We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven in the NW of Calgary. Smart and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haven in the NW of Calgary. Smart and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I've stayed at Alma several times now and enjoy being on campus and away from downtown. Parking is eight per day with in and out privileges and bonus C-train station or major bus meeting point near hotel on campus for easily getting to meetings but not needing to worry about finding expensive city centre parking. The hotel is at least as nice as a Holiday Inn or Best Western and has it's own arty-modern style. Large flat screen tvs in rooms, free wi-fi, free long distance. Access to adjacent university pool and rec centre/olympic oval skating/running track. Free continental breakfast. The hotel restaurant has a small menu but high quality delicious offerings and a decent wine list. Can be a little loud on a Thursday (party) night on campus if uni session is on but the windows in rooms are thick. Oddly the ceilings are ugly, but linens and rooms otherwise very clean and newest decor. Especially like the original artworks and fabrics in upholstered chairs. At the time I write this review if you contact hotel directly by phone for booking and quote a discount code shown under reservations on their website you can get a discount. Otherwise look for excellent rates at online booking agencies especially for weekends.

Room Tip: Personally I like being on the north side as it looks out toward Nosehill Park, or some rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello Cmarty,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hotel Alma. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We appreciate that you enjoy our modern look and comfortable rooms. Our complimentary continental breakfast, wifi and local/long distance calling within Canada and the continental US is certainly a nice addition for any traveller.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    126
    56
    38
    13
See reviews for
45
54
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel would be great for those needing to be on campus or close to it. Don't let the exterior deceive you as it's lovely inside. They provided me with one key (instead of cards) for the room and told it would be $10 to replace it.

The elevators are spacious and can fit luggage and people! It was a little confusing once we got off the elevator which direction to go in as the room directions were beside a large TV screen. There were a few meeting rooms on our floor close to the elevators.

The room is a little smaller than other hotel rooms but modern and clean. The bathroom sink wasn't very deep so one time the water splashed out. They have Bath and Body Works products but I found out I didn't have shampoo until it was too late so had to make due with conditioner. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, and modern coffee maker. The free wifi worked well most of the time and calls to Canada and US were free!

The room included continental breakfast in the bistro. There isn't a lot of seating so it could be difficult to get a seat if everyone went down for breakfast at the same time. The staff may also have a hard time keeping up with the cleaning of the tables. The breakfast included hot drinks, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, baked goods and bread for toasting. I think there was also oatmeal. I had a croissant one day but it didn't taste fresh so I stuck to fruit and an egg.

Overall is a good hotel and staff were friendly. I could hear guests a few times but not too noisy. The closet was too short for my pants and long coat so it would have been better if it were longer. It's about a 5 minute drive to Market Mall and at times there are cabs in front or the staff will call you one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello LovingSunandSand,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma! It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary local and long distance calling (with Canada and the Continental US) during your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the future.

Warm Regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I discovered the Hotel Alma by Happenstance last summer and found the team there to be quite helpful on a variety of issues. Their assistant Manager Kristen, in fact was a God-send to me on several occasions. I also recommend the bistro for lunch and dinner, the continental breakfast served, though it has a nice selection, simply doesn't do the chefs justice, whereas the lunch and dinner menus provide more of an opportunity for them to showcase their talents. It is ideally situated at the university and location wise is quite convenient for a lot of what Calgary has to offer. I found it to be an undiscovered gem in many ways.

Room Tip: Higher floors particularly lovely, the suites on the 7th floor excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank camilla g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you Camilla G for taking the time to review Hotel Alma. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our staff were able to assist you during your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Alma soon.

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Unfortunately, my husband and I had a flight cancellation in Calgary and WestJet placed us at The Hotel Alma for the night. The room was tiny, but well appointed. Had everything you needed TV, Wardrobe, fridge, coffee maker, etc...The two negative points would be the one cup coffee maker - had to read instructions on how to use and I can see potential accidents that this maker could possibly cause and second the main room doors were very loud when closing. We had a lovely dinner and great service at the ultra modern bistro. The morning continental breakfast was adequate with fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, bread for toast, juices and coffee/tea. All in all the experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello Katherine L.,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and are glad that we were able to make your unexpected stay with us comfortable. We appreciate your feedback regarding the doors and coffee maker and will certainly take your comments into consideration.

By reading your review, it is apparent that you stayed in one of our European Style rooms. These rooms were built around a European design concept; everything needed for a comfortable night's stay in a modern compact space. We do understand this room style might not be the perfect fit for all of our guests and as an alternative we also offer One Bedroom Suites. These suites, a favorite among our regular guests, are twice the size of our Eurostyle room, include a living/seating area separate from the bedroom.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been advocate for the Alma Hotel since it opened and stay here every time I have been in Calgary for the past 5 years. I request a late check out of 1.5 hours (till 2:30pm) and am told it will cost me $30.00. I will leave my suitcase in my freezing car and get changed in a washroom stale at the airport. I am sure "Alma" herself would be more customer focused.
When I travel to other cities across Canada I stay with a well known chain hotel and when requested I get late checkouts up until 4pm. I suppose that is the perk of being a regular customer. Thought I was one here..guess not...back to the customer service oriented hotels for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goingforgold2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello Goingforgold2014,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary. It was disappointing to hear that this incident has altered your opinion of Hotel Alma after five years of patronage. We strive to be as accommodating as possible for all of our guests but we are limited in the number of late check outs we can offer.

It does seem that we were able to offer you a complimentary late checkout of 1pm, as opposed to our standard time of 12pm. As we guarantee a 3pm arrival for all guests a 2:30pm check out would not allow us enough time to have the room prepared for the new guest. Late check outs at Hotel Alma, as with most hotels, are based on availability and being that we are a smaller property we are not always able to offer such a late departure time.

Hotel Alma does offer complimentary storage for all guest luggage after departure and access to hotel washrooms or campus change rooms after check out. We are more than willing to offer alternative options if a late checkout is unavailable.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Hotel Alma for the past five years as this truly speaks to the level of service that we provide to our guests. We hope that this incident will not stop you from returning as we do appreciate your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for two nights during a conference.The hotel room was clean if a bit on the small side. The bathroom sink was a challenge to use because it was so shallow that the water would splatter everywhere. The staff were less than helpful when we asked for a late check-out because we were travelling with a baby. They charged us for parking without notifying us. They should invest in training their employees on how to communicate effectively with customers. One would expect a little more for the rates they charge. Overall, I was disappointed and will not be staying here again...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Deqa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Deqa C.,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary. It was very disappointing to learn of the difficulties you endured during your stay with us. Upon your request for late checkout you were granted a complimentary late checkout of one additional hour. All information regarding parking and costs associated should have been communicated by the group organizer and the Front Desk upon arrival. It is standard procedure to inform all guests upon arrival with a full description of hotel services, amenities and charges. We are sorry to hear that you did not experience the level of customer service typical of guest stays at Hotel Alma. We hope you will return one day.

Thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hip, stylish, very comfortable, reasonable price great complimentary breakfast not to mention amazing service, great location. For $30. more we upgraded to the one bedroom suite that had a king size bed. Room had nice fidge, large flatscreen TV and wifi. Very clean. What more do you want? Loved it!

Room Tip: Parking is across the road in a parkade, some may find this a bit inconvienient. 10 minute drive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWorldPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello OneWorldPeople,

We would like to thank you or taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our service, our complimentary breakfast as well as our in room amenities. We are happy you took advantage of our current $30.00/night upgrade promotion from our Euro Style Room to our One Bedroom Suite and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time in your upgraded room.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Warm regards,

Team Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#39 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Property: Hotel Alma
Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing