We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for visiting Calgary Stampede”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great base for visiting Calgary Stampede”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Recent reviews on Trip Advisor left us not sure what to expect, but we had a perfectly pleasant stay.
The outside of the hotel is looking a little shabby, but our rooms were perfectly fine- maybe a little dated- particularly the bathroom, but well maintained and clean.
Other visitors have remarked on the hotel's poor air conditioning system, and granted, it was a little noisy. However we hit on the novel idea of opening a window to let some fresh air in :o)
All the staff we spoke to were pleasant and helpful. We arrived too early to check in and when we left we had several hours to kill between checking out and flying, but on both occasions the desk staff took our suitcases for us and locked them away safely until we returned.
The location is great for using Calgary's fabulous public transport system. Our main purpose of staying in Calgary was visiting the Stampede and it was a great help just being able to step onto the C Train and get to our destination with the minimum of fuss.
The presence of a special desk in the hotel's lobby where you could pick up free maps and leaflets and ask questions about Stampede etc was a great idea.
We arrived 2 weeks after the horrendous floods and were very impressed with the way the city as a whole had pulled together to get things back to normal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    235
    284
    115
    77
See reviews for
105
267
56
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cootamundra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our hotels seemed to be going from excellent to bad from Vancouver to Jasper and after reading some reviews on the the Sandman we were ready for disappointment.We found the staff very helpful and friendly and the rooms not top notch but fine and good value with a good restaurant down stairs.The free WIFI was hopeless though .So don't rely totally on other peoples opinions
Paul
Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Business trip. One night stay over. Location was very good. Price was good value. Check in staff very help and quick. Room older, but was large and clean. Bed and linens were good. Bathroom small, but adequate and linens, shower and toiletries all good. Considering everything the stay was good and would go there again if I needed to. Saved money too!
The wireless was slow and dropped signal often. Switched to LAN connection and everything fine.

Room Tip: I was on 19th floor, but there was 6 elevators and little to no wait even when going to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan_and_Sharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We were dubious about this hotel for two reasons, one the reviews and the second that this was not our first choice of hotel. We booked this trip almost a year ago and it wasn't until just over a week ago we checked on the hotel we had booked in Calgary and found it closed because of flood - they hadn't let us or our travel agent know, so we panicked until our agent found us the Sandman.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and were given a room on 8th floor (away from trams). It was a standard with two double beds. Room was large with double aspect corner windows, but no real view. Bathroom a little tired, but spotless as was room.

We had an issue with the hair dryer, basically it blew up, but we informed reception and within 15 minutes a brand new boxed hair dryer arrived at our room.

Wi-Fi was free which was a bonus, as our first choice hotel wanted to charge 10 dollars a day for the privilege!

We ate at Moxies, dinner service was first rate and food good quality and not too expensive - liked the daily deals on cocktails! Breakfast service left a bit to be desired, staff seemed thin on the ground and not very experienced at looking after their customers.

Although the Sandman wasn't our choice of hotel in Calgary, we feel that we actually had a far nicer stay than we would have, the staff were friendly and attentive and do not deserve the bad press some reviewers have given them.

The tram runs from outside hotel and if you get off at City Hall stop it is free!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jasperqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Sandman is a decent hotel, well located in downtown, right on C-Train line. Some simple improvements would raise my rating from Average to Very Good. As a Calgary resident, I stayed here for 3 nights when I had to evacuate due to June/2013 flooding, so feel very fortunate I was able to secure a room (booking through Expedia was a breeze).

Pluses: good value as Calgary often has stratospheric room rates that would make Manhattan or London blush. Very friendly, attentive staff. Room was decent size, clean, comfortable bed/linens. Moxie's restaurant has good, comfort food for all meals. Location can't be beat for access to downtown and C-Train. Underground Parking was cheap $5/day (Calgary also has sky high parking rates elsewhere on par with Manhattan).

Minuses: on 6th floor, on 7th Ave side where the C-train runs, the noise of the train was very noticeable and would keep a light sleeper up til midnight, then again at 6am. Suggested Fix: double or triple paned windows. Another suggested fix: hire 2 door people in lobby. Every time I left or returned to hotel, there were indigent people panhandling right at the entrance (as in holding the door for you). While I feel very badly for indigent people and help where I can (donations of money and clothes to Calgary Drop-In Centre), it's illegal in Calgary to panhandle and many tourists seemed intimidated when trying to get into hotel. A door person at both main doors into lobby would help with this issue.

With thicker windows and addition of door people, the Sandman would be "Very Good".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Right on the C train. Starbucks 2 short blocks away. Walk or Train to Stephen Ave. Rooms very clean but quite small. Staff very friendly -- even last few days of Stampede. Room on 20th floor train side but didn't notice any noise. Not luxury hotel but good location and value. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: higher the floor less likely to get train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyman4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Reasonably well located is the only positive about this hotel. Rooms are what you would expect, but every other service aspect of this hotel is outrageously poor. Whether its the inability to get from the under ground car park to the hotel because the elevator is permanently disabled from doing so, or the zero to limited Internet access, for an entire week- "our service provider will help you, just call this number". No they couldn't.
Restaurant and bar service, was farcical, with servers who could not have appeared less interested if they tried.
Breakfast was okay, though choice was limited, and the gym
M was poorly equipped.
A very poor hotel, indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miltonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. Our proven success in providing a valuable product is always something we take great pride in and offers even more pride when so many of our hotel guests take the time offer their accolades. Therefore it is disappointing when receiving feedback on the contrary to this as it is far from the norm. As with all hotel operations, our doors remain open and available to our community 24 hours a day 7 days per week. Alternatively, elevator upgrades are integrated into our daily operation. Expectedly, this at times proves to be a challenge, however we are thankful that your comment relating to this was the only one received as our guests offered their patience and appreciation for the remaining three full operational lifts. Luggage assistance is always available upon request and we would have been more than happy to provide this had we been made aware. As part of our services available we do provide Free WiFi service to all 300 guestrooms. Our contracted technical support team is very well versed in providing assistance and should there be an instance when the service cannot be provided, a full an viable explanation is offered to the Internet user. Typically it has been proven that it is the content that is the user is attempting to access offering the challenge.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us the opportunity to provide clarity to your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing