We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Mountineer trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of a tour of the Canadian Rockies. The reception staff were very helpful in doing an online flight check-inn and arranging an airport transfer, and my room was large and comfortable..

There is a Moxie's diner on the ground floor, with fairly standard evening and breakfast menus. Just opposite are McDonalds, Tim Horton's and Subway, so there are lower priced alternatives near by.

The location is at least 15 minute walk from the city centre, and parts of the surrounding area are a bit run down.

A reasonable hotel if you are staying for one night on the way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is quite possibly one of the cheapest hotels in downtown, and with the C-Train Station right at it's door-step and taxi-cabs lined up outside, it is well connected and very accessible. That said, it isn't rundown or cheap on facilities and service. The hotel is also well connected with the +15 walkways, making a trip through downtown in the winter time warm and easy.

The mountain-views are good, ofcourse, it would be dependant on the room and floor. Bed is comfortable, housekeeping is efficient, room facilities are great. Aircon system is slightly dated, but works well.

It's walking distance from just about all the downtown attractions, and I'm not even an avid walker!!! The Calgary Tower, Olympic Plaza, Stephen Ave., Core Shopping Center, Eau Claire market, Prince's Island Park are just some of the places. Kensington market and 17th Ave are also quite close, and can be walked on cool day (which is just about everyday).

You would need to watch the prices, cause with room availability fluctuation, you could at times gets rooms for as little as CAD100.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpmpkdff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

right by the free section of train and easy walking distance to the calgary tower and also this is where the rocky mountaineer departs from. room was big with plenty of space. beds very comfy. bathroom was fine, except it seemed to have a water issue whenever the shower was used and a mini flood appeared on the floor!! staff were friendly even when arriving late into the evening. the aircon unit was a bit weird first night icy cold and had perfect cool room second night no settings changed and was pumping out luke warm air.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hard to say if the issues we had were related to the recent flooding in Calgary just 3 wks prior to our trip. The city did amazingly well getting things back in order in time for the Stampede. However, what we were promised when we made reservations was not available at check-in, We reserved a room with two queen beds but got one queen and a poor pull out couch! There were no safes available for items we wanted protected. And we found something that we refused to touch, looked like underwear, which was not ours. When reported to front desk we were told someone would be right up to remove it... When no one showed up we used a plastic bag to remove it and left it outside the door so hotel staff would find it whenever they showed up. Staff was friendly though and expressed interest in us "having a good stay." The location was perfect, right across the street from the metro system which took us to the Stampede. Loved the Stampede!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtseniorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Centrally placed for sightseeing. The best bed of the two week tour. Like the green décor in the corridors, most of the hotels had been drab browns. Let us have a late departure at 2.00 without extra charge. Accommodated in the same room although initially one night was made by a tour and the second personally - another hotel would not do this. Pleasant staff, excellent security arrangements. It was a little noisy from the traffic but I slept very well.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was a little noisy. Possibly higher up might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A strange mix of helpful and less helpful staff! Moxies bar was very noisy but one of the staff let us use an attached conference room to meet our friends in. The business trainer then showed us to another room when he needed to use the conference room. This was great service. The bedroom was well furnished and clean. The poor air conditioning let it down.The front desk staff were helpful although one of them broke off talikng to me to speak to a passing colleague. Not very nice!

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordereiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We drove to the hotel from Calgary airport. Beware, you cannot use 8th Avenue to approach the hotel, it turns into a pedestrian route at about 3 St SW. You can't use 7th Avenue either as it's a tram/train and bus lane only. So use 6th Av SW, hook a left onto 8th St SW and turn left into the hotel car park ($5 per day).

We were met on reception by very friendly staff, and having cheekily asked for an upgrade, we were given a king double in place of our twin. The hotel is located in the business district of Calgary, and be warned, on a Sunday evening the surrounding area is fairly deserted with most bars/restaurants that we could find, closed. So we opted for the grill, Moxie's, attached to the hotel. We had burgers and a couple of beers each for £16 per head.

The room was quiet, clean, spacious enough for our needs. The bathroom was a little small. But we were only staying here one night.

Overall a pleasant one night start to our holiday.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ebt2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
0.7 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.4 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing