We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
87
146
64
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
146
64
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudent residenceolympic ovalminute walkcontinental breakfastone bedroom suiteboiled eggsbar fridgeper dayyogurtfree wifidoing businessparking garagesmall kitchenmini fridgefront desk staffc trainflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years. Hotel rooms as well as service are excellent. Very convenient if you visit the university of Calgary. Also, quick access to downtown. Will always consider it as my favourite hotel in Calgary !

Stayed: June 2014
Thank YYC_DPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello YYC_DPD,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Alma.

It is wonderful to hear that we are your hotel of choice when you come to Calgary. Being situated right on the University of Calgary's campus we offer quick access to campus facilities. We are also within walking distance of the C-Train and multiple bus routes offering our guests easy access to downtown.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Alma soon!

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel after reading varied reveiws. It was clean, queit, and comfortable. Excellent price. Breakfast was good, and the location is awesome. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank catpincny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello catpincny,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel Alma. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you will be staying with us again in the future.

We are proud to offer hotel guests a complimentary continental breakfast and are glad to hear you were able to take advantage while you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Only stayed overnight while travelling through Canada with our son. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment but were very disappointed with the apartment. Very small and the beds, raised high from the floor over draw sets were very uncomfortable. The mattress' were covered with plastic, small and fell to the middle. The rooms were clinical and had too many pieces of furniture. Although basic it was clean and quite.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in the Calgary University grounds, loud youth were in the car park until late, possibly a room at the back of the hotel may be best.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello Lisa C,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Hotel Alma.

Our Two bedroom student apartments are offered during the summer months as an economical option for our guests. These rooms are not for everyone and we do suggest booking our Hotel rooms for your next visit as you will find their traditional mattresses more comfortable.

Our One bedroom suites would be a option for your family of three as they offer a king sized bed as well as a queen sofa bed.

We hope to see you back again soon,

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an excellent alternative for accommodation during the Calgary stampede when hotel price soar. It is not cheap by any means but you get a decent room and it has good facilities. The tram is a great and inexpensive way to get around and is only a ten minute walk away. The university offers a food court- nothing amazing but cheaper than the bistro.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello Anna K,

Thank you for posting your review on your visit to Hotel Alma.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Calgary Stampede! This is one of the busiest times in Calgary but we still try to offer our guests reasonable prices when staying with us.

Campus has a lot to offer our guests with amazing fitness facilities, shops, and a selection of dining within a short walk.

We hope you visit us again soon,

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our trip took place during one of Calgary's busiest times - Calgary Stampede. The hotel was reasonably priced. Breakfast was good, the room was clean and staff were very helpful. A few drawbacks were the thermostat didn't adjust and there wasn't any air conditioning. the blind didn't close all of the way which let in the early morning sun. The hotel charges $10 for parking and the parkade is about a 3 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a bigger suite, dorm rooms were to small unless your travelling by yourself.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray n Viv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello Ray N Viv D,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma.

It is wonderful to hear that you were able to join us for the Calgary Stampede. Located on the University campus we are a short walk to the C-Train which takes you directly to the entrance of the Stampede grounds.

Our rooms offer a cooling system which does allow guests to adjust the temperatures themselves as that early morning sun can be warm in the summer.

We do offer larger One bedroom suites which are often more comfortable for guests visiting us for a longer period of time as they have an additional living room area.

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Calgary.

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews