We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were in Calgary to attend a concert at the Rosza Center - the hotel was very conveniently located for that. Our complaints are: The thermostat in the room was not functioning - we slept (or attempted to sleep) with a temperature of 24 degrees. When I mentioned this at checkout I found out it had been a problem previously but that housekeeping had "reset" the temperature. Someone should have checked. So, after an almost sleepless night we discover that the coffee maker isn't working. When I mentioned this at checkout I was informed that a filter needed to be changed to get it to work - don't you think it would be a good idea to check that prior to putting someone in the room?
The room was small - definitely European style - but we were only there to sleep so that was not an issue. The bed was comfortable and it was fairly quiet. The front desk staff were excellent and the price was reasonable but I don't think we would ever return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryGal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Hello CountryGal S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our comfortable beds and that you were impressed by both our pricing and Front Desk staff. It is disheartening to hear, however, the issues you endured with the temperature of your room and your coffee maker during your stay with us. We understand the delicate temperature range needed to sleep soundly and apologize that you were not able to experience this during your stay at Hotel Alma. It is standard procedure that our Housekeeping staff double check both the temperature of the room and the functionality of the coffee maker before allowing a Guest to check into a room. It is not typical that these two items are missed or neglected during room service. We assure you that this oversight will be brought to the attention of Housekeeping Management, who will follow up with our Housekeeping staff to make certain critical items such as these are not overlooked in the future.

Please be advised our Front Desk and Housekeeping teams are available 24/7 and had you brought the issue with your heat and or your coffee maker to our immediate attention, we would have been more than willing to realize a solution to both of these issues during your stay.

We apologize once again for the inconveniences you endured during your stay and to hope, should you return to Calgary, you would be willing to allow us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service typical of the Hotel Alma experience.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    124
    55
    35
    13
See reviews for
44
54
30
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Alma for a nearby conference from January 8th to 11th. Previous trip advisor reviews had commented on the lack of space and tight corners in the "Eurostyle" suites so we opted to upgrade to the One bed room suite. However, this suite was not available the evening of the 10th - but we figured 2 days in the suite was better than nothing. The hotel itself is fine - it is clean and we generally had no complaints. The first night we had pepsi in glasses and the next morning the "Fresh" glasses still had a rim of pepsi at the bottom. The bed in the suite was comfortable, the bed in the eurostyle room less so. The hotel is close to the campus "dining room" - but - who wants to eat there once you are past the age of 22? There is a breakfast in the am which was nice. The issue is the following: The morning of the 10th at 730 am before we left, we asked the front desk what the protocol was for moving rooms - check out being noon and check in being 3. The lady checked the computer and told us we didn't need to change rooms, in fact the suite was available to us. Great news. We continued on with our day. My boyfriend happened to get back to our room just before 5 pm and I was on my way back from the conference. He received a phone call around 5 pm saying he had to move rooms. The lady was rude and completely unapologetic. My bf told her he had been told he could keep the room but was rudely told he was mistaken. So, he had a matter of minutes to pack all of our things and check into a different room. We went into the trip thinking we'd have to move rooms, so the smaller room, etc was not the issue in our disappointment. Our concern was the way in which this matter was dealt with. I have serious concerns about what would have happened if we had been out like the previous 2 nights. Would they have entered our room and packed our things for us? What if we were at a movie and shut our cell phones off? And why, if checkout time is noon and check in time is 3 pm, are we getting a phone call at 5 pm saying we had to vacate? When we brought these issues to the attention of the front desk, we received the following response from the attendant "I am in training and I don't really know the checkout policies." OK?
I get it. I knew going in this wasn't the 4 Seasons. But that is not an excuse for the lack in basic professionalism and respect.
In past responses, the Manager of this hotel will write a note thanking people for positive reviews or apologizing for poor reviews. That's super - but what I really needed was a Manager to speak to at the time when it would have actually made a difference ( we asked to speak to the manager and that this matter be brought to his/her attention - 2 requests that were not fulfilled). So, we are happy to spared the standard managerial response - however I would love an answer to the question "what would you have done if we were not in the room at the time of the call?"

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellins0ldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hello travellins0ldier,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We were very disappointed to hear how the miscommunication was presented to you.

Our front desk agents have been trained to be courteous and professional in all interactions. It is disheartening to hear that our service and communication did not exceed your expectations. Please know that we have reviewed our training protocol with our front desk staff, to ensure that this does not occur again.
It is ideal that we would have contacted you earlier in the day to confirm the room change with you, and arrange it so that the move was at a convenient time for you, however in your situation there was an oversight on our part, and we apologies for the confusion and inconvenience that this caused.
In regards to your question “what would you have done if we were not in the room at the time of the call?" Our protocol would have been to attempt to contact you further. If we were unsuccessful, we would have to move the guest that was reserved, as we would not remove your items from the room without your consent. We would like to apologize again for the miscommunication with your room change.

Thank you again for bringing the following issues to management’s attention. We are working diligently to ensure this situation does not occur in the future. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay during the conference, and hope you return to Hotel Alma to allow us to provide you with the outstanding service we know we can offer.

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

This hotel was right on campus. It wasn't really close to anything...was quite difficult to find somewhere to eat. Parking was very limited and was a bit of a walk from the hotel. The room was VERY small; fit a queen size bed, a closet and a desk. There was a store downstairs in the lobby, which was a nice surprise since there wasn't one in walking distance, however it often closed before we even made it back to the hotel. There were vending machines, not well stocked. We still had a nice stay...the front desk was friendly and helpful. There was a breakfast bar downstairs, buffet style, which was quite delicious.The hotel was quiet, and it was cozy. However, I don't think I'll be staying there again, just because it wasn't exceptional. Too much money for lack of quality. It was average.

Room Tip: Get a room a bit higher up. We were on the 6 floor, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Amber S,
Thank you for your review on your stay with us at Hotel Alma.
Being located directly on the Campus of the University of Calgary offers our Guest’s a unique experience, but does limit shopping options on campus. However there is Market mall which is a 5 minute ride or drive or a 20 minute walk NW of Hotel Alma. If you are ever looking for any other options for shopping/ restaurants or specialty stores, our front desk staff are eager to assist with location and directions.
As you mentioned the Corner store in our main lobby appeared to be closed any time you came back to the hotel. We understand the importance of providing easy accessible food options for guest and can always direct you to other convenience stores located on and off of campus. Although our vending machine did not have what you were looking for there is the Dining Center attached to Hotel Alma which carries more snack options and is open until 11pm nightly.
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. Although you found your Euro-style room to be quite small we also have one bedroom suites which are a bit more in cost but is twice the size of the euro-style room and comes with complimentary turndown service. We appreciate the feedback, and for your compliments on our service and cleanliness.
Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope you consider staying with us the next time you are in Calgary
Sincerely
Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I was surprised to see a Trip Advisor Award very prominent at the check-in counter.
They have pictures of beautiful pool, but it is in another building, so staying there in December as I just did, meant no swimming.
I arrived at 930 at night after a 2 hr plane delay, there was no food on site, none. The main dining area was closed, they called a few lounges on campus that were either closed or did not answer the phone. I finally ordered from a restaurant close by.
The room was small, but that is fine, more european in feel. As this is predominently a student residence, there was much coming and going late at night, i was woken up at 230 with all the door slamming and 'happiness' with the end of exams.
Clean. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was very nice. Tuck shop is excellent, but hours are very limited.
Price is good, but amenities are limited and they do not let you know it beforehand, actually promote otherwise in their own in-room materials.

Room Tip: Take a snack and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank territraveller1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Territraveller1000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us at Hotel Alma.

We were happy to hear that you found our facility clean and our staff courteous and helpful. We pride ourselves on the service we provide to every individual staying in our Hotel.

As you noted, guests of Hotel Alma are provided with access to the Olympic size swimming pool located in the kinesiology build across the road from Hotel Alma. As going outside may not be an option some days we do have an alternative indoor route to get to the pool. Directions can be provided by our front desk staff. This alternative route will also get you access to the fitness, rock climbing and squash court facilities which are also included when you stay at Hotel Alma.

It was unfortunate that you were unable to find a place to eat on campus after your arrival. Although most eating facilities on campus are open for dinner until 8 or 9pm, the dinning center is normally open until 11pm however during the Christmas Holidays the Dinning Center is on reduced hours closing at 7:30pm. There are also restaurants within walking distance south
of the Hotel, however if you are looking to eat on campus after eating facilities have closed our front desk are more than happy assist you with find alternative means of food.

As an international student residence (Floors 2-3), a visiting scholar and short term accommodations (Floor 4) and a Hotel (Floors 5-7) Hotel Alma has a unique and diverse atmosphere not found at most Hotels. The academically driven students in our building are respectful of our operation and the Guests of Hotel Alma. We always encourage our guests to contact the front desk if they have louder than normal neighbors or encounter any disturbances which we will attend to ensure you sleep soundly.

Your feedback and time have been greatly appreciated. We hope to have you stay with us again, where you have an opportunity to take advantage of the food and recreation facilities on campus.

-Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Clean, modern, efficient - great hotel located on University of Calgary campus (right next to Stampeders stadium).

Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Worth the $ - you get what you pay for.

Only negative is a few might feel the rooms are on the small side - but they are very nice with modern bathrooms etc. - it was more then comfortable for me.

Room Tip: Parking is 300 m away - you might want to unload your bags then park. Ask for ticket from hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel is right on campus and fairly affordable. It's also very modern and all rooms are newly renovated. A couple drawbacks are that some of the rooms, namely the Euro rooms, are extremely small and tight - and noise travels very easily between them. I hit my foot a couple times just trying to navigate between the chair and desk. Also the bistro breakfast is very spartan and the regular fare at the restaurant is pretty weak. i would suggest you go to the student dining hall to get better food. Service is mixed as well - most of the employees are professional enough but I did have a couple encounters that were questionable. This is a venue that is a good choice if you have meetings on campus, especially considering the choices available nearby.

Room Tip: avoid the euro rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hello Juraj L,

First and foremost thank you for choosing Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary. As we are only 3 years old, we appreciate your feedback to assist us with improving our services.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities for your recent trip to campus. It was unfortunate to hear you had difficulties maneuvering the space in our euro-style room. At roughly 200 square feet the Euro-stlye room is our most compact and economically friendly room. As an alternative, we suggest that you try our One Bedroom Suites which are 400 square feet, and offer a separate bedroom and living area, and are much more spacious than the Euro-style room.

In the past we have had individuals inform the front desk regarding concern with a TV or neighboring Guest that were loud and could be heard through the wall. In these cases we have contacted these guests and request they turn their TV down and or keep their voices down as a courteous to the other Guests, which have rectified the issue. It is unfortunate we did not have the opportunity to do the same during your stay, and encourage you to contact us if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more pleasant.

Bistro Alma is continuously updating their menu and does their best to keep items stocked for breakfast. We have passed this note to Bistro Alma management to ensure all Guests are provided with options during the complementary continental breakfast service.

We pride ourselves on providing outstanding service, and are continuously training new members who are joining our growing team. All of our individuals at the Front Desk wear the appropriate name tags to inform guest that they are still in training. We appreciate your patience while they are going through this process, and will be mindful of consistency in the service we provide.

Once again, thank you for your review. We are appreciative of all feedback.

Regards,
Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

First time at this hotel but definitely wont be my last. Excellent value for your buck! Very affordable and excellent place to have a large meeting. We have one staff dedicated to our 3 days meeting. Tim was forever busy ensuring the water jug at each table was full and we have clean glasses. When that is done, he made sure we have adequate supply of everything else! Tim is a great asset to this hotel!!!!!!!!!! Front desk staff are also very accommodating and friendly. This hotel can definitely hold its own against the larger more expensive chains internationally.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 4 and lower do not include complimentary breakfast. Wide selection of continental bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr0fessi0naltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#38 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Property: Hotel Alma
Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing