We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University Hotel”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“University Hotel”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on business in Calgary.

Every single downtown hotel was booked when I came down, so this hotel on the University of Calgary campus was the next closest spot. I can see how the location of this hotel is ideal if you're doing any business at all at the university; you can walk to everything. Even commuting to downtown wasn't too bad, considering Calgary's notorious rush hour traffic. The other nice benefit of this location was going for my daily run; it was a nice, scenic run to the Bow River & back.

The hotel has a boutique feel. Reservations & check-in were easy, and the parkade is a short walk away (maybe a minute). The room was clean, nicely decorated and seemed a bit cozy, but I was travelling solo, so no problem at all. Free wifi & breakfast.

Overall, I had a satisfying stay here and would stay again if I needed to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you EdmontonMarc for taking the time to review your recent stay with Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our boutique atmosphere, the cleanliness of our rooms as well as our complimentary amenities. It is wonderful to learn that our location worked well for you in spite of the fact that your business was taking place downtown. We also enjoy how close we are to the Bow River pathways and are glad to hear you took advantage of them during your time with us.

We hope business or pleasure brings you back to Calgary soon as we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma!

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    130
    59
    38
    13
See reviews for
47
54
30
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We paid almost $200 CAD per night for a hotel room the size of a shoe box. There is not enough space for two nightstands, let alone a bench or even floor space to open our luggage! It borders on claustrophobic at about 144 sq ft bedroom area and a bathroom too small to change your mind in. It is more like what we expect to find in Europe, where the rooms are much smaller than NA . The ceiling is patched concrete. The only positive I have to say about this totally in appropriately priced hotel is, it is clean!

Room Tip: Drive on by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granbee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Hello granbee08,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was very disappointing to learn that you felt you did not receive value for your money during your stay with us. We review our rates daily to ensure our guests are receiving the best experience possible for their dollar and it saddens us that you feel you did not realize this experience.

Our Eurostyle Rooms were built around a European design concept; everything needed for a comfortable night's stay in a modern compact space. We do understand this room style might not be the prefect fit for all of our guests and as an alternative we also offer One Bedroom Suites. These suites, a favourite among our regular guests, are twice the size of our Eurostyle room, include a living/seating area separate from the bedroom as well as great views of the university campus or downtown Calgary.

Once again we thank you for your comments. Should business or pleasure bring you to Calgary in the near future we encourage you to please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to assist with any plans.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a great hotel if you need to stay at the university. It is modern, very clean and good value. We have a one bedroom apartment and although it is small, it is adequate for two people. The bistro is great for the continental breakfast which was included. it has free wifi in rooms and free phone calls throughout Canada. You also get membership of the University gym, swimming pool and climbing wall if you ask at the reception. There are lots of places to eat around the campus at very reasonable rates and the train station is only 10 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillWhiteTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you WillWhite Travels for taking the time to review your recent stay with Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary! We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to appreciate the concept behind our Euro Style Rooms; everything you need for a comfortable night's stay in a modern compact space. We hope you had a great workout in the fitness centre, a wonderful meal on campus and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma to enjoy these things and more in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Alma August 29th through September 1st as we got the kid ready for year 2 at the University of Calgary.
The kid was playing ball for the Dinos in a tourney before she could move into her dorm, so the hotel's location right on campus was perfect for us.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room is very clean and well maintained. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on. Plenty of space in the room. All essential amenities were available in the room (mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker). The staff were very welcoming and helpful on the couple occasions that I needed help. Parking would have been a hassle, but we had an overheight vehicle that would not fit in the covered parkade and were told to park right beside the hotel.
Not much to complain about, but if I had to nitpick, the bathroom sink was pretty much useless as the shallow bowl caused splashing all over the place, even with just a little water pressure. There were very few television channels available and none were in high definition, but since we were out and about most of the time, this wasn't much of a concern. The continental breakfast had very few items offered, but what was there was decent.
If I have to go back to the University of Calgary, and I probably will, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a west facing room on the 7th floor that had gorgeous sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hello Road W.,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent visit to Hotel Alma and express your positive sentiments towards our property. We know what a hectic time residence move in can be and are happy to aid in making the process run that much smoother.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the bathroom sink and the television. We are working diligently to address these concerns and appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our guest experience. Our One Bedroom Suites are a favorite among our regular guests for all the reasons you mentioned in your review; comfortable bed, plenty of space and great amenities. We look forward to you soon becoming one of these regular guests and wish your daughter a great second year and a wonderful season playing ball for our Dinos.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel itself was well maintained. It was hard to locate. Had to pay for parking when it is included in hotels costs in higher traffic areas. The room looked like a refurbished dorm and far too small for two occupants. The coffee machine was terrible and the breakfast was only served until 10am though check out was 12pm. Could here doors slamming all night.
Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello Beth J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We regret to learn of your unsatisfactory stay and are very sorry that your visit did not exceed your expectations.

Hotel Alma was built as a new building which houses three floors of students during the academic year and three floors of hotel guest rooms year round. We are the first university owned and operated hotel on a Canadian campus.

We are disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced with your room. As in any hotel there are different room sizes, types and locations which may be quieter and or better suited to the specific requirements of each guest. We encourage you to allow us the opportunity to wow you with the positive experience typical of stays at Hotel Alma by choosing to stay with us again. Should you decide to do so we ask that you contact Hotel Alma directly and speak with the Front Office Manager on duty to make your reservation and we will be more personally assist you with your booking.

Once again we do apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here recently at a relative's suggestion when we were in Calgary for the evening. The hotel was a little hard to find, (it's located on the university campus), but we were very happy with our experience once we arrived.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but clean and very well appointed. The bistro downstairs had good food. We had some pre-dinner appetizers and drinks, and the continental breakfast served there the next morning was definitely a cut above average with tasty pastries and real china and flatware.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you JN1975,for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay & for giving us genuine feedback and a good rating!!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma-we are very proud of them and will pass along your comments to them. You stayed in one of our Eurostyle rooms and we are glad to hear that you found the room very comfortable and that you were happy with the room aesthetics, cleanliness and the In-room amenities.I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed the Continental breakfast served at the Bistro Alma.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Located on the U of Calgary Campus this property still has the feel of a University Accommodation. Halls can be a bit noisy at nights but the efforts to "European-ize" the facility into a Boutique Hotel were generally successful. Parking is a bit of a hike as were restaurants etc...Included breakfast and All in all it fit the bill and deserves thumbs up. That said what is it with Universities and parking charges?

Room Tip: Try to get close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KED3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you KED3 for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Alma and for giving us a good rating.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the Boutique feel of our unique property.You stayed in one of our Eurostyle rooms and we are glad to hear that you found the overall stay very comfortable and satisfying.I am also pleased to know that you appreciated the complimentary continental breakfast served at Hotel Alma.

Due to the fact that Hotel Alma is located on the University of Calgary campus, overnight parking is restricted to specific areas. Hotel Alma has been able to secure overnight covered parking space for our guests , helping to lessen the effects of the heat in the summer and the snow in the winter. This parking facility is located a quick 2-3 min walk from the front doors of the hotel. If special accommodation is required, we ask that you let us know, and we will do all that we can to ensure that you are satisfied.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Alma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#41 of 109 in Calgary
278 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Property: Hotel Alma
Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and group meeting facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing