We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Denver, CO
1 review
“Don't Stay Here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

Despite reading all the reviews on this site, I decided to stay at this hotel. Big mistake! Despite being put in a smoking room when I specifically reserved a non-smoking room, the hotel has no redeeming qualities. It's location is horrible, on the fringe of downtown, next to a very seedy part of Calgary. The hotel is maybe the equivalent of a Motel 6 on the wrong side of town. Sorely in need of updating... I was however pleased by the staff in this hotel, they were understanding and pleasant, but were unable to do anything to help make my stay enjoyable. Good thing I'm booked at the Hyatt tomorrow night!!!

  • Liked — Checking out.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    235
    278
    114
    77
See reviews for
104
262
56
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed there for one night in May 2008. We paid £60 for a double room. The hotel reception looked nice but the rooms were very motel-like and in need of renovation.

Our hire car didn't fit in their underground parking, but luckily the hotel has two outdoor spaces. There was glass all over the ground and so i'm not sure how safe the outdoor parking area is at night.

The hotel is massive and sprawls over around 20 floors. We struggled to find a drinks machine that worked and lost our money twice. We managed to reclaim this from reception. I told them to put an out of order sign on the machine but they obviously thought it was easier to keep reimursing guests! I would also agree with the other reviews that the card system is a bit of a pain.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a good location. It is not far from all the attractions and has a post office, shop, sub way, McDonalds nearby. Very handy for the C-train. If you can get a good deal then this place is fine to rest for a night.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_holidayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

I stayed in the Sandman hotel in downtown Calgary for 3 nights, and had all sorts of problems. The city of Calgary has an attendant in the hotel parking lot, so I paid over 50 dollars for one nights parking pass from the attendant at the door only to find out the hotel sells them for much cheaper (they waived my other nights parking fees due to the high cost). The space to un-load your car is about 15 feet in length, so I was forced to park and lug my luggage up from the below ground parking lot. Parking was very limited (6 foot clearance for 2 levels and 5'6 clearance beyond, so SUV's beware). From poor parking, sub-par customer service and hidden fees; the only thing this hotel seemed to have going for it was location.
The hotel room was below par; poor lighting in the room and bathroom, toilet had to be re-flushed constantly to stop the annoying "running water" sound, and upon checkout the hotel actually charges $1.00 for outgoing local calls without informing guests upon check -in. When this policy was questioned it, the advise was "I don't know why its set up like this...we just recommend coming down to use the payphones in the lobby". Thanks for the advise after check-out...

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — Customer service and hidden fees.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shoe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

A one night stay at the start of our trip from Calgary to Vancouver.

Other hotels visited on the journey were
· Mount Royal Banff
· Amethyst Jasper
· The Thompson Kamloops
· Quality Vancouver

The Sandman Down Town is located about 15 minutes from the airport & right around the corner from the tram stop. The area is not the best but I would guess that you are not going to stay too long so that should not matter.

The hotel is a ‘tower’ with some car parking below. As other reviewers have commented the security access cards ( to both lifts and room) are a challenge even to seasoned travellers. That said security is welcome in this neighbourhood.

Rooms were fine – comfy bed, a swiffle office chair was a rather odd inclusion, bathroom was clean & for one night after a long flight we were content with our air-conditioned room for the night . If you get the option of room location - as high up as possible.

If you want a quick walk to freshen up then go out the hotel turn right & walk straight for a few blocks ( 5 minutes or so) & you reach the Bow River & nice traffic free area awaits.

Over the road from the hotel to the left there is a Mace Store & a McDonalds. Lots of people with rucksacks standing around but doubt you will have any problems.

Breakfast is a McDonalds McMuffin – quick & easy & far cheaper than the hotel.

Sorry for the brevity but one night after long flight this is as detailed a review I can fairly give.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricklewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

Stayed with a party of 10 at the beginning of April 2008. We had no issues, we found the staff very helpful, the rates were good and the lesiure and bar facilities were better than average. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Downtown Calgary - Look no further.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 531_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

This hotel some bad reviews, but I thought it was fine. However, given it's reputation as a "good" hotel, if I was a businesswoman I would have been sorely disappointed at the slightly worn/run down nature of the rooms. It was not up to the standard of several chains like the Howard Johnson.

It was in a good location for shopping on Stephen Ave and catching the shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2008

The check in was great, so friendly and helpful. Room was really nice, very clean and a corner one so had extra views! Location is good, right beside the trams which are free in the downtown area. Across road is a Maccas where a few deros hang around outside but we didnt have any troubles. Walking distance to city, some nice restaurants and supermarket. Nice indoor pool, jacuzzi and fitness room. It is also the last hotel on the plus 15 which was the main reason for booking in case too snowy etc outside. Not right in the heart of city but only 15 min walk or jump on the tram for a few mins. Only paid $100CAD a night so was a real bargain!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Slow Lifts
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneAussieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Address: 888 - 7th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing