We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent two nights here at the beginning of our holiday. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and good sized room, very comfortable bed. Tram just across street, free if you ars just going downtown. Devonian gardens are amazing and are on top floor of mall, lots of trees an5d plants, fispond even a childrens play area!! Restaurant very good on top of Calgary tower. Breakfast enormous and very tasty in restaurant in Sandman. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for our 10th wedding anniversary. We were in a corner suite with big windows all around and nice views. We had a king bed that was very comfortable. Kitchenette was nice to have. Pool was alright but in need of refurbishing and hot tub whirlpool jets didn't work. Overall, the hotel is in a very old building so in need of some upgrading but we had a nice stay in a lovely room and would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Natural8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I travel for business and was looking for a one night hotel but don't really appreciate staying in hotels with holes in the wall, yes it was tiny but still a hole in the wall, room was big and location is OK albeit a bit further from DT than other options. Stay somewhere if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRRH134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Outside looks a little out of date but the rooms were of great quality.
Comfortable beds, lots of room and a view of the city.
Convenient store across the road and train stop out the front of hotel.
Pool area was great and business centre facilties as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lost_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First off, if you drive a half ton, it will cost you $35/night to park behind the hotel. "We don't guarantee parking" nor do they reimburse for the charge. Drunk and stoned people in the lobby was a lovely way to be greeted. Room is small, cramped and terribly outdated. Felt like I was walking on a piece of warped plywood. Bed is abysmal. It felt like I was staying in one of the cheap motels in Ft. McMurray, not a downtown Calgary hotel. Even the Moxies in the hotel can't redeem it...it's as rundown as the hotel and the food is less than spectacular. I'll never be back to either the hotel or the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for a conference and chose the Sandman for it's location and price. There was a special price for the nights I was planning to stay. I stayed a total of two nights - and thankfully had booked another location for the remaining few nights. It is located across the street from the light rail transit (which is free when traveling in the centre of the city) which was very convenient since I spent most of my time at the Telus convention centre (just three rail stops away). Security is good - since you require a room key to swipe up the elevator. The room I was given was right beside the elevator (ugh!). Unfortunately the hotel was full- so there was no other room to be relocated to. Throughout the night I could hear the elevator (the wall with the bed against it was shared with the elevator shaft...). And in the wee hours of the morning it there were horrible noises coming from the bathroom/elevator area which sounded like the water pipes were going to explode or the elevator was going to break apart! Getting woken up at 5:30/6am is not fun. The room itself was clean however the hot water in the washroom had a very short life. The hot water was limited to about 30 seconds...keep that in mind! Internet was included with the room rate- however I could not get it to connect with the passcode given. I even tried to call the help line- however no answer. On a positive note- the staff were great! So helpful and friendly- well done on the staffing Sandman. Overall, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Request somewhere away from the elevators!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCanuckTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just came back from a business trip to Calgary - this hotel is conveniently located in the city centre - close to everything. Hotel is a bit dated but has a nice pool and hot tub on the 2nd floor. We got in late on the first night and it was nice to find Moxie's restaurant downstairs - good food. Rates are very reasonable here and the rooms were clean. Parking is a bit expensive ($29 per day) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#82 of 110 in Calgary
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing