the morning. So if you are a light sleeper, beware you may be in for some long nights. The restaurant in the hotel is mediocre at best. Last but not least, the hotel parking can be costly, especially when they tow your car away and you are forced to pay $165 to get it out of the Calgary impound. The hotel has a convoluted parking procedure, which I’m sure favors the Calgary Tow Truck Drivers. There is much better value for your dollar and much better guest treatment at other hotels in Calgary. Certainly the Sandman has seen the last of me as I will stay elsewhere on my next trip to Cow Town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. Its a decent budget hotel in the downtown area. Location is excellent. +15 Skywalk is connected to it. Rooms are small in size. It has a beautiful restaurant where you may find very good quality food. Very neat and clean. Overall a good experience in my budget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrasunMondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during the Calgary Stampede, location is great, main CT trams stop right outside the door, and are free from that stop to City Hall stop. Hotel is rather dated, could do with a refurb, but rooms & public areas are clean and without the musty smell of some older hotels. Rooms are ok, but airconditioners whilst very adequate are of the old type and quite noisy. Bed was clean and comfortable, good sleep with practically no noise from the street. Staff extremely helpful & accomodating, even when under pressure - airline crews use the hotel so can get quite busy. Breakfast is not usually included in the rate, but very good eating places within 5 minute walk (Mcdonalds & Subway just across the street), but try Nellie's for excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

stayed here in June 2012. The room was comfortable and suited our needs. The pool was lovely and warm though the hot tub was out of order. The restaurant was very pleasant with a choice of bars. The hotel is located about 10 minute walk from the pedestrian area of downtown Calgary, which is a must see area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#83 of 110 in Calgary
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing